We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabintastic...”
Review of Sandymount House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandymount House
Ranked #1 of 1 Abbeyleix B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“Cabintastic...”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

So I stayed here on two consecutive weekends in August. On the first occasion I stayed in the main house and the room was clean, bed comfortable and the breakfast in the morning first class. Many a 5 star hotel would fail to deliver such a quality b'fast. Avril and Robyn made me extremely welcome and it felt very much like home. On the 2nd weekend I was given the option of the Cabin which is away from the main house. This was superb and I was happy to go down and collect my breakfast in the morning as I was keen to stay in the Cabin. It was clean, very warm and we had an amazing thunderstorm that night which really rattled trough the cabin which added to the excitement! Avril and Robyn are an incredible team. Good chats, great shortbread:) and fantastic hosts. If you are staying within 15k of Abbeyleix then there is frankly nowhere else of this standard. I checked out the Manor Hotel and the stench of boiled potatoes and cabbage was enough to make me walk straight out the door!!!! Local places to visit include Morrisseys (one of the oldest pubs in Ireland), Mac's for good food, Bramleys or Gallic Kitchen for coffee and lunch. One small gem just opened is Preston House. Danny is amazing and the food he puts out is frankly outstanding for this part of Ireland.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller7303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
34
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Turned up, with friends on 2 motorcycles, to stay one night as it was on our journey home from Skibbereen near Cork to Dun Laoghaire. We were given a very warm welcome from Avril and Robyn. After we were taken to our rooms, which are lovely and kept to a high standard, the house was symapathetically decorated and furnished to the era of when it was built, beautiful. Once we settled in, went down to the kitchen, to have tea/coffee and homemade cakes, this indeed gave it the personal touch, chatting as if we were old friends. Nothing was too much trouble. There was plenty of choice for breakfast. I can not praise them enough, if ever we are in the area and need a B & B, wouldnt hesitate to contact them again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North west
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Sandymount is possibly the best Band B we have ever stayed in. In fact it beats some hotels. Avril and Robyn welcomed us as though we were part of the family with tea and cake when we arrived. The rooms were splendid and beautifully furnished. They phoned to book us dinner in a local restaurant which was really helpful. Breakfast was lovely with Avril's home made muesli and marmalade and a full Irish that kept us going all day! Could not recommend this place more highly. If ever driving from Dublin to Cork it is well worth a stop.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queenie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, ohio
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Avril and Robyn were perfect hosts. The house is beautiful. The gardens were lovely. The dog and horses were very cordial. Couldn't recommend it more highly. Susan & Dick Bringardner

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2012

This B&B is first rate would go back anytime when showing in this area, it would be my first choice each and every time
Loved it

Room Tip: No pool no fitness centre so cannot mark these but all other aspects of Sandymount are first rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Simply the best B&B I have ever stayed in.
Attention to detail is their strong point. Nothing is left to chance. This is a refurbished property that has all modern conveniences without detracting from the character.
Internet piped to the room, and the powerfullest shower ever. Not to mention free coffee and excellent home baking.
Also the location is perfect for touring the neighborhood counties of Carlow, Kilkenny, Offaly etc even if Laois itself isn't famous as a holiday destination, as a base it is ideal.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Hi, we stayed fir o e night but we felt like we were family. Both owners gave us all the help we needed, made us feel so welcome and I can't wait to come back.
We stayed with our niece and nephew in September 2011 and hope to be back in 3 years.

Room Tip: Have no concerns and don't bother with the others in the town, this is the best we looked
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettboop2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abbeyleix
0.0 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ashbrook Arms Restaurant and Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandymount House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandymount House

Property: Sandymount House
Address: Oldtown, Abbeyleix, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Abbeyleix
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Abbeyleix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandymount House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing