We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of Serendipity”
Review of Udekki

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalpitiya
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Udekki
Ranked #2 of 31 Kalpitiya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

It’s past nine o’clock in the morning, and we’re just waking up from the most deeply peaceful, relaxing sleep in a very long time. A soft sea breeze blows through the light, airy apartment – Loft M, our home-from-home here at Udekki. Because that’s part of the magic…you really do feel completely at ease and at home in this beautiful little oasis of calm tranquillity.

Our thoughts are focussed on a sound beneath our window: the bleating of two goat kids – Ella and Louie – who are briefly tethered under a shady bush nearby, reminding us it’s breakfast time! Having mentioned to Glen, our generous host, that we have a goat farm back in Wales and that since moving to Sri Lanka a couple of years ago we very much miss our caprine friends, I have a feeling this is no mere coincidence.

Staying at Udekki isn’t just supremely relaxing, it is to be made to feel genuinely welcome; indeed, as if you’re visiting very dear friends who know, anticipate and wish to fulfil your every comfort - with the added bonus of being in an absolutely stunning setting right on the gorgeous golden seclusion of Alankuda beach (with a superb pool in case the monsoon sea is a little too rough for swimming).

Having spent many stressful years on tour “living out of a suitcase” himself, host Glen Terry (the internationally-acclaimed Blues musician) knows exactly what world-weary travellers want and need when it comes to the ultimate in relaxation and customer service. And at Udekki, he has hit the nail right on the head. From the moment you arrive (there’s no reception desk; just a jovial “welcome to my home!” from the man himself, as your bags are taken to your room where a refreshing beverage of choice will be served straight away) your every need is catered for, down to the last detail. If you choose to have your meals on your own private terrace, or whilst chilling out in one of the supremely comfortable palm-fringed ambalamas next to the pool, or nestled in one of Udekki’s many comfy “hidey-holes” (dressed as you please; there’s no formal dress code here; and as dining is essentially private you've no fear of offending other guests' delicate sensibilites) that’s just fine; and whatever your tipple the glass will be discreetly refreshed from the lovely staff behind the “Magic Window”.

The whole place is a lesson not only in the fine art of flawless customer service, but also in the mastery of subtle but impressive attention to detail. We spent ages exploring and continually came across secret little spots geared to tranquillity and comfort: tree houses, stilted beach huts with sun decks, hammocks, swing seats; even a boat in the branches of a tree in which to idle away the hours if you so choose. Glen’s artistry is apparent with fascinating sculptures, murals and traditional agricultural implements casually but cleverly dotted around to draw the eye; even the poolside/beachside shower is an extraordinary work of driftwood art. Along with Louie and Ella, a small group of farmyard fowl adds animation to the timeless rustic charm with flowers of every hue tumbling beautifully between the graceful palms.

And the food…ohhhh, the food. If you like seafood you will be in piscine heaven here. Each and every dish, whether fish, meat, vegetables, rice or dessert is simply, exquisitely and elegantly prepared: it is, without doubt, the finest cuisine we have had in Sri Lanka, and we are discerning culinary gluttons. Whilst lazing by the beautiful pool one of our idle fascinations was to watch, as mealtimes approached, an array of colourful local characters staggering down the path with armfuls of sumptuous tropical fruits, vegetables or coconuts; a man in full fishing regalia strides past, rod over his shoulder and coolbox under his arm; fresh and tender cuts of meat and poultry arrive just as the irresistible scent of garlic, onion and ginger frying gently in coconut oil sets our tummies rumbling in an appetite of anticipation.

As dinner approaches Glen anxiously awaits a promised delivery of clams, fresh from the evening tide; we’re not disappointed. As the sun begins to set a vast platter of steaming shellfish appears in a gorgeous garlic and white wine sauce. And then there’s the beautiful buttered lobster, mouthwateringly tender and juicy; plump prawns in an impossibly light, crisp tempura batter; a vast fish steak cooked to perfection and dressed with simple fresh herbs then drizzled with a delicate jus; and a stunning swimmer crab curry, warm spices of pepper, cinnamon and clove making it the perfect summer supper dish. The food just kept coming; I think we counted fifteen dishes that evening including every greedy girl’s sweet heaven of baked bananas and warm, gooey chocolate pud.

Not to mention the superb ambiance: relaxing unobtrusive background music of a variety of genres, candlelight and the dancing flames of oil kettles adding to an air of intimacy around the pool; the warm sea breeze and the clear sky awash with stars as you put your feet up on a mound of comfy cushions…an evening to treasure, especially as we got chatting to Glen and were treated to a superb “unplugged” session from the man himself!

After a supremely refreshing night’s sleep and in need of a lazy lie-in we just about made room for breakfast, which again was an absolute feast of fresh fruit, egg hoppers, a delicious dhal, sambals, kiri hodi, flatbreads and panipol pancakes (a sweet pancake cooked with fresh coconut and kitul treacle) among the traditional Sri Lankan breakfast dishes we were offered. I could go on, but I suggest you come and try it all for yourself if you haven’t upped and packed your bags already!

But Udekki isn’t just about relaxation, or the food, or the ambiance; if you so choose there’s plenty of other things to do. If water sports such as kite surfing, snorkelling, or kayaking and canoeing float your boat (‘scuse the pun), then Udekki’s the place to do it. And between October and March it’s one of the best locations on the island for dolphin and whale watching. Or fancy catching your own supper with a spot of responsible fishing, then barbequing it on the beach whilst enjoying the stunning sunset, sipping a cool G&T? No problem. A little light exercise, perhaps? If you don’t fancy a stroll through the cool shade of the forest that fringes the beach, you could take advantage of the yoga hall. If you thirst to travel further afield to enjoy more of this wonderful island Glen and Carolyn can arrange organised day trips to the diverse and amazing sights in Sri Lanka’s Cultural Triangle; or to the Millennium Elephant Foundation, or to nearby Wilpattu, the island’s largest National Park (which boasts all the richness and diversity of Yala Game Reserve, but advantageously with far less tourist footfall).

Udekki is charming, stylish rusticity at its’ finest. If you want five star grandeur and glamour with sleek, massive flat-screen HDTVs, flawless unimaginatively uniform décor and a private Jacuzzi that could accommodate a cricket team, then Udekki probably isn’t for you. But if you want seven-star, unbeatable service in simply but beautifully and vibrantly furnished surroundings then you will surely find it in this wonderful slice of Serendipity. Udekki is something of an enigma as none of the stock descriptions such as “resort” or “guest house” or “boutique hotel” really fit; it is something of everything and in that spirit of inclusivity you will find your heart beating peacefully to Udekki’s gentle but irresistible rhythm.

I should mention that being an airline pilot, my husband truly values "quality time" without any stress; indeed he is emphatic that nowhere else has ever made him more relaxed and as such he would especially recommend that holidaymakers travelling to or from Sri Lanka make Udekki top of their agenda for a few days, either before or especially after a long flight, in order to fully appreciate all that the island has to offer in a refreshed and rested state of mind. The fact that he arrived after piloting a particularly tiring flight himself and now invariably seeks out Udekki as destination of choice, speaks volumes!

In Welsh, the word “hiraeth” encapsulates that aching longing, that yearning to return to a place you feel truly at home; for our part we cannot wait to return and are already eagerly planning our next visit which we intend to be one of many more in the years to come. We cannot recommend Udekki and the lovely team of people there, highly enough; and hope that you, too, will take the plunge and discover your dream Tropical Paradise on Udekki’s palm-fringed shores.

Room Tip: The Loft Rooms and their terraces offer unparalleled views over the gardens and the sea beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen T, Owner at Udekki, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Hello you lovely people! Thank you so much for your detailed review on TripAdvisor! It was a real pleasure having you both at Udekki. We've also had friends of yours stay in the past few days - and they came because of your recommendation - thanks! We're all really looking forward to you both visiting again. It was a pleasure playing the blues for you.
Thanks heaps!
Cheers,
Glen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

we were in Udekki with our family freinds and enjoy the weekend having unforgettable dining experiance . I must thank Glenn , Carolyn for their personal attantion of everything and also the staff ( specially Vajira ) for take care us . This is an excellent place for total relaxation with peace of mind .

Room Tip: Udekki having villas with large rooms . So any room is okay and if you would like to do some cooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chandana295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen T, Owner at Udekki, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Hi, It was great to have you all here! You will all definitely have to come back and spend longer with us! Thanks heaps for putting your review on TripAdvisor.
Look forward to having you all back here soon!
Cheers, Glen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We picked Udekki mainly based on other reviews. We ended up enjoying it more than I thought we would.
If you are looking for a place to unwind, relax, and get away, this is the place.
We spent a week here in July 2014.
Get away from the crowds and go here.
Glen and Carolyn go out of their way to make you feel like a guest in their home. If there is anything you need, all you have to do is ask. They are very helpful in arranging transportation to or from the airport, as well as local trips you might want to take.
The Staff is excellent. They will attend to your needs throughout the day, which for us was mainly a fresh coconut or beer beside the pool.
The food is fresh, well prepared, and lots of it "Udekki style" as one of the staff told us.
Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner served in your own "private" Cabana next to the pool, or out on the Beach during calmer seasons, as Glen told us.
The rooms are very open, with a rustic feel to them. The family villa is very spacious, too bad we never got around to using the outdoor tubs.
There is nothing more relaxing that reading and napping in the "treehouse" during a warm afternoon.
By the time you leave, Glen, Carolyn, and the staff will be like friends. I hope we can visit again in December when the sea is calm and we can take more advantage of the beautiful beach.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell_1061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen T, Owner at Udekki, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Hi Russell and family! It was great having you for a week at my home! And the beach hut is a perfect place for that afternoon nap! Thanks for taking the time to put your thoughts on TripAdvisor. And we hope to see you again during the dolphin watching season!
Cheers,
Glen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My wife and I stayed in the loft D for 2 nights. It was the best time in Sri Lanka compared to the other days with the hectic commuting...

Glenn, Carolyn, and the Udekki family really spoiled us. It's correct that there's no food menu there but we think the unexpected are what makes traveling unforgettable! And you will be taken care of. No need to worry!!! The staff are very friendly and attentive.

It is the wind season (July) so we couldn't swim in the sea, but plenty to do around - playing in the pool, reading, sun bathing, napping, watching the stars... We didn't need the TV or even the WIFI.

This is a place for the vacations away from the cities & noise. Going to sleep with the stars in the sky and waking up in the sound of the waves... LOVED IT!!!!!!

We will come back!!!

Room Tip: email them to check the prices for a deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank w2music
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen T, Owner at Udekki, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Hi Bill and Emma! It was lovely having you at Udekki, my home! And we're glad you had such a good time. The stars really are great from the terrace, aren't they? Thanks for taking the time to put something on TripAdvisor, and we look forward to you coming back again - and staying for longer!
Cheers,
Glen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were staying at one of the neighbouring eco resorts and were encouraged to visit Udekki beach resort for dinner. What a wonderful experience. Glenn, the charismatic, friendly owner, greeted us warmly and had a delicious fresh sea food dinner by the scenic light swimming pool. The grilled prawns with the secret sauce were scrumptious. A major highlight, is that we were fortunate to have Glenn, a reknowned blues singer, play for us, it was a magical evening. We also dropped by the next day to use their pool and to again have a fresh, delicious lunch.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank inky212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen T, Owner at Udekki, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

HI guys,
It was lovely having you at my home for dinner! And glad you enjoyed the music. Next time we'd love to have you stay at Udekki! Thanks for taking the time to put your thoughts on TripAdvisor!
Cheers,

Glen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

There are moments in your life where you experience something very special. We just experienced one of those moments staying two nights with Glen and his amazing staff.
The food was incredible seafood bought fresh each day cooked simply, just delicious. Add to that genuine friendly hospitality cold drinks the pool the well appointed bungalows, it's a place we want to go back to and somewhere we will tell our friends about.
Thanks Glen

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade and stay in the rooftop bungalows if available. Be prepared to be pampered and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hillary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen T, Owner at Udekki, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hi Hilary, It was lovely having you and the family here at Udekki, my home. And I'm glad I got to play a few tunes for you! Thanks for taking the time to put your thoughts on TripAdvisor.
Hope to see you here again one day!
Cheers,
Glen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

If you dream of drinks by the pool, dinner on the beach, or being serenaded with Jazz music, then Uddeki is for you. I have tried to explain what a great time I had with Glen and Carolyn to anyone who will listen. But there are no words, you just have to go and experience what it is like to be part of the Uddeki family.Whatever you desire, lobsters, gin and tonic, huge breakfasts, Udekki will make it happen. Also a must do is Dolphin watching with Glen. Glen and his boat driver have a way of finding the best pods, and you will be the only boat around. It is a unforgettable experience! I am counting down the days till I can return!

Room Tip: Any room that you get will be amazing. I have seen all of them and they are all amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lostbuttercup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen T, Owner at Udekki, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Hi Rachel,
It was great having you here, and everyone loved your yoga classes! And now you know we have a new yoga pavilion! So we hope to see you back here again - soon! Thanks for taking the time to put your review on TripAdvisor!
Cheers,
Glen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalpitiya
5.3 mi away
Elements Watersports & Nature Resort
0.3 mi away
Palagama Beach
Palagama Beach
#3 of 31 in Kalpitiya
300 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#1 of 31 in Kalpitiya
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bar Reef Resort
Bar Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in Alankuda Beach
342 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dolphin Village
Dolphin Village
#4 of 31 in Kalpitiya
64 reviews
1.0 mi away
Roshanne Beach Resort
Roshanne Beach Resort
#9 of 31 in Kalpitiya
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Udekki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Udekki

Address: Off Kalpitiya Road, Alankuda Beach | Ettale, Kalpitiya 61360, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Western Province > Kalpitiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Kalpitiya
Price Range: £91 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Udekki provides guests with a rare combination of luxury, rustic style, and seclusion. The villas have been designed to fuse the unique style and influence of the Middle East and North Africa with the colour and vitality of tropical Sri Lanka. The beautiful antique features of the villas highlight the rich heritage of the island. With two private villas and a shared villa consisting of five individual suites on the estate, Udekki provides complete privacy along with first class accommodation and hospitality. Each of the two private villas incorporates air conditioned bedrooms, spacious living areas, satellite TV, a central courtyard, and large open front veranda with views to the pool. The five suites in the shared villa are spacious and airy, with ceiling fans and air conditioning, and views through the gardens. The new additions to Udekki, Loft D situated on the back terrace of Villa 343, and Loft M situated on the back terrace of Villa 346, have stunning views of the ocean. They are spacious and the many large antique windows provide ocean views from your bed. Although the lofts do not have airconditioning, the overhead fans and breeze from the many windows are all that you need for a good night's sleep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Udekki Sri Lanka/Kalpitiya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing