We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Amrutash
Chennai (Madras), India

A calm and peaceful holiday

Review of Ruuk Village
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Mar 2015
My wife and I spent 3 days here with our 18-Mo daughter. We had an amazing time! Ruuk Village is a very peaceful place. It's surrounded by coconut trees. It borders a lovely calm lagoon. It is really as good as it looks in the pictures. We stayed in a cabana - it was clean and fuss-free. We had an amazing outdoor shower area that's open to the sky, complete with a coconut tree and some nice flowers.

The beach is a quick boat ride away and it's a breathtaking sight. The water is very clean and the beach is empty for miles. It was just us, the sand, the sea and the sun. Most of the time we were either lazing on the sand or on the hammocks in the resort or getting wet in the sea and the open shower.

The staff makes amazing Sri Lankan food - rice and curry. At nights, one can enjoy the starry sky in the silence, or enjoy the food with some laughter.

On day 2, we went dolphin watching. It was incredible. We saw hundreds of dolphins swimming in the sea. They were jumping, somersaulting in the air, and playing in the water. They were beautiful to watch.

On day 3, we went to Wilpattu national park. In the jungle, we spotted lots of birds, a few crocodiles, an elephant, a few monitor lizards, a wild cat, several peacocks and a few wild hen.

We came here to escape from our busy lives - and we found exactly what we wanted. Here's what we liked -
(1) A clean and empty beach, with a lovely sunset
(2) A calm and peaceful environment
(3) A clear sky and silence
(4) Some good food and warm friendly service
(5) Great company (other guests)
(6) An eco-adventure

When we were at the resort, the winds were too slow for kite-surfing. We also skipped snorkelling since it's not baby-friendly at all.

We were a little worried initially about how the baby will like the place. She loved it! The staff were kind enough to provide food that she could eat.
Date of stay: March 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Kitesurfing lesson srilanka
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £46
  • eDreams
1.5 miles from Ruuk Village
Free parking
Restaurant
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.0 miles from Ruuk Village
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
8.5 miles from Ruuk Village
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £54
  • Booking.com
3.0 miles from Ruuk Village
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £63
  • Booking.com
1.5 miles from Ruuk Village
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Expedia.com
13.8 miles from Ruuk Village
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
14.5 miles from Ruuk Village
Free parking
Beachfront
Tripadvisor
£36
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
8.1 miles from Ruuk Village
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kalpitiya
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
179
24
10
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
179
24
10
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sri lanka natural materials staff was very friendly and helpful calm place fresh food recommend this place kitesurfing nature lagoon huts cooks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2015

I've stayed 5 days in Kalpitiya with my boyfriend and it was one of the nicest spots of our 3.5 weeks journey. The food was amazing, the cabanas were simple but nice, open air showers just wonderful. This space has a special vibe and you can feel the peace. Daniel who did the kitecurse was such a great guy and we had a really good time (+ we were riding the kites on day 4). We had wind every day (around 10.1.2015) and finally took the awesome Bulli back to Colombo. Later on our journey we spend one night in Roshans Bulli-Caravan in Hikkaduwa - this was also a memorable stay what i always dreamed about! Thanks for these great places in Sri Lanka - i can recommend both with 100%

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PhilippHentsche... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2015

Me and my girlfriend stayed here during the last days of December 2014. We liked it so much that we decided to stay up until New Year's, extending our stay up to 5 nights in total. We did windsurfing for two days which was really great. From the place there is a boat service which will bring you anywhere around the lagoon. The surroundings of the lagoon are just stunning...
The cabanas of Ruuk village are very stylish and relaxed, and we liked it that we could share dinner with all the other guests around one big table. In this way we easily got in contact with other guests. There are a couple 'chillcorners' with hammocks and couches.
The food was really good, we had breakfast and dinner everyday, and they made sure it was a variety of food (unlike many guesthouses in Sri Sanka where breakfast tends to be identical every morning). So all in all, if you want to getaway from everything and relax this is a really nice place to stay.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Niels T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 February 2015

After crossing the beautiful island of Sri Lanka, this was a great place to come home to. Planned to stay for just two days, but quickly expanded our stay when we realized where we were. Only the trip getting there is worth it already, the deserted road from Puttalam to Kalpitiya by threewheel and the boat to Ruuk village was quite the experience. As we are windsurfers, we rented equipment (since we didn't bring any) from the nearby windsurf resort, which is far from as nice as this one.

The set-up of a big family table in the midst of Ruuk Village makes it easy to connect with other guests (if you're up for it), but you can also sit at your own porch for some time alone. Staff is super friendly and welcoming, we had a great NY's eve together! No better way to start a new beginning than at Ruuk village. The accommodation is 'basic' in a good way, well constructed and decorated and you don't need more than it is anyway. Showering with a beautiful sunrise, what more can you wish for!

I'd reccomend this place to anyone, as long as they leave space for me to come back :)

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MarijSwinkels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 February 2015

With so many tourists trailing the Sri Lankan package it is great and refreshing to find Ruuk Village.
Run entirely by Sri Lankans, the place is frequented by independent travellers, who embrace the simplicity of living amongst nature. Having said that, there is plenty of comfort, good quality beds, delicious food cooked by local women with fresh fish which they catch just on the shore in front of the cabanas, stacks of fresh fruit and yummy curries. Dining is a social affair, everybody eats together at one long table, and at least three or four nationalities are present at anyone time making for good conversations.We we older by years, but don't let that put you off, you can still learn to kite surf , (it is one of the best place for kite surfing) go for walks, visit the village, paddle on the lagoon and see local fisherman standing in a long row pulling the nets from the sea. Dolphin watching is also an amazing experience. You can laze about in a hammock and read, or shower under the stars. A greta place to relax before or after the cultural triangle.

Room tip: Double rooms have "ensuite bathroom" under the stars! Best ever shower experience
Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tomw233
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2015

We stayed a week in January 2015.
Being a vegan/vegetarian family, having dinner at hotels can sometimes be a challenge, but the staff at Ruuk made us amazing home made Sri Lankan food everyday, lot's of curry and rice, we loved it. The place is really social, with a large communal table for eating and hanging out. The place is mainly for kite surfers, but was great for our family as well, we took the dolphin trip, where we were so lucky to spot giant seaturtles, a whale and lot's of dolphins. We did also spend a lot of time at the beach, which is a sand bank between the lagoon and the indian ocean, there you can choose between the calm and warm lagoon, and the wavy ocean. Locals communities fish at this spot, so you can watch how 30+ people, women, men and children of all ages, help to get the catch of the day.
I have been traveling around most of Asia and South America, and always trying to find sustainable guesthouses/hotels, but this place I most say, has one of the nicest bathrooms I have ever seen, with banana trees and open air shower, you cab actually get a tan while showering;) love that.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews