We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of Kalpitiya”
Review of Ruwala Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ruwala Resort
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Perfect idylic location, oustanding food and the staff completes a five star holiday with a homely touch. The lagoon is at the touching distance of the room and the view is amazing! every request is willingly carried out with a smile by their superb staff. Best lagoon crab curry ive had. A memorable holiday thanks very much!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

This is a very well run resort, which will go from strength to strength. Management with vision, but also recognising why the area is so special, and determined to keep it that way.

Go early in the morning to see the local fishing village pull in the anchovie nets

Room Tip: Lagoon room with AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobbybooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I stayed at this resort on November 27 and 28, 2013. My primary reason for visit was to see Sperm Whales off of Kalpitiya sea coast, Sri Lanka. At the outset I must express my sincere thanks and appreciation to Mr. Maithri Liyanage, managing director(Mobile 94 0727345531) who went out of his way to engage carefully chosen small boats for my whale watching, came with us on both days of whale watching . His bigger boat newly constructed, had not yet been inaugurated for want of a different spec propeller. But as he had promised a certain whale watch to me earlier, he took pains to engage a reasonably safe smaller boat with experienced boat operator, and was very very helpful in guiding us. We were very successful in seeing several Sperm Whales at very close quarters because of the smaller boats we were in, and it was very thrilling to see many dense swarms(colonies) of orange red krill swooshing with amazing speed under and around our small boat. It was like these orange red clouds of various sizes were doing a merry dance rituals. The birds and whales were chasing these - a spectacular site, seen at close range. On our second day we did not see krill or Sperm whale, but saw thousands of spinner dolphins.

As for the physical amenities of the Ruwala resort: There are cosy beach side chalets, very clean and rustic, very clean bath facilities and furnishing. The weather,was most desirable. The dining rooms are open, good small and large swimming pools are nice. Staff was very helpful.
I would recommend a three day booking for whale watching(hopefully by now their new boat is ready and operational) to be sure that at least one day will result in good sighting. Specifically state when booking that you are keen on whale watching, so, they take you far out into the sea for this purpose. In additionthe resort offers snorkeling, scuba diving, kayaking,horse safari and boating

Room Tip: All Chalets are sea side, but ask for one to be sure. Whale watching from mid November through Marc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snrajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Wonderful resort located in a quiet spot underneath palm trees. From my spacious room I had a stunning view over the lagoon where you can watch fisherman or simply enjoy the sundawn right from bed in the morning.
The staff took wonderful care of us and catered to all our wishes.
The food was amazing! Fresh prawns, fish and excellent curry.
Nice is the area around the chalets and the main house with a large pool and an relaxing area.
Thank you for an unforgettable stay!

Room Tip: Best would be a room with view over the lagoon. Like this you can watch the sundawn over the lagoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laraisabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed at the Ruwala resort in Jul'13 and the location is simply breathtaking. The staff are friendly and extremely accomodating. The highlight of the place is its beautiful and serene setting. Although Kalpitiya can tend to be a very hor place, the way Ruwala is built and the foliage provides a cooling atmosphere.... A must do if your there is to have an afternoon beer under the palm trees and a nice long drink under the stars on their pavillion,.... most satisfying expereince.....:)...... Maithree, the owner adds to the experience with his friendly nature and the eternal smile!.......Oh.. and the food.... is just great!!
-Chanaka & Sanjula Seneviratne

Room Tip: book the roomw facing the sea...... just beautifull!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chanaka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I stayed at Ruwala Resorts in July 2013 and I had a really good experience. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and spacious. I stayed in one of the chalets near the lagoon, which is basically a few meters in front of your bedroom. Something really nice for me was that there is a separate lounging area outside the chalet facing the lagoon where I found the perfect place to do yoga in the morning with the fresh breeze and listening to chirping birds. I only had a few meals which were good and most importantly staff is very friendly and professional. All together I enjoyed my stay very much and will for sure come again as I'm living in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Astrid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Beautifull location for a relaxation with family. We were impressed with the courtessy and the extra mile shown to every guest by the team members. Specially to mention Wasantha and Suranjit are great assets for the hotel. The food was excellent..large portions. Breakfast was great..

Room Tip: The large rooms facing the laggon is great with large terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrevorKandiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalpitiya
2.4 mi away
Elements Watersports & Nature Resort
5.0 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#1 of 31 in Kalpitiya
528 reviews
7.8 mi away
Welle Wadiya
Welle Wadiya
#4 of 31 in Kalpitiya
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Bar Reef Resort
Bar Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in Alankuda Beach
348 reviews
2.6 mi away
Villa Sante
Villa Sante
#17 of 57 in Kalpitiya
22 reviews
4.4 mi away
Palagama Beach
Palagama Beach
#2 of 31 in Kalpitiya
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruwala Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruwala Resort

Address: Kalpitiya Road | Kalpitiya, Kalpitiya 61360, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Western Province > Kalpitiya
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Kalpitiya
Price Range: £67 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruwala Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
a rustic eco-retreat and adventure-park on the banks of the scenic Puttlam lagoon, located in the unexplored north-west coast of Sri Lanka, making it an unforgettable holiday getaway - especially for the adventurous and nature-loving visitor. Nestled in the remote fishing village of Thihaliya, Ruwala Resort spans 9 acres of coconut garden and is geared to provide a relaxing as well as an adventurous holiday experience for adults and children alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ruwala Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruwala Resort Sri Lanka/Kalpitiya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing