We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anchorage House & Cottages
St. John's, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2010

During a romantic week getaway to Nova Scotia we had the pleasure of spending a night at The Anchorage House. We thought it to be an extreemly romantic and magical location with the perfect backdrop. Sad that we didn't know enough about the place before visiting or we would have spent longer there! Thanks to the unbelievable staff for fabulous service!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teacher6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    15
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Long Sault, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

We stayed at Anchorage House in 2004 and again in august 2010.
Since 2004 there have been two significant enhancements.
1. The addition of Kylie, she is absolutely the most helpful hostess.
2 The addition of a pool and along with so many beautiful beaches
close by on the refreshing waters of St. Margerets Bay you have
multiple choices. It is our choice of accommodation when visiting
the Halifax area.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DANCER38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2010

Peter & Kylie were more than accommodating in meeting our group's needs. The cottages were clean and modern... tucked away in a beautiful spot. Thanks for making our stay memorable. A "must stay" for anyone travelling in the area.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GioJava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mermentau, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

We loved the whole experience of Anchorage House and its facilities. We arrived in the wee hours of the morning and they had left a key and instructions for us; we formally checked in later in the day after we had slept. Our cabin was very clean and provided everything we needed for a wonderful stay. The staff was some of the nicest people we have met in our travels and the location was convenient for all that we wanted to do. We would love to make a return trip perhaps in the fall or early winter.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkshuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbrook, Maine, USA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

My boyfriend and I traveled to Nova Scotia for the first time this summer. We selected Anchorage online and were not disappointed. The cottage we stayed in met our expectations; it was the staff that made all the difference! We were welcomed and treated very well throughout our stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PurpleDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefield, Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

Facilities were clean and modern. There was nothing in the cottage that we felt was missing. Very close to needed amenities. Nice sized deck to sit out and enjoy evenings. A quiet property which created a relaxing environment.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hwat210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2010

Very well located. Clean and with everything you need! A little bit pricey though, but besides that I'd recomment it to anyone travelling to Nova Scotia.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack_voyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hubbards
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oceanstone Resort
#1 of 2 in Indian Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Surfside Inn
#1 of 1 in Queensland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage House & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage House & Cottages

Property: Anchorage House & Cottages
Address: 56 Shore Club Rd, Hubbards, Nova Scotia B0J 1T0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Hubbards
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Hubbards
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage House & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchorage House is the perfect place for you to kick back, relax and enjoy the peaceful, laidback pace of Hubbards, Nova Scotia. Quiet vistas right from our own dock, the gentle waves of the cove, hearing the birds call, spectacular sunsets and great seasonal photo opportunities. Leave the busy hustle and bustle of your everyday lives and come and see what we are talking about; it's your nearest seaside escape that's a world away. Vacation accommodations including 12 cottages and 8 guest rooms, all named for the communities and beaches in our area, are located in Hubbards, Nova Scotia on the beautiful South Shore Lighthouse Route. Only 35 minutes from Halifax, Peggy's Cove and Lunenburg, and only 40 minutes from the Annapolis Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Anchorage House & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage House & Cottages Hubbards, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing