We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place”
Review of Udekki

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalpitiya
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Udekki
Ranked #3 of 31 Kalpitiya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We loved everything about Udekki and wish we could've stayed for longer. The setting is absolutely idyllic. We stayed in Loft D which was comfortable, spacious and homely. The loft's huge rooftop terrace gave us an amazing view of the gorgeous surroundings. The staff at Udekki could not have been more attentive and friendly. The food here was absolutely unreal and we loved the fact that, rather than providing a menu, the kitchen simply surprises Udekki's guests with whatever is fresh and available on the day - we were never disappointed! As other reviews have said, what makes Udekki truly special is the hospitality of Glen and Carolyn. They are such warm and welcoming hosts who go out of their way to make sure every guest has an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss_Faye_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen T, Owner at Udekki, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Hi guys, it was great to have you here at Udekki. The food is waiting for you to visit again and so are we! Thanks for taking the time to put your comments on Trip Advisor.
Cheers, Glen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

I recently stayed with 2 friends at Udekki for 2 nights and we had a wonderful stay. Glen and Carolyn are true hosts and take extremely good care of their guests. As many other reviewers have stated, Udekki is by no means formal luxury - don't even expect menus! Everything is bespoke and it truly feels like you are staying at a friends beach house. If you're looking to relax after a busy week of touring Sri Lanka, this is definitely the place to chill out before going home.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brennan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen T, Owner at Udekki, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Hi Brennan, it was great to have you and the guys here! Missed you the following evening for cocktails at the pool. Thanks so much for taking the time to put something on Trip Advisor.
Cheers, Glen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Udekki is a wonderfully charming resort that oozes character and ambience. We stayed in villa 343 with its reclaimed wooden doors and 600 year old mosque lamp. The shared pool is a wonderfully designed centrepiece and we spent most of our six night stay around or in it. We felt it was far better than the neighbouring pools due to its various depths, places to lounge and being sheltered from the wind.

It's worth knowing that the accommodation is not modern or shiny and could do with some improvements despite being relatively new. Like others we were surprised by this initially but were then totally blown away by Glen and Carolyn's wonderful hospitality which makes niggles like not having great lighting to read by at night seem trivial (we rigged up our torch) and Glen assured us he will fix that and other things. They both truly went well beyond any reasonable expectations, including juggling around to let us arrive a night early, going out specially to source particular food for us and our kids when we just asked if they had it, trusting our kids to play Glen's guitar and taking them for a walk to name just a few of many lovely examples.

The food was wonderful, unlimited (we went full board and would highly recommend doing that) and tailored to our preferences without the need for a menu. We were very pleasantly surprised that unlimited beer and cocktails were included in the full board price so thought it represented stunning value. The rest of the staff were all helpful, attentive and friendly: our kids loved tooting the old fashioned car horns to ask for anything we wanted.

We also went for a day trip to Wilpatu which Glen and Carolyn arranged. They didn't take any commission from the local suppliers for doing that and also employ their staff from the local village which we thought were great touches towards helping a developing economy and integrating with the community.

For us the thing that set Udekki apart was that we felt very special. The easiest way to explain that is that we felt like we were staying in a good friend's home and welcomed Glen or Carolyn coming to chat and showing us round their own loft and it never once felt intrusive. If we return to Sri Lanka we'll definitely return and would not hesitate to recommend it to families.

We don't understand how the people who stayed one night while we were there could rate it one star with good concience. If you read the website and trip advisor reviews carefully it's clear enough what you're getting. We suspect they had unreasonable expectations of what family friendly venue would offer four guys out for their definition of a good time. We wouldn't let that review put off families, couples or anyone wanting what Udekki has to offer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen T, Owner at Udekki, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Hi Paul, It was great to have your whole family here with us at Udekki! We thought we had responded to your review but it hasn't shown up so we're trying again. It was always great to wake up in the morning and see the kids' smiles! I hope they both have guitars by now! And we are working on a reading light for the villa verandah! Hope Bella's back in action. We'd love to have you and your family back at Udekki sometime soon!
Cheers, Glen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

With a motto of "if the kids are happy we are happy" how can you go wrong. From the time you arrive you are greeted by the lovely Carolyn who shows you around the property while your bags go directly to your room and then we were given a wonderful breakfast as we got to Udekki in the morning. There is no reception so check-in happens when you are ready to fill in the book and the relaxing starts immediately.

This is not a resort for everyone. When I first arrived I was taken aback by the simplicity of the rooms and the resort. I soon forgot these as the REAL feel of the resort came out. It is Glen and Carolyn's home and you are made to feel like it is your home too. The food is amazing and just keeps coming. There is no menu so whatever is fresh is what you get - never disappointing. Glen soon realises what each person likes and creates wonderful breakfasts, lunches and dinners to suit these likes. My girls were even able to go into the kitchen and learn how to make egg hoppers which they loved. Glen also brought new kites and made sure that googles etc were available for the kids so they could make the most of the many hours spent in the pool. It is wonderfully quiet so relaxing is easy with a special tree house that the kids can go and play boardgames etc away from the adults.

The area around Udekki is still developing so it does take a while to get anywhere however a day trip out and about is well worth the effort. Unfortunately it was not dolphin and whale season so we booked to go back before we had even left.

I would have no hesitation in suggesting Udekki to family and friends for the great family holiday with lots of freedom for the children and relaxing for everyone. Look forward to returning in October.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirabailey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen T, Owner at Udekki, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Hi Kylie, It was a real pleasure having you and the family stay at Udekki. And yes we're going to see you again soon! And this time the sea should be good for swimming - fingers crossed! And get to see the dolphins too. Thanks so much for putting your thoughts about Udekki on Trip Advisor. Hugs to you and your family.
Cheers, Glen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Was back again, on Saturday at Udekki for lunch with Glen, was superb... Glen is such an awesome host and within a few minutes had our favourite Seafood Appetizers and drinks on the house...

If you want to be felt as if your home, please visit Udekki, as Glen welcomes to his home and to his hotel and personally takes care of your needs.

Love, Yasanthi

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Yasanthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen T, Owner at Udekki, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Hi Yasanthi, Nice to have you over for lunch the other day. We're waiting for you to come back and stay at Udekki again, with the whole family. Thanks heaps for putting your comments on Trip Advisor. See you soon,
Cheers, Glen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

We went there with lot of expectations but found it was not worth it. Four of us went there looking at the pictures on the site and after reading trip advisor reviews but totally disappointed. Avoid it possible.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rahulcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen T, Owner at Udekki, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Hi Rahul. WOW! Thanks heaps for your comment. I guess Udekki is not for everyone. Udekki is my "HOME" and we are not here to rip people off! cheers. Glen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Don't come to Udekki, expecting resort-style, formal luxury. Instead, you will find a small hotel that is unique in many ways. What sets it apart is a spirit of laid back comfort, ensured by the warm hospitality and friendliness of the hosts, Glen and Carolyn, as well as their capable, helpful and hard-working staff. Basically, everyone will go out of their way to help make your stay as great as possible, for children and adults alike. On top of this, you will find spacious and well-equipped rooms, cocktails served by the really nice pool area - and not least memorable meals with a seemingly never-ending supply of seafood and tasty curries. In short, this place is not to be missed by anyone looking for a really relaxing time in informal but nevertheless really comfortable and pleasant surroundings. We'll be back - if possible during the high season when the waters outside Udekki are said to offer an abundance of dolphins and other whales..

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen T, Owner at Udekki, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Hi Thomas. it was a real pleasure having your family stay with us. Thanks heaps for taking the time to comment on Trip advisor. You are all most welcome anytime and come back during the dolphin and whale watching season. Hugs to all.
cheers
Glen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalpitiya
5.3 mi away
Elements Watersports & Nature Resort
15.4 mi away
Dutch Bay Resorts
Dutch Bay Resorts
#2 of 4 in Kalpitiya
67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palagama Beach
Palagama Beach
#2 of 31 in Kalpitiya
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#1 of 31 in Kalpitiya
526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bar Reef Resort
Bar Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in Alankuda Beach
342 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dolphin Village
Dolphin Village
#4 of 31 in Kalpitiya
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Udekki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Udekki

Address: Off Kalpitiya Road, Alankuda Beach | Ettale, Kalpitiya 61360, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Western Province > Kalpitiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Kalpitiya
Price Range: £91 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Udekki provides guests with a rare combination of luxury, rustic style, and seclusion. The villas have been designed to fuse the unique style and influence of the Middle East and North Africa with the colour and vitality of tropical Sri Lanka. The beautiful antique features of the villas highlight the rich heritage of the island. With two private villas and a shared villa consisting of five individual suites on the estate, Udekki provides complete privacy along with first class accommodation and hospitality. Each of the two private villas incorporates air conditioned bedrooms, spacious living areas, satellite TV, a central courtyard, and large open front veranda with views to the pool. The five suites in the shared villa are spacious and airy, with ceiling fans and air conditioning, and views through the gardens. The new additions to Udekki, Loft D situated on the back terrace of Villa 343, and Loft M situated on the back terrace of Villa 346, have stunning views of the ocean. They are spacious and the many large antique windows provide ocean views from your bed. Although the lofts do not have airconditioning, the overhead fans and breeze from the many windows are all that you need for a good night's sleep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Udekki Sri Lanka/Kalpitiya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing