We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A troubled establishment in need of a keen new owner”
Review of Mirissa Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mirissa Beach Inn
Ranked #33 of 192 Mirissa B&B and Inns
Lochinver, NW Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A troubled establishment in need of a keen new owner”
Reviewed 11 April 2010

I had planned to stay a month and departed after 8 days when my deposit was consumed. The location is good, the grounds a little battered and bare but what upset me first was the lack of furniture in the $35 aircon rooms in the 3 storey block. Decent sized accommodation with effective aircon, decoration a little shabby but the furnishings were truly minimal. We were obliged to live out of our suitcases since there were no drawers, cupboards, hanging rails or wardrobes. Take some effective earplugs if you want to sleep because the busy coast road goes right past the door and it never lets up. I concur with many of the negative comments: Once the effusive welcome is over and the 'welcome' red carpet has been rolled up and put away you are left to free-run on your own, bins are not emptied, bedlinen/towels not changed, rooms not cleaned. This might be OK for a 2 night stay but not if booked in for longer. My spies tell me that the business is troubled in a number of ways and that the proprietor has lost all motivation ... and I'm afraid that it shows. Great location next to the beach though.

I confess that my wife and I could never be described as 'Wild Young Things' bent on hedonistic all-night partying ... those who are so might enjoy the seriously loud discos laid on by an itinerant gang of lads who hawk their services to the various bars and guesthouses up and down the beach. Brace yourselves when you see them setting up, our earplugs did not prevent us being kept awake all night until 0530 when the boppers eventually keeled over and got some shut-eye.

We gave up and decamped across the road to 'Samantha Flora & Fauna' and got an upstairs room for $11, nice grounds and a very helpful and friendly host.

Recommend 'Sunset Bar' on the beach ... great seafood, outstanding views

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MikeRoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    20
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
4
31
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nerja, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2010

Paid 2500 rupees for a double upstairs with breakfast. The family were very nice and made the best tuna dinner I have ever tasted. Only had 2 nights so moved 2 doors down, exactly the same rooms 1500 without breakfast so much better value.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jockeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

I cannot review this place as we never actually got through the door. Despite booking 2 doubles for 4 nights by e-mail a month earlier and confirming by phone the day before, when we arrived our rooms had been given away. Not only that but then the man had the audacity to blame us giving excuses which made him sound even worse. There was no apology or any kind of regret but just a very guilty sheepish owner. All the other places were booked so we had to go to Unawatuna which left us with a very sour taste in our mouths.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DJMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2009

I did a fair bit of research on Mirissa accommodation, and this looked the best of the midrange hotels. I wasn't disappointed. The rooms are large and clean (and unlike several of the hotels nearby, the building is concrete). The food is good and the staff are very friendly. It's a perfect place to park up for a few days - the beach is spectacular!

Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank mealadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.0 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 11 in Mirissa
246 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea World Mirissa
Sea World Mirissa
#51 of 192 in Mirissa
69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Guest House Flora & Fauna
Guest House Flora & Fauna
#26 of 192 in Mirissa
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
ExtremeHost Guest House
ExtremeHost Guest House
#27 of 192 in Mirissa
113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Morning Star
Morning Star
#6 of 164 in Mirissa
190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bon Accord Guest House
Bon Accord Guest House
#3 of 192 in Mirissa
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirissa Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirissa Beach Inn

Property: Mirissa Beach Inn
Address: Merenchigoda, Udupila, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mirissa Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mirissa Beach Inn has relocated with 5 new rooms with 4 poster beds, European Mattress & balconies over looking the jungle. We are only 50m away from the hassle & bustle of Mirissa Beach. Awaken to the sounds of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Mirissa Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirissa Beach Inn Guesthouse Hotel Mirissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing