We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dolphin Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 31 Kalpitiya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Wonderful Place!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

It was clean, hospitable, with excellent service and sea food. From the moment you set foot on the place you feel welcome. Sleeping in the tents was something unique, and the facilities were as good as any five star resort. Even though I went with much apprehension, wondering how things would work out, it didn't take long before I was overwhelmed by the place the facilities and the serene atmosphere. Keep it up !!! That's the important thing !!! The excursion to Bar Reef that you organized was fantastic. My sincere thanks to those simple fisher folk who took us there and made it such an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cedric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deanjelin, General Manager at Dolphin Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Cedric,
thank you very much for your review. It was a pleasure having you and your family at Dolphin Beach Resort. We hope to see you back soon.
Best regards
Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    90
    19
    13
    4
See reviews for
176
161
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

we selected this property primarily for whale and dolphin watching trip; but realized this property is excellent. this is a beach resort hence the white sand is the floor all across. the rooms are in a tent style however all modern facilities are available including an A/C as well as WiFi. the facility manager Shivantha was very helpful and ensure we had a comfortable stay. the facility also has a wonderful infinity pool. it started raining at night and we sat in one of the ice rooms (just a name because tables are made of fiber giving a look of big ice blocks) till late, the breeze, sound of the sea and rain made the evening very relaxing and romantic. our morning dolphin watching trip was a successful one as we got to see both a whale as well as dolphins. the sea is slightly rough to swim.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aarohiLath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deanjelin, General Manager at Dolphin Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,
thank you for choosing Dolphin Beach Resort and thank you for your review. We all are pleased you had excellent time and looking forward seeing you again soon.
Best regards
Dean Jelinek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Had a great experience and would recommend it to anyone! Exciting concept (sleeping in tents) with well thought through layout, with all the necessaries! Aircon rooms, sufficient lightning "outside" bathroom with even a hair drier:-)! Beautiful and well maintained in every aspect, with friendly staff to round it off!
Will go back, next time I will stay longer.
We did not partake in any activities but as far as I understand their is dolphin watching and boat trips.
Food was good. Not a massive variety but if you enjoy local cuisine you will be pleased!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adele r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deanjelin, General Manager at Dolphin Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,
thank you for your review and we all are very pleased you had great time at Dolphin Beach Resort.
Looking forward seeing you back soon.
Best regards
Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Negombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I have frequented the Dolphin Beach quite a bit in the last 12 months and have never had a disappointment yet. The rooms are kept proper and well cared for. The staff is stupendous specially Harsha and gust relation officer deen are very helpful and very active and will bend over backwards to aid you whatever your whim may be. All in all...That's why we keep coming back, and food was awesome. Highly recommend this place and looking forward to come again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Himald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deanjelin, General Manager at Dolphin Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Himal,
It was a great pleasure to see you again and meet your family and your friends. I hope next time i will have more time to spend with you.
Until then best regards from all of us
Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Thank you very much Dean and the team for the awesome stay arranged by you all for myself and family. The beach, pool and the surrounding was absolutely lovely and calm. We had lot of fun. I must specially say that food was tantalizing. I will come back soon just to have your over fresh pizza all the way from Colombo :) Your pizzas are the best!

All the best! See you soon in June :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Asanthi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deanjelin, General Manager at Dolphin Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Asanthi,

thank you for your review and i have to say it was rely nice to see your father again and finally meting the rest of wonderful family. We all are very happy you had great time at Dolphin Beach and we are looking forward to see you and your family again soon.
Best regards to you and your family
Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I have to say that this is a well run and well thought out Hotel.The greatest asset of this hotel is its location. The staff was very welcoming made sure we had a great experience.
There is no sense to write a long review, go there, stay there and beleive me, it worth the price...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rash d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deanjelin, General Manager at Dolphin Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear RDS,,
thank you for your review and we all are looking forward seeing you next weekend at Dolphin Beach Resort. Im sorry service was a bit slow do to shortage of stuff case i gave days off to all of my staff who are celebrating Sinhala New Year. Thank you for understanding.
Best regards to you and your husband.
Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014

3 hours from Colombo, set in beautiful surroundings, quite isolated, almost a private beach. The guest numbers are small, all this makes it a wonderful place to chill out. Two beautiful evenings spent in isolated bliss. The tents as rooms with a veranda are amazing and the family tent providing enough and space to stretch out. Air-conditioned, ceiling fans, enough and more conveniently located power outlets, bottle water, free wifi, safe deposit locker, abundance of towels, shampoo, bath gel and conditioner completes the accommodation package. The beach, is swept and kept tidy and the garden layout with the sand from the beach extends up to the rooms is beautiful. Wait for the lights in the night, its indescribable. No one was swimming in the sea and I would not recommend as the beautifully laid out pool ensures that you got out only to laze or for meals! Depending on the season the sea can be murky. The sunset was a sight to see. The morning dolphin watching trip was a spectacular. All the staff, ably lead by "hands-on" Dean and Shevantha (who we missed on the last day) were happy and very helpful but service can be inefficient in typical sri lankan fashion! It is not the ideal place if you are thinking of food, the menus are not the best, probably because it was the long new year holiday period and the place was slightly understaffed. I felt that the fresh juice ordered was overpriced specially as the taste was poor. (Shevantha was not there!)
The Norochcholai coal-fired power station and several wind turbines are nearby but does not disturb your peace except the swoosh if you strain to listen.
A pricing difference to our advantage was settled with no questions asked, something very rare in the business world today. A special thank you to Dean for this and for ensuring a wonderfully relaxed holiday.

Room Tip: Do not expect a 5 star hotel but a 5 star holiday for sure. Those who have bad backs need to be mind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Senaka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deanjelin, General Manager at Dolphin Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Mr. Senaka,
it was a great pleasure having you and your family at the Dolphin Beach Resort.
Thank you for your review and i can assure you that next time you come and stay with us food and service will be excellent.
Best regrades
Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalpitiya
6.3 mi away
Elements Watersports & Nature Resort
13.3 mi away
Kalpitiya Resort by Ceylon Wings
0.8 mi away
Bar Reef Resort
Bar Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in Alankuda Beach
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Palagama Beach
Palagama Beach
#2 of 31 in Kalpitiya
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roshanne Beach Resort
Roshanne Beach Resort
#9 of 31 in Kalpitiya
99 reviews
12.5 mi away
Welle Wadiya
Welle Wadiya
#6 of 31 in Kalpitiya
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Beach Resort

Property: Dolphin Beach Resort
Address: Illanthadiya, Alankuda, Kalpitiya 61360, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > North Western Province > Kalpitiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Kalpitiya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Sri Lanka, just two hours from the airport and three hours north of Colombo, is an unspoilt peninsula of golden sand. Here lies a blissfully secluded resort with luxury tented accommodation on Alankuda beach. The bluest of skies melts seamlessly into the azure of the Indian Ocean to make a picture-perfect backdrop to a unique, tailor-made tropical holiday experience. Welcome to Dolphin Beach Resort Kalpitiya! This new concept of stylish, eco-beach accommodation is for the discerning traveller in search of an unforgettable holiday. Spacious and comfortable, our air conditioned tents present a world of romance with a unique ambience and view of the sea. Experience the thrill of sea safaris to the nearby Bar Reef for the best Sri Lanka has to offer in snorkeling and be entertained by the dolphins and whales on your way. April to November offers one of the best places in the world for kite surfing. Enjoy the tranquil ocean with the most beautiful coral gardens of Sri Lanka. Or just work hard on your tan. The sunsets at Dolphin Beach are of the spectacular kind and a perfect end to idyllic days, every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Dolphin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Beach Hotel Kalpitiya
Dolphin Beach Resort Sri Lanka/Kalpitiya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing