We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Lol.travel
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Vivi

Relax in Ruuk Village

Review of Ruuk Village
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Jan 2022via mobile
We enjoyed our stay a Ruuk Village. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and cozy (we had our own hammock). The sunset here was a unique expierence. We would recommend this place for everyone who wants to relax and calm down.
Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roshan De Silva, Owner at Ruuk Village, responded to this review
Responded 23 Jan 2022
Thank you Vivian for your stay with us. Hope to see you again for kitesurfing in Kalpitiya
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
3.4 miles from Ruuk Village
Free parking
Breakfast included
Kitesurfing lesson srilanka
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • eDreams
1.5 miles from Ruuk Village
Free parking
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
8.5 miles from Ruuk Village
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
1.0 miles from Ruuk Village
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
0.7 miles from Ruuk Village
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
3.7 miles from Ruuk Village
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
13.8 miles from Ruuk Village
Free parking
Pool
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
14.5 miles from Ruuk Village
Free parking
Beachfront
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
17.2 miles from Ruuk Village
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Kalpitiya
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
179
24
10
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
179
24
10
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sri lanka natural materials staff was very friendly and helpful calm place fresh food recommend this place kitesurfing nature lagoon huts cooks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2021 via mobile

We stayed at Ruuk Village for 3 Nights in a Cabana named as Jaffna. They have beautiful Cabanas amidst the resort. The place is beautiful with staff who’s gonna be extra cautious to get you everything you need. Gama Anthony + 1 were great at their service and smiles. They were epitome for the tagline land of beautiful smiles that Sri Lanka has. Although i am frugal and was traveling on a hardcore budget but Couldn’t resist to give them small tip because of their efforts. With the blink of an eye any service needed shall be fulfilled. If you’re looking for Solidarity and peace along with beautiful Kitesurfing, clean beach experience, ruuk Village has got you covered. With Pictures you might feel like it’s Maldives but not Sri Lanka

That being said, let’s talk about cons.
* Accesibility issues - In order to reach heaven you gotta pass through Hell. In order to reach ruuk you gotta walk 200metres with all your luggage or whenever you need to commute for anything esle.
* Electricity Issues- a) Since it’s based on solar power wifi won’t be available post 6PM but network is decent enough if you have mobile data. b) Sometimes in the night electricity might go which is brutal and tiring if you’ve had a long day.
* Breakfast is Decently Good but I’m definitely not a fan of the night meal that was served to me.

Overall - You’ll be missing something amazing if you don’t visit Ruuk Village, Kalpitiya in your vacation trip to Sri Lanka.

Over and out! Happy Traveling

Room tip: If you are traveling on your own to kalpitiya , make sure to contact the team prior to organize a time slot to pick your luggage up for 200m
Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank kbiiir
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roshan De Silva, Owner at Ruuk Village, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2022

Thank you very much for your stay with us and also the captures you did for us. Appreciate your review of us. And the constructive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2021 via mobile

Stepping into a world of pristine and well-preserved natural beauty, we spent the last two nights at Ruuk Village and we couldn’t be happier about our weekend retreat 😍
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
Taking in the warm sea breeze sweeping across the lagoon, it's a place where you will discover yourself surrounded by breathtaking tropical views, and find serenity during your stay. The resort itself is spread across a whopping 9000 sqm of unsoiled land on the peninsula of Kalpitiya, providing wanderlusting travelers the perfect blend of tranquility and privacy.

One of my favorite spots was the pier, extruding into the lagoon, with its exquisite 180 degree views of the landscape - especially the magnificent sunsets that are beyond picturesque. And if you're an adventurous spirit, you would not want to miss out on the kite-surfing! 😍

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Lakdeepanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roshan De Silva, Owner at Ruuk Village, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2022

Thank you for visiting us and staying with us. Appreciate your stay. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2021

We really enjoyed da place.. place located in front of the lagoon n it’s soooo relaxing.. kids have space to run around..very romantic in da night.. would be ideal for couples..gihan and others who worked there was very friendly and welcoming.. n the food was tasty too..I would love to come back..

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 341deej
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 March 2020

First thing to mention is the service and the generally friendly and welcoming atmosphere. Abdul could not have done more for us, nor could he have been more accommodating. Big thanks go to him and the others too.

The place itself is fairly basic, but you can see that someone has worked hard to create a very chilled and relaxed vibe here. We had no complaints at all about our room, which was pretty spacious, clean and in good condition.

We took breakfast and lunch at Ruuk and we were more than satisfied. All healthy, fresh and tasty.

Since we were there for the Luna festival, we didn't spend much time at Ruuk during the day but i can see how it would be easy to pass a week there just reading and relaxing if you're not kiteboarding. As said, really relaxed place. I live in SL and would have no problem staying there again. Recommended.

Date of stay: March 2020
1  Thank matahari21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2020

My boyfriend and I have spent more than two weeks at Ruuk Village and we couldn't be more happier!

When we arrived late at night, they helped getting our stuff to our cabana, explained a bit but we could do the check-in the next morning. This already gave a feeling of "no stress and relax".

We didn't see much of the surroundings that night, but waking up in a nice ensuite cabana with all the palmtrees and the animal noises was a perfect start of the vacation.

Later at the lobby we were welcomed by Abdul, the greatest host ever! He explained everything about Ruuk Village and if you needed something or wanted to do an excursion, he was the man to talk to.
He was also always in for a joke, there were no dull moments with him 😁

In the kitchen preparing our food (breakfast, lunch and dinner) was miss Rani, the best cook ever! She made all kinds of Sri Lankan/Indian food and it was delicious! There was not one thing that we did not like and she even taught us how to make energy balls.

The other people working there were also so friendly they all made our stay wonderful! There wasn't one time that we felt uncomfortable.

Concerning the surroundings, Kalpitiya isn't a busy town but you can do a few excursions that are not too far away.
We even took the sups across the lagoon and went looking for oysters!

The great thing about Kalpitiya, is that it's very authentic. Everyone is super friendly, helpful and they all say "hi".

Overall we had a great experience visiting Sri Lanka and Ruuk Village for the first time!
We didn't need electricity the whole day and warm water wasn't necessary. . These are the privileges that we are used to, but didn't miss for one bit.

A big thank you to the whole team who made our stay so much fun!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ashleydw94
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews