We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Abbeyleix
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“never again”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

we had a family gathering in this hotel the end of november and i can say never ever again the place was freezing the bathrooms were like ice very dated no love or pride given to them we went for dinner and the bar man was the most ignorant i have ever ever met in my life he seemed to only want to look after the locals all in all he let the place down with his attitude we had spent alot of money with drinks rooms and dinners and he looked at us like we were nothing the younger girls in reception were smashing and a lady behind the bar was lovely gina i think her name was we had planned on doing another huge night here but after the way we were treated we decided not to ...................................................so they have lost out on a big gathering

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunloverstrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate I, Director of Sales at Abbeyleix Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Dear Sunloverstrap,
Thank you for taking the t
ime to review our hotel. I’m sorry that you found our bathrooms cold and I hope that you were able to mention it to a member of our team at the time. I am also sorry to read that you felt that some of our staff behaved rudely. I have passed on your comments to our Bar and Restaurant team and we always appreciate an opportunity to develop and improve our service, so thank you again for taking the time to write your review. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Many Thanks
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    46
    40
    24
    7
See reviews for
53
44
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
offaly
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here in the abbeyleix manor for one night. Our first impression of the hotel was good th reception area is well decorated and a nice area to sit and relax by the fire. The reception staff are very welcoming and friendly. Our room which was a double room was lovely, loved the bed and the decor, the room seemed to be very clean although there was someone elses clothes on the floor behind the chair which i didnt aprreciate. The room was lovely and warm and we enjoyed relaxing in there reading and wastching some tele. We had boked to dine in the restraunt which i found a little dissapointing as we were just sat in the bar with everyone else and it didnt seem as special, but when our food came out it more than made up for our dissapointment as it was amazing we loved everything we ordered and the staff were very friendly. The food was a definate value for money and id give it 10 out of 10. I wouldnt really complain about the hotel it was a bit cold in the bar area and there was no entertainment but other than that it wa ok. I wouldnt stay again for a night but i would definatley go back for a meal and highly reccomend them to anyone for food. Maybe a hotel for someone who is looking for a more quiet weekend than myself and my husband.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ange17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate I, Director of Sales at Abbeyleix Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Dear ange17,

Thank you for your review. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and I’m sorry to hear that you found someone else’s clothes in your room. I hope that you felt able to speak to a member of our team at the time. We really like to hear our guests’ comments, both positive and negative, so thanks again for the review.

Many Thanks
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

It you want to experience a 'real' burger eat at the Abbeyleix Manor Hotel - the food is great and there was plenty of it. The Rooms are comfortable although extremely warm. It was reasonably priced but for the price paid I would have expected breakfast to be included.

Room Tip: This was my first time staying here therefore I can not make any comparisons
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BandM513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate I, Director of Sales at Abbeyleix Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Dear BandM513,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we always appreciate feedback and I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed our Tower Burger. I hope that we get to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Many Thanks
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My wife and I flew from uk to attend a funeral. We needed 3 nights accommodation and booked the hotel online. We arrived early evening and checked in. As soon as we left the reception area it was like walking into a fridge. The hallways and stairs to the second floor had no heating but plenty of drafts.The room was basic and depressing and needed painting. Stains on the ceiling! Curtains not hung on the rings properly. No privacy from the houses at the back of the hotel. Quilt covering the bed was stained and looked as if it had never been changed. Lounge could have been warmer. Food average but overpriced. Breakfast good for two mornings when waitress service. Buffet breakfast at weekend poor. Would not recommend or stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regentshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate I, Director of Sales at Abbeyleix Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Dear Regentshill,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and I hope that you felt able to make your feelings known to a member of our team during your visit. We take all comments about our hotel seriously and I have past your review onto our Housekeeping department and onto our Kitchen and Restaurant teams as well. Thank you again for taking the time to review the hotel and I hope that you have a happier reason to return to the hotel and the area in the future.

Many Thanks
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Abbeyleix hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed just one night in the hotel and it's really a deal for the money. Though, this may not be the right choice for the more pretentious ones. The room was ok, clean and spacious enough but a little old, with minor cracks in the walls and only one blanket (no spare one, no warm duvet). Though, we had TV, wi-fi and a very good heater (to compensate for the missing duvet). But if there is a noisy neighbor you will hear him!

There was also one spider web in the corner of the restaurant, but the food was good and the rest looked fine.. I should not look in the corners anymore, isn't it ? :)

For one night stop is a wonderful option, especially considering the price. As someone said, it's more on the basic side.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piticutzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

My sister and I wanted a quick lunch and as the Abbey Manor was the closest restaurant to us, we decided it was our best option. The food was delicious and served piping hot. My sister had roast beef and veg and I had roast chicken and ham. The meat and vegetables were cooked to perfection, so much so that if we hadn't been pushed for time, we would have had second helpings. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly and we are looking forward to returning again in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erins-Isle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laois
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2012

went to christmas party night was out this world been in few times early on in the year but the food was out this world and only found out one the old chef was back about time the whole night was so good very good staff all round brill night def be in again

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jack b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abbeyleix
7.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
9.1 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
17.8 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
9.1 mi away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyleix Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyleix Manor Hotel

Property: Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Address: Cork Road, Abbeyleix, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Abbeyleix
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Abbeyleix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbeyleix Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a place which effortlessly blends the traditions of the past with the best of the new, where modern day pressures seem light years away. And yet there is so much to enjoy, the choice is endless. The Abbeyleix Manor Hotel has 42 bedrooms, a conference centre and a wedding/banqueting suite which can cater for groups of up to 300 people. Whether it's a business or a special occasion, we aim to please. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abbeyleix Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing