We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant B&B”
Review of Sandymount House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandymount House
Ranked #1 of 1 Abbeyleix B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is the best B&B we have ever stayed in. Avril and Robin were so friendly and welcoming making us tea with homemade scones and biscuits upon arrival. The rooms were beautiful, furnished to a very high standard with amazing power showers! They also have two gorgeous dogs that were so friendly. We were attending a concert in Kilkenny and it was only about a 30 min journey to this B&B. If passing near this area or need somewhere to stay near Kilkenny I would highly recommend staying here. Fantastic value for money!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Monaghan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Sandymount House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

We have just spent a lovely night in this beautiful B&B. The house was in beautiful condition having been newly renovated a few years ago, with no expense spared. Everything extremely clean and a pleasure to visit. We think the most lovely B&B we have stayed in. The owners were very welcoming, with tea and homemade buns when we arrived, which were very much appreciated. The bed was so comfortable and the sheets and duvet were delightful! Our bedroom was lovely. The breakfast was all freshly made to order and was just lovely too. The sun shone and we had the best possible start to our two week tour in Ireland. Thank you so much to Avril and Robin. We would have no hesitation in recommending.

Room Tip: We loved room 3 but we could see into lots of the other rooms at times and they all looked just as l...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellis6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We travelled in Ireland for thirty days staying in B&B's as we went. The room we were offered in Sandymount was the worst over that thirty day period and we decided not to stay. The price for the room was the same as the other rooms - which we did not see.

During our trip, We stayed at b&b's that were a few kms off the main road but that often put us in a very nice location. Sandymount is a few miles from the small town of Abbeyleix but there is little on or around the Sandymount site.

Room Tip: We telephoned and were assured a certain kind of room. We arrived a half hour late. Other travelle...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
6  Thank suzannelongpre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We could not have chosen to stay anywhere as nice as Sandymount House , Robin and Avril
gave us a wonderful welcome, afternoon tea with super homemade scones and cakes.
The bedroom was lovely with a very comfortable bed and bedding.
Thank you both for all your help with directions , you made everything so easy and we hope to return with our friends for another stay
Wonderful hosts and we could have taken Billy with us had we not been going to the wedding !
We loved every minute in your amazing home, thank you very much.

Room Tip: We were in room number 3, all in all beautiful looking out at a lovely garden.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotsunlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I originally booked my stay for 2 nights at Sandymount but ended up staying 4! This was the most fantastic, comfortable stay I've ever experienced at a B&B. Avril, the owner, is a fine cook & baker -- super helpful and friendly. Just can't say enough good things about our stay.

Room Tip: Room #4 is a corner room with beautiful views of both the front gardens and back stables. Excellent.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We recently stayed at the Sandymount whilst attending a family wedding in Abbeyleix. What a treat! We really enjoyed out stay, Avril,Robin, Bobo and Billy are excellent hosts and the house is lovely. All in all, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We couldn't have been more impressed with Sandymount and our stay there recently. Avril and Robin are wonderful and hugely welcoming hosts who went far and away to make our stay memorable, they even helped with our wedding planning! Their house is lovely with a very classic finish to all the rooms, the breakfast was great and the location was perfect.

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone, and we will definately stay there again. We are looking forward to seeing Avril, Robin and their wonderful dogs Billy and Beau Beau again soon!

Thanks again

Matt and Candice

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spud1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abbeyleix
0.0 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
185 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ashbrook Arms Restaurant and Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
Ivyleigh House
Ivyleigh House
#1 of 6 in Portlaoise
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blackhill Woods Retreat
Blackhill Woods Retreat
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
2 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Sandymount House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandymount House

Address: Oldtown, Abbeyleix, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Abbeyleix
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Abbeyleix
Price Range: £86 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandymount House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing