We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It definitely worths 20+km driving uphill!”
Review of Le Logge

Le Logge
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Smerillo
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Milano
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“It definitely worths 20+km driving uphill!”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Dinner for 2, light appetizer (pancetta con quaglia, ceci tartufo), grilled lamb chops, salads, cakes, coffee, liquors, 1/2 lcal wine all for 38euro in a lovely place, top hill, sightseeing, kind people, efficient service. I was not convinced of a long travel, uphill, narrow roads, and i was wrong, next time I marked this place in my agenda, it's highly recommended if you like local food.

By the way, sitting close there was a group of people having pasta, tagliatelle, we chatted about and we had no room but next time is definitely a must.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lodumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    34
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Italian Dinner”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We were searching all over Italy for a traditional Italian 5 course Dinner, Le Logge offers exactly that. This family run restaurant is nestled in a charming hilltop town of Smerillo. The restaurant offers indoor and outdoor seating with a beautiful view of the valleys below and not to mention the sunset. The restaurant has a small menu but non the less comprehensive. Be sure to order one of each course, come with an empty stomach and lots of time. Start with the full antipasti ( one serving of each appetizers - good to share for two). The dishes are served family style and in large portions. This was great for sharing. Everything was delicious. We finished the meal with dessert and of course we were spoiled with biscotti, aged wine, and liqueur in chocolate shot glass. The servers (the daughter) and the chef ( the mother) were absolutely fantastic. We can not thank them enough for the wonderful dinner. I highly recommend this restaurant to those of you looking to experience that authentic Italian meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ch3Ls3a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Better with a group”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We went to the restaurant for Sunday lunch as a group of 8 on a recommendation from two members of the group. How right they were; this wonderful restaurant is perched on the side of small mountain(!) in the hamlet/village/commune of Smerillo. From the belvedere alongside the, small, car park and also from inside the restaurant there are panoramic views of the Sibelinni and the Adriatic - a perfect setting for any sort of meal. The restaurant was full, both inside and out, with Italian familes enjoying the day. We were shown to a table inside but in a large window. There were two large Italian families inside and although the children in the groups were noisy and continually ran in and out of the restaurant, it all added to the generally slightly chaotic air of the sort of Italian restaurants my dearly beloved and I like. Our group contained 1 piscaterian and another on a restricted diet but the cheerfully efficient manager managed to understand our Italian and suggested dishes to suit all tastes. We were slightly taken aback when the anti-pasti arrived as it just kept coming - huge portions. The primi and secondi piatti were of equally large portions but, in true Brit style, we managed not to waste a thing. Following a 2 and half hour luch, three bottles of very good local wines (2 white and 1 red), deserts and (free) coffee and liquers the bill arrived and we were amazed at small the total was. Anne and I queried the bill with our (still) cheerful manager to make sure it was correct. and after another liquer, we all paid the princely sum of eu27 each. You can't get much better value than that. If you are in Le Marche and not in Ancona or on the coast at all, try and find Smerillo and try this wonderful restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinnelon, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great food, wonderful location”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Le Logge was recommended to us by the owners of a house near Amandola that we stayed in. We were not disappointed. Smerillo itself is worth a drive up to and a walk around in. It's a small hamlet high atop a hill, with views all around - from the Sibelinni mountains to the Adriatic.
Le Logge itself is set at the edge of the village and from our table we had a wonderful view as well (not all tables have a view).
We had planned for a long, leisurely lunch so we could enjoy the full 4-course meal. The varied antipasto included a selection of local salumi and prosciuttos; a delicious dish of chick peas and flageolets in a truffle, tomato and mushroom mixture; pancetta topped with quail egg; and a bruschetta with a wonderful sausage topping. The primi and secundo piatti included a ragu with boar's meat, and preparations of some dishes with truffles and fresh porcini mushrooms, all ingredients available only in the fall.
The restaurant has an extensive selecton of local wines from which to choose. After dessert we were served a local Vino Cotto, a sweet wine, along with a basket of delicious biscotti.
The service was excellent, the hostess very hepful in explaining dishes to us, and the cost of the meal very reasonable. All in all a memorable meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveltroel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food, friendly service, great location, & good value”
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Whilst on holiday in Montefalcone we visited Le Logge for a birthday celebration and enjoyed it so much that we went back again the following week. On the first occasion we could only manage 3 courses as the servings were so generous. For the second visit we were better prepared and ate all 4 courses plus trimmings.
We were suprised to get a total price per person (€24) instead of the usual fully itemised bill. This was great value as it included wine, water, coffee and other liquers.
We could not fault the quality and quantity of the food plus the friendly helpful nature of the staff. They could not do enough for us and even gave us some extra bottles of wine to take away. Then there is the view, just peer over the wall.....
This place is a must, book in advance to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Mick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Logge also viewed

Smerillo, Province of Fermo
Monte san Martino, Province of Macerata
 
Smerillo, Province of Fermo
Penna San Giovanni, Province of Macerata
 

Been to Le Logge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing