We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
179
24
10
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
179
24
10
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sri lanka natural materials staff was very friendly and helpful calm place fresh food recommend this place kitesurfing nature lagoon huts cooks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2022 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay a Ruuk Village. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and cozy (we had our own hammock). The sunset here was a unique expierence. We would recommend this place for everyone who wants to relax and calm down.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank vivianezeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roshan De Silva, Owner at Ruuk Village, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2022

Thank you Vivian for your stay with us. Hope to see you again for kitesurfing in Kalpitiya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2021 via mobile

We stayed at Ruuk Village for 3 Nights in a Cabana named as Jaffna. They have beautiful Cabanas amidst the resort. The place is beautiful with staff who’s gonna be extra cautious to get you everything you need. Gama Anthony + 1 were great at their service and smiles. They were epitome for the tagline land of beautiful smiles that Sri Lanka has. Although i am frugal and was traveling on a hardcore budget but Couldn’t resist to give them small tip because of their efforts. With the blink of an eye any service needed shall be fulfilled. If you’re looking for Solidarity and peace along with beautiful Kitesurfing, clean beach experience, ruuk Village has got you covered. With Pictures you might feel like it’s Maldives but not Sri Lanka

That being said, let’s talk about cons.
* Accesibility issues - In order to reach heaven you gotta pass through Hell. In order to reach ruuk you gotta walk 200metres with all your luggage or whenever you need to commute for anything esle.
* Electricity Issues- a) Since it’s based on solar power wifi won’t be available post 6PM but network is decent enough if you have mobile data. b) Sometimes in the night electricity might go which is brutal and tiring if you’ve had a long day.
* Breakfast is Decently Good but I’m definitely not a fan of the night meal that was served to me.

Overall - You’ll be missing something amazing if you don’t visit Ruuk Village, Kalpitiya in your vacation trip to Sri Lanka.

Over and out! Happy Traveling

Room tip: If you are traveling on your own to kalpitiya , make sure to contact the team prior to organize a time slot to pick your luggage up for 200m
Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank kbiiir
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roshan De Silva, Owner at Ruuk Village, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2022

Thank you very much for your stay with us and also the captures you did for us. Appreciate your review of us. And the constructive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2021 via mobile

Stepping into a world of pristine and well-preserved natural beauty, we spent the last two nights at Ruuk Village and we couldn’t be happier about our weekend retreat 😍
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
Taking in the warm sea breeze sweeping across the lagoon, it's a place where you will discover yourself surrounded by breathtaking tropical views, and find serenity during your stay. The resort itself is spread across a whopping 9000 sqm of unsoiled land on the peninsula of Kalpitiya, providing wanderlusting travelers the perfect blend of tranquility and privacy.

One of my favorite spots was the pier, extruding into the lagoon, with its exquisite 180 degree views of the landscape - especially the magnificent sunsets that are beyond picturesque. And if you're an adventurous spirit, you would not want to miss out on the kite-surfing! 😍

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Lakdeepanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roshan De Silva, Owner at Ruuk Village, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2022

Thank you for visiting us and staying with us. Appreciate your stay. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2021

We really enjoyed da place.. place located in front of the lagoon n it’s soooo relaxing.. kids have space to run around..very romantic in da night.. would be ideal for couples..gihan and others who worked there was very friendly and welcoming.. n the food was tasty too..I would love to come back..

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 341deej
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 March 2020

First thing to mention is the service and the generally friendly and welcoming atmosphere. Abdul could not have done more for us, nor could he have been more accommodating. Big thanks go to him and the others too.

The place itself is fairly basic, but you can see that someone has worked hard to create a very chilled and relaxed vibe here. We had no complaints at all about our room, which was pretty spacious, clean and in good condition.

We took breakfast and lunch at Ruuk and we were more than satisfied. All healthy, fresh and tasty.

Since we were there for the Luna festival, we didn't spend much time at Ruuk during the day but i can see how it would be easy to pass a week there just reading and relaxing if you're not kiteboarding. As said, really relaxed place. I live in SL and would have no problem staying there again. Recommended.

Date of stay: March 2020
1  Thank matahari21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews