We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Lizelle van Tonder

Our Favourite place in Sri Lanka. Paradise!

Review of Ruuk Village
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Jun 2018via mobile
Wow, where do I start? Firstly, the location is awesome. Right on the lagoon and a 5min boat ride to the kite surfing spot. Coconut trees are everywhere and the surroundings are very untouched.

Secondly the people were brilliant. The staff were so friendly and really cared about our needs. They were also super flexible and tried to accomodate us in every way they could.

The grounds were also very cool. Very authentic and quirky, we didnt really find anything else in Sri Lanka quite like it.  Also they really focus on being sustainable as much as possible but manage to not let you lose any luxury. The wifi was good and the Cabanas were very pretty and clean as well. Each one had its own private outdoor shower.

The food was exceptional. The best we had in Sri Lanka! So generous, wholesome and delicious! I learned alot of the culture through their food here.

The kite surfing was also amazing! The wind was consistant everyday. I did a beginner course and my boyfriend did a refresher. The instructors were brilliant and super patient with us. We were up and riding on our second and third days already. I definetly didnt think we'd be able to pick it up so quickly. Even if you  are not doing a course they watch out for you and will rescue you if necessary. Nice to know, especially if your starting out.

They also offer massages, morning yoga and have cool chill spots to read and relax.

I highly recommend this place. I promise you'll leave with a full tummy and heavy heart.
Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
3.4 miles from Ruuk Village
Free parking
Breakfast included
Kitesurfing lesson srilanka
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.5 miles from Ruuk Village
Free parking
Restaurant
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.0 miles from Ruuk Village
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
8.5 miles from Ruuk Village
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £53
  • Priceline
3.0 miles from Ruuk Village
Free Wifi
Free parking
Sunset from the room
Tripadvisor
£74
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.1 miles from Ruuk Village
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
13.8 miles from Ruuk Village
Free parking
Pool
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
14.5 miles from Ruuk Village
Free parking
Beachfront
Tripadvisor
£206
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £206
3.5 miles from Ruuk Village
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kalpitiya
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
179
24
10
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
179
24
10
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sri lanka natural materials staff was very friendly and helpful calm place fresh food recommend this place kitesurfing nature lagoon huts cooks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

My stay at Ruuk has been brilliant. The right mix of chilled and action packed.

The staff are wonderful and extremely helpful! Suggest asking their advise on where to visit and they’ll happily arrange for you. The trip to Wilpattu National Park is a must - leopards & elephants.

They have a massage hut right on the water front. Definitely book one in with Waruni, it was very relaxing and needed after a day on the water kite surfing.

Breakfast, lunch and dinner were all prepared and delicious! Traditional meals from Sri Lanka.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank sjritchie2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 May 2018

French couple from Reunion Island we spent a week at the Ruuk Village from 05th to 12th of May. It was a real pleasure, we were very well welcomed by Gamage and his team. The food was delicious (and fire cooked!) and diversified, the place is beautiful and perfect to "disconnect" from our daily life.
We brought our own kite gear there. Unfortunately we didn't have good wind to kite everyday (start of the season is mid of May, not early May), but it was enough to do the daily trip to Vellai Island, which we highly recommend, a must! The place organizes daily trips to visit the surrounding areas.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lucile P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RuukVillage, Public Relations Manager at Ruuk Village, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you loads for this lovely note. The team will be thrilled to read this details.
We hope you come to visit us during the peak season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

We spent some time at ruuk village to mainly go kitesurfing. The kite school and kite instructor are amazing. Additionally we enjoyed Sri lankan cuisine in the traditional way cooked over an open fire. The service was great and the staff really cares about you. Especially the day trips are highly recommend. All in all an excellent experience.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank j0shua2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

Ruuk Village is a best hotel In Sri Lanka. It has a very good hotel and its beautiful nature. It's a good tourist hotel. Having Sri Lankan cultural foods & beverages. Therefore, I recommend this hotel as a very good hotel.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Nuwan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RuukVillage, Public Relations Manager at Ruuk Village, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you so much for your review. shall share this detail with the team
Wishing you all the best.
Ruuk Village Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

I had visited this hotel and actully its unfortunately experience for my life.i had enjoyed much.and also the environment is very buatiful.i recommend to go and enjoy with ur life. Awesome place love it.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ayeshnirmal77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RuukVillage, Public Relations Manager at Ruuk Village, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you so much for your review. shall share this detail with the team
Wishing you all the best.
Ruuk Village Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews