We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury at an affordable price”
Review of Dutch Bay Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dutch Bay Resorts
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kalpitiya
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxury at an affordable price”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Probably the best deal in all of Sri Lanka. Super luxury at an affordable price, This place is amazing and Neil was one of the most helpful caretakers I have met. Definitely worth the drive off the beaten track.

Love the decor, the food and the outdoor bathrooms.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Aaron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil D, Owner at Dutch Bay Resorts, responded to this review, 27 October 2014
Dear Aaron

Thank you both for selecting Dutch Bay Island for you brief stay with us. I am very glad that you loved the environment and the "Small Luxury Hotel" set up. Specially, coming from a rich tourism destination where live and work. We will continue to grow due to genuine nature lovers and good travelers like you. Thank you for giving my team the opportunity to serve you both. With great Blessings we look forward to see you soon for a few more dives at the reef. Sat Nam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    8
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
25
16
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

This place is love. The staff are extremely homely and the secluded nature of each chalet helps you really let go if all the stress from work. The beach is pristine and it's peaceful with hardly any other person for miles. The treck between the resort and the beach is peaceful and is a good way to stretch your muscles. There's plenty of things to do from kite surfing to dolphine/wale watching tours. There are many places to see around the island and on clear nights the stars are breathtaking.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Milan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil D, Owner at Dutch Bay Resorts, responded to this review, 5 November 2014
Dear Ms. Milan

Thank you for bringing your parents over to our rich biodiversity and giving us the opportunity to share our passionate destination with your family. I am glad you enjoyed the 20 minutes walk to the beach while discovering the land and the inhabitants of the nature . With no infrastructure facilities on the Island outside the Resort area, our beach will always remain pristine and uninhabited to site only migratory fisher folk. We hope to enhance the bio diversity and the socio economic factor of the local fisher folk with all your support. Therefore, your review has helped us in great deal and thank you

Thank you again for your visit and please return to join us at the Yoga retreat program as discussed. We look forward to surprising you, your Mom and Dad during the next stay where Villa 12 will always be reserved in advance

Sat Nam

Neil
DBR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Spent a holiday in Dutch bay resort, Kalpitiya. reached the resort by boat and for people who cannot make the journey by boat had a jeep. Very personalised service. very clean environment and delicious food from the local products. Lovely private beach. Your own dock to the lagoon from your shaley. Went Dolphin watching arranged by the resort and spent an excellent morning. unfortunately did not see any whales. there were facilities for Kite surfing.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anoja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil D, Owner at Dutch Bay Resorts, responded to this review, 5 November 2014
Dear Doctor

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to welcome you to Dutch Bay Resorts. Thank you for taking time from your busy schedule to share your wonderful experience on Tripadvisor. your experience is encouraging many travelers select Dutch Bay's Rich bio diversity. I truly enjoyed meeting your Dad and the family and hope we get to see your family soon again. Sending you great blessings for your wonderful work

Sat Nam

Nei D'Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Visited the Dutch Bay with family, a party of 8. A truly memorable experience. The Dutch Bay Resort is something distinctly different. Beautifully built, and luxurious chalets built abutting the mangroves, close to nature with all the facilities one requires. Beautiful open air bathrooms. A wonderfully relaxing place, full of history and spirituality. Neil D'Silva is a wonderful host, passionate about making his guess enjoy every minute of their stay. And everyone else is so polite and helpful, for once a hotel with a truly personal touch. None of the blandly formal politeness one experiences in most places, the people here were genuinely friendly and nice, and would do everything to make things as comfortable as possible for the guests. Special thanks also to Mevan. This place makes you feel wanted and special, and was what we appreciated most. We went out to sea to see dolphins and saw loads of them. Its was a delightful experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a private jetty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Senaka R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil D, Owner at Dutch Bay Resorts, responded to this review, 27 October 2014
My Dear Dr Senaka

It was amazing that we met and thank you for giving us the opportunity to meet your visiting family. You are a very passionate human being who helps Universal children in many forms. You have a gifted family too.

Thank you for selecting Dutch Bay Resorts and for sending friends and family. Your beautiful words and encouraged Thousands of visitors select Dutch Bay resorts and Kalpitiya region

I thank you again for recognizing our humble ethics that we have introduced in the service of Hospitality. It made me easy to train humble villagers who hardly had three meals to eat. Today, they are the shareholders of this profit module as we take nothing with us

Please continue to visit us

Sending you great vibes and Cosmic energy though our mind power

Blessings all the way to your loving family

Neil D'Silva
Dutch Bay Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Unforgettable breath taking Holiday. Pure Quality service and facilities at Dutch Bay Resorts go hand in hand with the True Nature.
Had a wonderful time with my family. Well done Neil and THANK YOU. We will be Back soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nishan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil D, Owner at Dutch Bay Resorts, responded to this review, 27 October 2014
Dear Mr. Nishan and the Family

Thank you very much for selecting Dutch Bay Island for your family vacation away from the UK. Thank you for your continues patronage. Your visits and genuine reviews and recommendations have added tremendous value to our sustainable Socio friendly profit module. Thank you for promoting us amongst your loving family and friends. We will always assure you of our quality all around

We look forward to seeing your family for the 4th time on Dutch Bay Island

Blessings to you all

Neil D'Silva
DBR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Spent wonderful 5 days and 5 nights at Dutch Bay resort on our honeymoon. The private Chalets were so perfectly architected, luxuriously furnished and equipped with all the facilities one would need at a home away from home while keeping the impact to the surrounding mangrove and the wilderness to a minimum. The chalets build in the middle of the mangroves and the jungle trees really gives the occupant a sense of perfect privacy. The private jetty that goes into the lagoon is a perfect place to relax in the evening while the sun is setting and the birds are returning homes. I truly liked the fact that there is still no walls around this hotel and to see many birds, colorful insects, lizards, wild donkeys, cattle and monkeys go about their daily business in that quiet and tranquil environment. The restaurant was too very nicely architected with a big open hall where people can not only come to dine but also to relax and chat.
During on our stay, on one day me and my wife took a stroll around the hotel and walked alone all the way to the beach enjoying the north western dry coastal environment of Sri Lanka. In another went on a jeep ride to see the remnant of Dutch occupation of this part of the island and to the beach thats full of sea shells. In another day we took a boat ride around the lagoon which was a really nice experience.. to move through small passages in the mangroves, seeing the fish swimming about and taking about a 45 mins boat ride to the other side of the lagoon where there is Vilpattu national park where there stands a huge baobab tree. Although we were not able to set out to the sea to see dolphins due to unexpected bad weather the mangrove and lagoon ride was a thrilling experience.
In addition to the above facts, one other main reason that makes Dutch Bay resort so memorable was its warm and friendly staff. From the day we arrived we got to know several members like the caretakers, securities, waiters, driver and chefs. They became very friendly with us and made us feel like we are given a very personal service. The food was absolutely amazing and the chef really knows how to surprise the guests even when I requested vegetarian food. Even the items I have eaten all my life, tasted so much better at Dutch Bay Resorts. I should also mention the manager of Dutch Bay Resorts Mr. Neil D Silva for warmly welcoming us, attending to our every needs, arranging trips and ensuring we had a relaxing and a memorable time. After spending 5 wonderful days at Dutch bay resorts it felt a bit difficult to say goodbye to the wonderful staff and a wonderful place. I'd recommend it for any couple seeking a perfect hideout.

Room Tip: All the rooms look perfect and peaceful. But I guess a room that is a bit away from the restaurant s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiddleManMadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil D, Owner at Dutch Bay Resorts, responded to this review, 27 October 2014
Thank You Mr/s. Madhu for selecting Dutch Bay Resorts for your Honeymoon. We were thrilled to welcome you both as you blended so well to our pristine nature. We love welcoming people who appreciate the Mother nature

You both have contributed greatly with your stay with us and thank you for encouraging Thousands of visiting and vegetarians who agreed with your lovely comments

It would be wonderful if you give my team the ability to serve you again. Please let us know if we could pamper you both again and arrange you discover some other parts of our gifted nature and the History. This season that will last till April would be ideal for Whale and Dolphin watching

Sending you great vibes and Blessings

Sat Nam
Neil D'Silva
DBR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Experience the beauty and tranquility. Silence of the jungle,wind which touches you, clicking of the sea creatures in the water, Stylishly build villas- All this make you fell as if you are out of this world. .

Room Tip: almost everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roshini n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil D, Owner at Dutch Bay Resorts, responded to this review, 27 October 2014
Dear Mrs. Roshini and family

Thank you for giving us a few days away from your busy life in the city. It was a great pleasure that we met you on Dutch Bay Island. I was touched by the beautiful review and thank you for initiating your genuine expression on our gifted nature and the "Small Luxury Hotel"

Please visit us soon and feel free to ring me directly

Thank you for contributing to our Socio friendly profit module in a cut out world full of rich bio diversity. Your review continue to bring Blessed Souls to our property.

Blessings to you and the family and we wish to see you soon

Neil D'Silva
DBR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalpitiya hotels
10.3 mi away
Elements Watersports & Nature Resort
3.0 mi away
Kalpitiya Resort by Ceylon Wings
16.3 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#1 of 29 in Kalpitiya
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Palagama Beach
Palagama Beach
#3 of 29 in Kalpitiya
290 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kitesurfing Lanka
Kitesurfing Lanka
#1 of 53 in Kalpitiya
368 reviews
16.2 mi away
Roshanne Beach Resort
Roshanne Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Kalpitiya
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dutch Bay Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dutch Bay Resorts

Property: Dutch Bay Resorts
Address: Dutch Bay Island | Dutch Bay Island, Kalpitiya 61360, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Western Province > Kalpitiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kalpitiya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hideaway destination is built on the historical Dutch Bay Island surrounded by its unique rich bio diversity (underwater and forest sanctuary) well recognized for Whales, Dolphins and the nature park "Wilpattu." There are 16 signature mangrove chalets, fully furnished with customized 5 star amenities to include free wi-fi, 24/7 butler service, same day laundry service, 24/7 Duty Manager, 24/7 housekeeping and front desk and maintenance, common pool and beach access.25 Minutes to Wilpattu safari park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Dutch Bay Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dutch Bay Resorts Sri Lanka/Kalpitiya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing