We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”
Review of Sunset Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunset Hotel
Ranked #135 of 185 Mirissa B&B and Inns
Brisbane
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great staff”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We loved this hotel, the position was great right on the beach but the best part
about it was the helpful staff who after 12 nights stay felt like family. We were there in
June which was the off season and even though it is windy that time of the year we were protected in the bay outside our hotel. There were hardly any tourists at that
time of the year too and that was great. We often had the beach to ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrangipanniBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    41
    23
    13
    22
See reviews for
24
39
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

The hotel is what it is. We actually decided to extend our stay there by one night. If you are looking for a beachside location, you won't get any closer to the beach than the Sunset! I think all the rooms face the sea so all have a wonderful view. As others have mentioned, even the big bathroom window opens directly onto the beach. We covered the window with a sarong, otherwise passers-by would have a pretty nice view into the bathroom!
The upstairs room 204 was quite comfortable. We had a/c, but with the nighttime breeze blowing in off the sea, you don't really need it. The big double bed was very comfortable and had a good mosquito net and nice reading lamps. Hot water was good and plentiful in the shower, with good pressure, if that sort of thing is important to you.
OK guys, this is not a luxury resort, so if that is what you are expecting, you'll be disappointed. If, however, you are just looking for a nice clean place on one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, I don't think the SunSet will disappoint!
We ate lunch in the restaurant one day and it was delicious. (For dinner, we found it more interesting and cozy to eat at the beach restaurants) The breakfast buffet was fine - the typical eggs, toast, coffee/tea, juice and fresh fruit.
As for services, hit or miss. They did a great laundry service for us at a very reasonable price. They only clean your room is you ask them to do so (and remind them), but when they do it, they do a great job. The restaurant manager is very kind and friendly. Some of the other staff less so.
We were staying there during the full moon. Each of the three nights, turtles came onto the beach just in front of the hotel to lay eggs!
There might be better places to stay in Mirissa. But we were very happily based at the Sunset and can only recommend it to others.

Room Tip: All rooms face the beach. Upper floors have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed here for 1 night before moving onto the busier Unawatuna beach area. The hotel itself is ok i guess but was particularly nice although reasonably clean. The rooms are quite dark and tired looking and the bathroom window looks straight onto the beach so everyone can see you shower! The staff were not particularly helpful or friendly so it was disappointing on that level. The positive is that it is right on the beach, although I actually preferred Unwatuna beach where the waves are a bit less scary! It will do for a quick stopover but i wouldn't have wanted to spend any more time here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorrainemarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mirissa hotels

London
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We have just returned from a 15 night holiday in Sri Lanka. We started in Hikkaduwa, headed down to Mirissa and then onto Kandy but by far the stand out part of our trip was in Mirissa at the Sunset. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. Damith runs a very tight ship and all of his staff were so helpful, special mention to Nish who was amazing and you should definitely test his cocktail making skills. The man makes a mean margarita!!

The rooms are basic but clean and comfy. We had a lovely 4 poster double bed, air con, a fan, a balcony with a lovely view and the bathrooms are perfect.

The restaurant is great, I don't think that you would eat anywhere but the Sunset. I would recommend the fish platter, the curry platter and enquire about ordering in lobsters one day. The colours were so beautiful and they were cooked to perfection!!

I think that for the standard you get the price is spot on, we paid a lot more in Hikkaduwa and the room and overall standard of the hotel was poor in comparison.

I guess the best way to explain how much we enjoyed the Sunset is to say that we will, without doubt, be going back!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed there for one night on a room only basis @ LKR 7,275.00 (approx USD 67.00 at the time). The hotel is extremely basic. It has narrow hallways and stairs and our room had 2 double beds and a pantry area (so this may have been a "suite"). It was an air conditioned room, with attached toilet and shower. The bed had clean sheets and the toilet was clean, but the rest of the room looked old and dusty. The TV didn’t work, but we didn’t bother checking with maintenance on this, as we didn’t have time.

We got to the hotel around 11.00pm, left for a whale-watching excursion at 6am the next morning and when we got back to the hotel after whale-watching it was past noon and time to check out. We didn’t have any meals at the hotel.

The hotel is on the beach, but it is not on the best part of Mirissa beach (this is in the southern end of the bay, where as the nicer area is the northern end). We were desperately looking for a place to stay in Mirissa only to go whale watching and given that it was whale watching season, it was next to impossible to find accommodation. Had we looked for accommodation sooner and made reservations ahead of the season, we would have found a place which was better value for money – will definitely not stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SugarRush77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We didn't stay here we only ate here on the beach and I really liked the food, really tasty and cheap. You get a good array of curries and they are happy to make them vegetarian. The food is a bit salty but very good. I wouldn't recommend the lemon soda though unless you like unsweetened bitter/ sour tastes. The service was funny, our waiter seemed unsure and non committal about everything especially when we asked for the food to be spicy.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

There is nothing wrong with the hotel itself if you are ok with large rather soulless hotel. The rooms are clean and of descent standard but they are way too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buskachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.0 mi away
Serenity Resort
Serenity Resort
#59 of 185 in Mirissa
86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sira's Chalets Mirissa
Sira's Chalets Mirissa
#27 of 185 in Mirissa
96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Breeze Hotel
Sea Breeze Hotel
#71 of 151 in Mirissa
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Point Mirissa
The Point Mirissa
#58 of 185 in Mirissa
31 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison D'Hotes Sanda Beach
Maison D'Hotes Sanda Beach
#11 of 185 in Mirissa
31 reviews
0.4 mi away
Subasara Guest
Subasara Guest
#112 of 185 in Mirissa
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hotel

Property: Sunset Hotel
Address: Galle/Matara Road, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 185 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sunset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing