We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden Oasis to rejuvenate oneself”
Review of Dutch Bay Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dutch Bay Resorts
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kalpitiya
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We had a family reunion at the Dutch bay Kalpitiya on the 5th and 6th of December, Stayed 2 nights on full board, Its my third time to Kalpitiya and first time to Dutch Bay.

We arrived by boat and was awed to see such a beautiful property in the middle of the bay. It is architecturally very beautiful. The Rooms are placed at a great distance from each other, tucked in the middle of Mangroves facing the lagoon and with a board walk into the lagoon with your own pier. The Interior of the room was very tastefully. Predominantly white with touches of orange and pink, the mattress, pillows and off course the bed sheets were extremely soft and very comfortable. Had all the creature comforts one would possibly want. The bathroom is very unique since its half outdoor and open to sky, so you could gaze the stars whilst sitting on your throne. The Staff was essentially from the locality and they were very kind and good. The Spa therapist on call was very professional and I had amazing foot, head and body massages.

We enjoyed great food and very comfortable Stay. I wish the Hotel all the very best and certainly look forward to destress my self once again at the Dutch bay

Room Tip: Rooms 14 or 16 they are very good and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thanuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil D, Owner at Dutch Bay Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2014

Dear Mr. Tanuj

It was indeed a great opportunity to meet your wonderful family and thank you for selecting Dutch Bay Resorts rich bio diversity for your family reunion. We enjoyed greatly the opportunity your family gave us

It gives me great pleasure to hear that my careful thoughts on the open bathroom concept, the customized Orthopedic matters that is complemented with the pillow menu gave you the comfort that is needed in "Small Luxury Hotel"

Thank you for your continues patronage and we look forward to your 3rd arrival to discover the gifted nature with a few Yoga sessions

Your genuine review on behalf of your family stay has encouraged many travelers over the year and thank you for that contribution. We send you great Blessings from this unique "Dutch Bay Island"

Sat Nam
Neil D'Silva
Dutch Bay Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

If you believe in serenity, relaxation and the beauty of the nature, probably Dutch bay resort may be one of the best places in the world for you.
After crossing the beautiful Kalpitiya Lagoon by the boat we were warmly welcomed by friendly staff who offered us personalized and excellent services that needs to take pleasure in the comfort and elegantly designed chalet in the lagoon. Chalets are designed spaciously with own private deck towards lagoon and surrounded by mangrove trees where no disturbance what so ever by the other occupants.
Surrounded by the mangrove trees and the panoramic view of lagoon makes the scenery from chalets heavenly beautiful.
It was a wonderful experience in the restaurant at night where the cool breeze and sound of the lagoon waves provides you the music of nature. We were served with delicious fresh sea food and fruit drinks.
I made a trip to Dutch bay resort with my family. We had a boat ride to see blue whales, Dolphins and cross the lagoon to go upstream in the a river “Kala Oya” bordering famous wild sanctuary “ Wilpattu National Park”.
Dutch bay resort is THE place for the people who are looking for tranquility in nature while enjoying the Sea and wild life to gather. Dutch bay resort is Ideal for families and nature loving individuals and groups who are in need to relax and enjoy the true spirit of life.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MARLON G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil D, Owner at Dutch Bay Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2014

Dear Mr. Marlon and Family

Wonderful words and great environmentalist you are to appreciate our rich Biota. Thank you for such passionately written review. You have also contributed in great deal and I send you and the family great Blessings. Every dollar that you spent with us have contributed to the local villages and such wonderful reviews can only justify our genuine Journey. Our aim is to rejuvenate our guests and enhance their Soul with absolutely fresh energy that is obvious on Dutch Bay Island

Please visit us soon and kindly ring me directly for any further assistance

Blessings all the way and by best to your family

Neil D'Silva
Dutch Bay Resors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We recently spent 2 weeks visiting Sri Lanka - the 1st week spent at Dutch Bay.
From our first encounter with the staff, we experienced personal and professional service - from advise about the weather in the rest of Sri Lanka before we left to the phonecalls en-route to the hotel after being picked-up to ensure that everything was to our satisfaction. its a long trip from Colombo airport, so getting out of the car and into the boat to finish the journey was a treat. We were greeted by Olga and her team who went out of their way to ensure we had a pleasant stay.

The room was fabulous - very large and bright with great views straight into the mangroves, with a terrace and a jetty leading into the lagoon - a lovely place to sit and read in the mornings before the family woke up.

Talking of which, we travel as 2 adults and 3 children, but faced absolutely no issues with the space in the room, so ignore any "maximium occupancy" rules you may see on booking websites... the hotel is happy to provide an extra bed.

The food was fabulous - actually by far the best we had in Sri Lanka. On the first night we had the set menu, which was western food, but very well cooked. Every other meal we ate we had Sri Lankan and it was incredible. fresh, tasty and soo much of it! We didnt have to look at a menu - we simply asked the chef in the morning to cook whatever was fresh and he gave his suggestions.

The kids were happy to spend their days in the pool and drinking fresh juices, however, we also had numerous trips out in the boats to explore the local areas beaches and mangroves with the in-house environmentalist on hand to explain about the various flora and fauna of the area.

Bear in mind you are located in the middle of natural mangroves, so there will be a few bugs and lizards around.

The hotel had only been open a couple of months, and while there were a few vey minor teething issues, these were more than made up for by the overall quality of the experience - in fact I struggle to remember exactly what they were!

unfortunately we also missed the whale season, but will hopefuly return to see this in future.

All in all, a very relaxing stay and a great (gentle) introduction to Sri Lanka.

Last point to note - if you are booking the hotel, ensure that you request for Full Board as this included all our food and drinks for a nominal extra charge (I think this applies to most hotels in Sri Lanka?)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a jetty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Imad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil D, Owner at Dutch Bay Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2014

My Dear Mr. Imad and Family

Thank you soo much for your wonderful review that explained the layout of the Hideaway Mangrove Chalet and the quality of food we passionately cook. It brings us immense courage to continue our business and your review has been a super contributor for many families who followed you to our pristine bio diversity. Thank You again

We are able to surprise you again after 16 months of operation and please try visit us before end April to catch the Whale and Dolphin watching season that can compliment you with snorkeling and diving. We have also made an entry point to the Wilpattu jungle and that is now only 25 minutes from your private jetty

Sending your beautiful family great Blessings from Dutch Bay Island

Salam

Neil D'SIlva
DBR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Sri Lanka is a land which keeps on springing surprises. In spite of its 2,500 year old documented history, this island of only 66,000 sq. Km. with over 20 million inhabitants keeps itself rediscovering perpetually, it is clear.
Kalpitiya is a recent such example. Its newly discovered lure surrounding the part of the Kaplitiya Lagoon called the Dutch Bay is there for all to experience. Dutch Bay Resorts is run by intrepid Neil D’Silva who took the initiative to invest his love and labour in the area long before anyone else opened their eyes. First encounter with Neil and you can gauge the passion in him. For anyone who feels one with nature, Neil is a good friend to have and Dutch Bay Resorts is the perfect place to locate oneself. If Neil likes you he will tell you the little known secrets of Dutch Bay including its spirituality – a land engrossed in our blood from the time of Kuveni . He might also take you in his boat to see the great Baobab tree, the largest in Sri Lanka, growing in Gangewadiya, at the edge of the great Kala Oya basin, on the shores of Wilpattu National Park.
Once you get to the Baobab you will be convinced that there is so much more going on than that we allow ourselves to "know' in our busy, distracted states. This Baobab is there to remind us of what we tend to forget or ignore………………


O Resplendant Isle, a pearl in an emerald sea
Your golden sands and palm fringed shores form a lea,
Cradled by coral reefs like an encircling charm
With fragrant breezes wafted from a distant calm.

The jungle-clad peaks swathed in fleecy cloud
Your glory that was, now history richly endowed,
Cocooning the timeless land in mists that shroud the past
Achievements of your golden years will eternally last.

The happy gentle nature of your smiling people
Living in mutual accord with temple, mosque and steeple,
Finds a place in the hearts of visitors to your land
Making those that leave, return from their foreign strand.

If you sow harmony then so shall you reap
For peace is too precious to cast upon the heap,
May destiny guide Serendip through life’s race
And let no man ever mar her tranquil face.

-From "Poems Through the Years" by Trevor LaBrooy

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lalith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil D, Owner at Dutch Bay Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2014

Dear Mr/s. Lalith S

Thank you for sharing the "Poems Through the Years" by Trevor La Brooy.. Wonderful in deed

Thank you for your kind words. You have encouraged me continue the passion I have for my Motherland's rich bio diversity. Your family trip with me on the boat to discover the "Baobab" and the borders of Wilpattu jungle is very much in my daily memory. I looked forward to your second visit to discover the Jungle and thank you for your continues patronage

Please forgive me for my late reply. Your beautiful reviews made great justice to our rich bio diversity and to the History of Dutch Bay island and its surrounding. You have contributed tremendously with your passion as a environmentalist and you gave great confidence to travelers who were searching for a heaven to relax during their holiday.

Thank you soo much for initiating such a wonderful review.

We respect the privacy of our guests and hardly make any request for reviews but it makes a huge motivation when we receive such appreciations through Tripadvisor reviews.

Blessings and I look forward to your 4th visit

Neil D'Silva
DBR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

A honeymooner’s ultimate Paradise!! Dutch Bay Resorts is where we chose to stay for two nights and there was certainly no mistake in our choice. This journey with a mix crowd of different age groups was a well deserved getaway from the noisy, hustle and bustle of Colombo.
Dutch Bay Resorts located in the Dutch Bay island is far greater than what you would ever expect from a city so laid back and undiscovered, so unspoilt which leaves one to wonder.
We all had our own share of a “WOW” experience from the minute we stepped in to the well equipped boat that carried us away to this beautiful Island ‘Dutch Bay’ and the Resort itself is what you never would expect to exist on an Island and this part of Sri Lanka ‘Wow’. We were individually welcomed on to our Chalet’s private Jetties by the local ladies who have now been trained to be ‘Butler Ladies’ they later explained. They welcomed us with their beautiful smiles followed by fresh Pine apple juice..Very impressive! Our registration was done within the chalet by the extremely accommodating Gust Relations Manager Olga and her team, with a super introduction in a nutshell.
We enjoyed every bit of every single minute. The well experienced Executive Chef and the Food & Beverage team paid personal attention to our needs. the fresh dishes prepared was out of this world!!
An extremely friendly but relaxed serene atmosphere in and around the resort. The sounds of nature, the crickets chirping are all what you hear throughout...sitting on your chalet’s private deck, you drift away to dreamland.
The Boat rides along the lagoon and around the Dutch bay island takes you to the most romantic and stunning scenes to witness. The historical sites dramatically takes you back in time. It’s the season of kitesurfing, its something never to be missed, so we did witness a whole show of kite surfers ..we had just missed the season of Dolphins and blue whales, the Hotel Manager explains. So here we are waiting to get back to Kalpitiya next season and where else would we go..Dutch Bay Resorts..

Room Tip: If you are looking for extreme privacy and a romantic getaway, select your chalet that has their own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil D, Owner at Dutch Bay Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2014

Thank Dear A R Family

You gave my local villagers who are being trained to be "Butler Ladies" the opportunity to practice what they learned. They are the breadwinners of under privilege Islanders. breadwinners . They surely complements our rich biodiversity. Thank you all for contributing to DBR's profit module on Dutch Bay Island. We hope that you give us the opportunity again and our teams awaits your arrival. We thank you for sharing your valuable comments following your stay with us. Your genuine review continues to assist new travelers find their dream holiday in a pristine environment.

Blessings from a Historically powerful Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I stayed in this luxury, absolutely stunning hotel in June. I booked myself for two nights initially but extended it for another two nights solely because of the brilliant experience I had ! The room was magnificent. Very spacious with all the comforts. I could have slept for days on the huge, comfotable bed! Every chalet has its own private deck where you are nestled in your own private moment with a massage if you want on the deck!
The food and wine was heavenly. Anything your taste buds require, the chef in charge will make sure you will not leave the table unless fully satisfied. I am a great food lover and the dishes this talented chef creates are out of this world :)
The staff are also very friendly with a smile on their faces ready to help. All in all, I had one of the best holidays in Sri Lanka thanks to Dutch Bay Resorts'.
I will definitely be back to spend more time in this paradise :)

Room Tip: All the rooms are exceptional ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil D, Owner at Dutch Bay Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2014

Thank you Dear Tina for sharing your genuine comments about our sustainable profit module. Thank you for being the first reviewer following your stay with us. We look forward to surprising you on your next visit. I apologize for my late reply. Blessings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: думаю, все номера одинаковы прекрасны и идентичном видом на лагуну
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SibRus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalpitiya hotels
10.3 mi away
Elements Beach & Nature Resort
0 mi away
Kalpitiya Resort by Ceylon Wings
15.7 mi away
Palagama Beach
Palagama Beach
#2 of 31 in Kalpitiya
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Roshanne Beach Resort
Roshanne Beach Resort
#8 of 31 in Kalpitiya
101 reviews
16.3 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#1 of 31 in Kalpitiya
529 reviews
4.2 mi away
Horizon Kite Surfing Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dutch Bay Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dutch Bay Resorts

Address: Dutch Bay Island | Dutch Bay Island, Kalpitiya 61360, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Western Province > Kalpitiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kalpitiya
Price Range: £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hideaway destination is built on the historical Dutch Bay Island surrounded by its unique rich bio diversity (underwater and forest sanctuary) well recognized for Whales, Dolphins and the nature park "Wilpattu." There are 16 signature mangrove chalets, fully furnished with customized 5 star amenities to include free wi-fi, 24/7 butler service, same day laundry service, 24/7 Duty Manager, 24/7 housekeeping and front desk and maintenance, common pool and beach access.25 Minutes to Wilpattu safari park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Dutch Bay Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dutch Bay Resorts Sri Lanka/Kalpitiya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing