We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet haven away from the madding crowd!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amarasinghe Guest House
Ranked #24 of 151 Speciality Lodging in Mirissa
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A quiet haven away from the madding crowd!”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We had stayed on the beach at Mirissa but were kept awake by techno music so came here. .The guest house has a lovely garden with trees and shrubs all helpfully labelled and a small vegetable garden across the road so you can see where the food comes from.We had a large room with a sitting out area by the main house and comfortable bed.The only negative was the cleanliness of the mosquito nets .Otherwise the family and staff were very friendly, helpful and the food was great and a lot of choice. There was a very quick and reasonable laundry service. We also had aruveydic treatment at the in house centre which was delightful.. Yes it is a bit of a walk to the beach but there is a short cut along the river and so its no big deal. We saw a yoga class advertised in another guest house on this walk which we followed up .
This is extremely good value for money ,

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farida P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    42
    25
    15
    21
See reviews for
23
73
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Excellent stay. Helpful staff who were keen to assist and excellent clean and basic room. Mirissa is well worth a trip and there is plenty to do including a cooking lesson, massages, a trip to matara and whale watching. Food was super. Beach is very pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony2275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and found it to be a mixed bag...

Positives: The double bed was very comfy and large, with a good mosquito net fitted around the 4 posts and a decent ceiling fan. The gardens were lovely and eating breakfast in the gazebo was nice. The cost was only 1500 LKR per night!

Negatives: The location isn't brilliant (its a 10 minute walk from the beach) and the bathroom was not very clean, with lots of annoying insects. The wifi is pretty much unusable as it's so slow.

However, the price is not to be sniffed at, and for a short stay this place is fine on the whole if you're on a tight budget.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed in Amarasinghe Royal lodge, "sister" house of the main house. It has 4 en suite rooms in the ground floor, while the host family lives on the upper floor.

Rooms:
We walked in from the street and took last two (out of four) available rooms. The rooms were relatively clean, but the bathroom window on the far right one could not open. It was hard to air it so it got smelly quite fast, and made room really damp. It was also hard to clean it from all the sand we brought from the beach. Hot water came from separate tank, and at the beginning of showering had sulphate smell. Form time to time, there was no water, but that was resolved immediately after the staff was notified (waterpump had to be restarted).
Yard was nothing special, but the breakfasts were really good.
Dinner was also tasty, but more expensive than beach restaurants, and it took a long time before it got from kitchen to our table. check how many people there is in the restaurant. If it is full, you'll wait for your food

Staff:
Very helpful, although only Amade speaks good English.

Location:
On the quiet road, 5 minutes walk from the beach. Main road is 100 m down the street, with several grocery stores and fast food places just on the crossroads (cheap and good!)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zvijer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I have been in amarasingh guest house for nearly one week in the "peacock" part: it was just wonderful. After a whole beach-sun and sea day it was just fantastic to relax in a fresh green silent and tropical oasis. Indu and the rest of the staff are just so nice and helpful that you immediately feel home (also thanks the GOOD food and great bfasts). Furthermore the "massage guys" are very professional and I recommend full body massages while you are there!
thanks for the wonderful time...miss ya!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sascha b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
170 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We booked to stay here in January.the place was so dirty we cancelled.The bathroom hadn't been cleaned and there were gloopy rings of stuff on the shelf,the sink was grubby.The bedroom was also really unpleasant...there was so much dust and dead insects on the tops of the mosquito nets that you would have had an asthma attack getting under them.It was hugely disappointing for the price.The situation is lovely,but the cabins need a thorough clean and an update.They are tired and in need of radical care. The main house also appeared dirty and we didn't feel we wanted to eat there,either.It is as though they got themselves favourable reviews in the guide books and have sat on their laurels for the past few years.

Room Tip: To be avoided.... unless you are not worried about hygiene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank SteffiSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mirissa hotels

Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

The house is fantastic, you can enjoy privacy in your own room, even when this is not a 5 star hotel. People in kitchen cook very well, and the internet connection is good. The environment is beautiful, with a luxurious garden where you can enjoy a cold beer. Nice place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabiola_Leyton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.2 mi away
Ancient Tree Guesthouse
Ancient Tree Guesthouse
#12 of 185 in Mirissa
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vacanza
Hotel Vacanza
#37 of 185 in Mirissa
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peacock Villa
Peacock Villa
#2 of 185 in Mirissa
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
ExtremeHost Guest House
ExtremeHost Guest House
#31 of 185 in Mirissa
110 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Point Mirissa
The Point Mirissa
#58 of 185 in Mirissa
31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riverside Cabanas
Riverside Cabanas
#11 of 151 in Mirissa
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarasinghe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarasinghe Guest House

Property: Amarasinghe Guest House
Address: Udupila, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 151 Speciality Lodging in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a lush, tropical garden, the Amarasinghe Guesthouse combines a well-preserved ECO environment with all the benefits of a beach resort. Discover the natural beauty of Sri Lanka by watching an amazing display exotic birds and the abundance of fruit trees or go swimming or surfing on the famous Mirissa beach. The well designed rooms of the Amarasinghe Guesthouse cater for all needs and budgets. The restaurant of the Amarasinghe Guesthouse supplies itself through its Organic vegetable garden and is highly recommended for its Italian, seafood and local specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Amarasinghe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing