We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Lakdeepanie Peiris

For a second, I thought I was in the Maldives.

Review of Ruuk Village
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Mar 2021via mobile
Stepping into a world of pristine and well-preserved natural beauty, we spent the last two nights at Ruuk Village and we couldn’t be happier about our weekend retreat 😍
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
Taking in the warm sea breeze sweeping across the lagoon, it's a place where you will discover yourself surrounded by breathtaking tropical views, and find serenity during your stay. The resort itself is spread across a whopping 9000 sqm of unsoiled land on the peninsula of Kalpitiya, providing wanderlusting travelers the perfect blend of tranquility and privacy.

One of my favorite spots was the pier, extruding into the lagoon, with its exquisite 180 degree views of the landscape - especially the magnificent sunsets that are beyond picturesque. And if you're an adventurous spirit, you would not want to miss out on the kite-surfing! 😍
Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roshan De Silva, Owner at Ruuk Village, responded to this review
Responded 23 Jan 2022
Thank you for visiting us and staying with us. Appreciate your stay. We hope you will visit us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£235
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
8.5 miles from Ruuk Village
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
£207
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £207
3.5 miles from Ruuk Village
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£57
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
8.1 miles from Ruuk Village
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£30
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
1.8 miles from Ruuk Village
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
3.4 miles from Ruuk Village
Free parking
Breakfast included
Kitesurfing lesson srilanka
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
1.5 miles from Ruuk Village
Free parking
Restaurant
Sunset from the room
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £79
  • Hotels.com
1.1 miles from Ruuk Village
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £53
  • Priceline
3.0 miles from Ruuk Village
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
14.5 miles from Ruuk Village
Free parking
Beachfront
View more hotels in Kalpitiya
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
179
24
10
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
179
24
10
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sri lanka natural materials staff was very friendly and helpful calm place fresh food recommend this place kitesurfing nature lagoon huts cooks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2021

We really enjoyed da place.. place located in front of the lagoon n it’s soooo relaxing.. kids have space to run around..very romantic in da night.. would be ideal for couples..gihan and others who worked there was very friendly and welcoming.. n the food was tasty too..I would love to come back..

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 341deej
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 March 2020

First thing to mention is the service and the generally friendly and welcoming atmosphere. Abdul could not have done more for us, nor could he have been more accommodating. Big thanks go to him and the others too.

The place itself is fairly basic, but you can see that someone has worked hard to create a very chilled and relaxed vibe here. We had no complaints at all about our room, which was pretty spacious, clean and in good condition.

We took breakfast and lunch at Ruuk and we were more than satisfied. All healthy, fresh and tasty.

Since we were there for the Luna festival, we didn't spend much time at Ruuk during the day but i can see how it would be easy to pass a week there just reading and relaxing if you're not kiteboarding. As said, really relaxed place. I live in SL and would have no problem staying there again. Recommended.

Date of stay: March 2020
1  Thank matahari21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2020

My boyfriend and I have spent more than two weeks at Ruuk Village and we couldn't be more happier!

When we arrived late at night, they helped getting our stuff to our cabana, explained a bit but we could do the check-in the next morning. This already gave a feeling of "no stress and relax".

We didn't see much of the surroundings that night, but waking up in a nice ensuite cabana with all the palmtrees and the animal noises was a perfect start of the vacation.

Later at the lobby we were welcomed by Abdul, the greatest host ever! He explained everything about Ruuk Village and if you needed something or wanted to do an excursion, he was the man to talk to.
He was also always in for a joke, there were no dull moments with him 😁

In the kitchen preparing our food (breakfast, lunch and dinner) was miss Rani, the best cook ever! She made all kinds of Sri Lankan/Indian food and it was delicious! There was not one thing that we did not like and she even taught us how to make energy balls.

The other people working there were also so friendly they all made our stay wonderful! There wasn't one time that we felt uncomfortable.

Concerning the surroundings, Kalpitiya isn't a busy town but you can do a few excursions that are not too far away.
We even took the sups across the lagoon and went looking for oysters!

The great thing about Kalpitiya, is that it's very authentic. Everyone is super friendly, helpful and they all say "hi".

Overall we had a great experience visiting Sri Lanka and Ruuk Village for the first time!
We didn't need electricity the whole day and warm water wasn't necessary. . These are the privileges that we are used to, but didn't miss for one bit.

A big thank you to the whole team who made our stay so much fun!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ashleydw94
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 January 2020 via mobile

Ruuk village is a nice and very relaxed place away from mass tourism.

Accomodation:
The bungalows are simple but nice and functional with a hammock outside. There is no hot shower but you dont need one. The water is also not cold and in the night you can shower under the stars, since there is an outside bathroom.
A mosquito net around the bed is also provided.

The food is great. You don't have a menue to choose from but the two ladies in the kitchen prepare different types of breakfast, lunch and dinner every single day. So there is a great variety of freshly made food and once a week is pizza night in their own pizza oven. On request you can also have fresh juices or shakes.

There is no real beach to swim directly at the resort. You will have to go with the boat that transportes the kitesurfers to the kitesurf spot.
Be carefull when you step on the wooden structures like the yoga deck or the Jetty, they are not too strong.

Kitesurfing:
If you go there for Kitesurfing and you bring your own gear, thats perfect.
They don't have a lot of rental equipment. The biggest kite is 15 m2 and there is only one, but I have been to other Kite-centers and they usually don't have a lot of big kites as well. Especially when it is normally an area with stronger wind.
On request the manager organized some more kites (17m2 and 14 m2) from the kitecenter next door.
Kiteboards are Crazyfly boards (ok but not great).

You will be transportet to a kitebeach by boat. U can store the gear u don´t immediately need in a little hut there.
When I was there we had low wind for over a week. With 80 kg you would have needed a 15 m2 or bigger kite. The lagoon is in most parts deep enough for a foil as a low wind option.

It might be difficult to find booties in your size, better bring your own because there a nasty shells sometimes.

They offer a great downwinder.
The Kite Instructor that was there during our stay made a good impression.

The staff is alltogether really nice. Abdul (and his assistant) organized a lot for us and he was always there to answer our questions.

He also organized the following trip for us:
When we left, we went with a boat at sunrise to the Wilpattu national park and crossed it with a safari jeep. It was not cheap but a great way to see the park, and to go on with our trip.

Conclusion: I recommend ruuk village, if your there for kitesurfing and you have your own gear and/or you would like to chill and have a good time. Its not the perfect place for a beach holiday.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bufubufo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 August 2019 via mobile

Continuous smiles, exceeding expectations, and a genuine appreciation for guests is how I experienced Ruuk Village. The location, gardens, and wildlife are gorgeous. Then add a hammock and a king coconut drink to the mix...perfection. I enjoyed getting to know the team; Abdul, Veejay, Shehan, Rani and Ruchira (and the younger guys who support).
All our wishes were granted and at times I felt like a part of their community-at home. Outstanding for kitesurfing. Wow...kitesurfing the lagoon after the healthy breakfast minutes from the cabana; epic. The best part was that Ruuk Village really is eco-conscious. The Tourism sector and Sri Lanka need more Ruuk Villages. Big kudos to the founders, Roshan and Thileeban. I HIGHLY recommend Ruuk Village.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Allocentrictraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews