We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
42
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews white mountains each morning olive groves sitting room memorable stay amazing hosts car is essential places of interest goat bells perfect location peace and quiet local walks every direction self catering rooftop apartment luxury bedroom hosts john
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Panokosmos was more breathtaking than the pictures suggested. Honestly our favorite B/B we have ever stayed in during our travels in Europe/Mediterranean. We were warmly welcomed by John and Yasmin and given a tour of the hilltop property and villa. After sharing a welcoming drink with our hosts, we were able to relax in the Beautiful Sunset (West) Studio (It was 5 star luxury with incredible views). Panokosmos gives a panoramic view of the white mountains and the Mediterranean can be seen towards the coast. The drive up the mountain only takes 10-15 minutes and Panokosmos is only about 35-40 minutes away from Hania Airport. A perfect location! We drove down to the southern coast to hike in Aradena Gorge which was beautiful and only took 1hr and 5 minutes to drive. Rethymnon was only 55 minutes away to the East. John and Yasmin are a lovely couple and their hospitality is unsurpassed. We cannot wait to go back. If you love solitude, a perfect location, and a great deal look no further!

Room tip: Any of the rooms are lovely. If you want lots of extra room with a kitchen, rent the whole top floor of Panokosmos. However, either room by itself is wonderful and private with wonderful views.
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnandYasmin, Owner at Panokosmos Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

We really enjoyed having you at Panokosmos, and are so glad you liked it so much. We do hope you are back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

After a lot of hairpin bends this is a delightful villa to arrive at with stunning views all the way around, both of the mountains and out to sea. As soon as we were out of the car we had a good feeling about it and on looking around during the guided tour it was clear that everything essential had been thought through and provided by the owners, from basic foodstuffs to beach/pool towels and plenty of places to sit outside and enjoy the glorious views. We were especially pleased with the selection of four delicious types of honey! A lot of attention has been paid to detail; the kitchen was very well equipped, the sitting room very comfortable and we enjoyed the home cinema.
The area around the villa is very quiet with lots of olive groves and goats roaming about. The villa is at the end of a narrow road so there is no passing traffic. The drive to a lovely beach at Kalives takes around 25 minutes (probably 15mins if you're local) but John gives good clear directions.
The villa is extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean. John and Yasmin were excellent unobtrusive hosts. It may not be the cheapest villa on the market but you get more than what you pay for.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotgreenfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnandYasmin, Owner at Panokosmos Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Glad you had a good time, and we do hope we see you again, perhaps this time with family too?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We were looking for somewhere peaceful to use as a base for relaxing but also exploring western Crete. On both counts it's difficult to beat Panokosmos. The location is stunning - high up in the foothills of the White Mountains but with a view across to the sea. Everything was beautifully and thoughtfully put together. You will need a car though - and a certain amount of confidence with hairpin bends and irregular tarmac!

Date of stay: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabbyFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnandYasmin, Owner at Panokosmos Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Glad that you enjoyed your time here - you certainly did some super walks and got to lots of places in the few days you were with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We traveled to Panokosmos in the summer fo 2013

Overall impression: What to expect in Chilimoudou: a really “away from it all” experience. If you have the patience and are open to non-standard tourism, you can discover lovely places such as local tavernas, small art & crafts workshops…and lots of others to make for a truly unique holiday that will stay in your heart for a long time! Panokosmos is a place you will remember for sure and John and Yasmin make all efforts to plan a memorable stay (more details below)
The area
Situated on top of the mountain, Chilimoudou (the village where the villa is situated) offers amazing views of the White mountains and also a true feeling of getaway and log out.
The nearest (although not necessarily the nicest) beach (Kalyves) is 15-20 min by car from Panokosmos, Chania is 30 mins away. Chania is a really nice town, with lots of influences and nice hang out places as well as romantic narrow streets with local shops – we loved Chania and liked it way more than Heraklion.
The star-beach of Crete, Elafonissi, is 2 hrs drive away from Chilimoudou and I would recommend the drive there as it’s really pitoresque.
The place
– as seen in pictures and nicer  Lots of terraces, a nice and romantic garden, with panoramic hidden areas, a super-clean pool… everything to make you really postpone those sightseeing tours that you came set to do 
Rooms are cleaned daily and you have access to the pool throughout the day and the night. The food prepared on place (the breakfast and the light lunch) has a different theme and a different story every day: from honey coming from various local producers to freshly ground coffee and freshly baked bread, every breakfast is an experience of its own.
About Yasmin and John
I needed a paragraph just for them because they really deserve it. Even before coming there, John andYAsmin made all possible to prepare our arrival: they asked details about our likes/dislikes and special conditions and made sure they respected all of them, they gave us extended directions and also details about the rooftop apart to make sure we understand the arrangement and have the proper expectations. Upon our arrival, every breakfast and every coffee or loaf of bread from every breakfast had a story nicely told by them. If you decide to take a trip, they will offer you a packed lunch. They are also happy to give reccomendations of places and to adapt to suggest places to your style. However, they are really discrete, so if you decide to just spend a day at the pool and not to leave the place, be sure you won’t see them walking around. They just somehow manage to appear only when they’re needed :)
Congrats for what you’ve done with the place!

Room tip: The rooftop terrace apartment is the most romantic. However, the ground floor apartment is also nice and quite luxurious.
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuca0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnandYasmin, Owner at Panokosmos Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

We are so glad that we were able to meet your likes/dislikes - it was good to be able to discuss this before you came. And its great that you had a good time - we certainly enjoyed looking after you, you were all so appreciative.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed at Panokosmos for a week in August 2013 and had a wonderful time. There were 4 of us (2 couples) and we rented the rooftop apartment, which we absolutely loved. Stunning views, irreproachable (en-suite) rooms plus quite a number of terraces where we always liked to unwind and watch the stars at night.

Service is also excellent at Panokosmos - the owners, Jasmin and John, prepared a different but always excellent breakfast every morning; we also enjoyed the tasty light lunches or packed sandwiches when on a trip at lunchtime. They were also extremely helpful in giving us suggestions for visiting or eating out.

When not exploring Crete, relaxing by and in the well maintained and good-sized pool pool was one of our favourite past time.

If you are looking for the perfect away from it all spot, then nothing beats the tranquillity and breath-taking views of Panokosmos! And when you feel you'd like to reconnect with the buzz of the rest of the world, Chania town is only 30-40 minutes away (drive) and there's only a 25 minute drive to the nearest beach.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dezrobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnandYasmin, Owner at Panokosmos Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

We had a great time having you here - and thanks again for the lovely gift - which you can see on FB Panokosmos Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews