We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine if you're a Fawlty Towers fan!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amarasinghe Guest House
Ranked #23 of 151 Speciality Lodging in Mirissa
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fine if you're a Fawlty Towers fan!”
Reviewed 15 February 2011

stayed here for christmas 2010, thought that it would be a nice family place to stay for christmas. the family are very pleasant but the room was not that clean, could really do with a lick of paint and none of the doors closed properly! it was a bit fawlty towers. the first night we ate there we got a full fish, which we discovered was a frozen fish, even though we were so near the sea. The outside was cooked but most of the inside was still frozen. it had taken so long to arrive that we just ate the outside bits and decided not to eat there again. we got all our laundry done there and many of our clothes came back stained, with what we think must be rust from wherever they were hung?! we had to throw some of them away. we asked them if there was a church for christmas mass, they told us there was one in matara, 20min away,at 6pm. we went all the way there in a monsoon storm to find it was actually at midnight! why didn't they just tell us they didn't know?! the problem is they really don't listen to complaints, they are oblivious! we saw a few people complaining and they were pretty much ignored, but not in a malicious way. so we decided not to bother complaining. they are sweet people but we would highly recommend NOT staying here!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrelandEmmylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    42
    25
    15
    21
See reviews for
23
73
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

We arrived at the place having booked over the phone. Not only sdid they get the booking wrong (a day later than we actually booked was in their records) but they lied both about breakfast being included and also about there being hot water!

When I raised this with them the father of the family was surly and bordering on rude, saying it was his wifes fault when she took the booking and nothing to do with him!

Our room had no curtains, the bed was not a large mattress - instead is was a single mattress next to some sofa cushions to make up the extra!

Possibly the worst hotel I have stayed in in 15 years in Sri Lanka.

Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mole26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mirissa hotels

Velaux, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

I don`t agree with the other review. The rooms are not clean at all and really need to be refreshed. Our bathroom was quite disgusting and old, really.They have to make a real effort on that. And we tried 2 different rooms, it was the same.
I found much better places for cheaper. The house and location is lovely but it needs improvement for the rooms.
Plus, when we paid the bill on the last day, they tried to cheat us and it leaves a bad impression. First, they were super friendly but after this happened, not so much anymore...
The food is very good.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djbambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberwell, London UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

I'm amazed this seems to be the first review of this place as it is packed with backpackers.

We stayed over New Year. We were lookijng for a nice but low key beach stop, just a palm fringed beach and a few shacks that allow you to use their sunbeds and serve up juices, seafood and sunset beers. Bit like Kovalam was 15 years ago. And that's what Mirissa is like now.

Guest house is really nice, about 5 min from the beach along a windy riverside path, lots of different outbuildings with different types of room. We had a huge upstairs double room for 3000R. All very friendly - they had somehow lost our booking but arranged us another place for our first night then we returned for 3 nights next day.

They will arrange most things for you - but don't go on their whale watching trip unless you fancy an overbooked and overloaded boat with insufficient seats, lifebelts or even bananas. Mirissa Water Sports boats looked miles better (phone no is in Rough Guide).

Get up early enough and you will even be able to get a Sri Lankan breakfast with string hopeers!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uncle_Gareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.2 mi away
Ancient Tree Guesthouse
Ancient Tree Guesthouse
#13 of 185 in Mirissa
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vacanza
Hotel Vacanza
#39 of 185 in Mirissa
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peacock Villa
Peacock Villa
#2 of 185 in Mirissa
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
ExtremeHost Guest House
ExtremeHost Guest House
#30 of 185 in Mirissa
110 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Point Mirissa
The Point Mirissa
#57 of 185 in Mirissa
31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riverside Cabanas
Riverside Cabanas
#11 of 151 in Mirissa
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarasinghe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarasinghe Guest House

Property: Amarasinghe Guest House
Address: Udupila, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 151 Speciality Lodging in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a lush, tropical garden, the Amarasinghe Guesthouse combines a well-preserved ECO environment with all the benefits of a beach resort. Discover the natural beauty of Sri Lanka by watching an amazing display exotic birds and the abundance of fruit trees or go swimming or surfing on the famous Mirissa beach. The well designed rooms of the Amarasinghe Guesthouse cater for all needs and budgets. The restaurant of the Amarasinghe Guesthouse supplies itself through its Organic vegetable garden and is highly recommended for its Italian, seafood and local specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Amarasinghe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing