We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Mirissa!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Praneeth Guest House, Mirissa
Ranked #33 of 187 Mirissa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Mirissa!”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

It was such a great experience from the moment I emailed Praneeth to my last day staying at his amazing guesthouse! It's definitely the most affordable accommodation on the beach with the best food as well! Location wise could not be better, away from the main beach crowd and loud music, which is only a short 15mins walk along the beautiful coast! I booked a seaview room on the main floor and loved falling asleep and waking up to the loud crashing waves, when you're this close to the sea you don't need AC or hot water showers!
Being a single female traveler can be difficult at times, but Praneeth and his wife made me feel right at home and were so great at helping me out with anything I needed. With Praneeth's direction, I took the local bus to Galle for the afternoon and loved it. Sri Lanka is such a beautiful diverse country and quite easy to travel around alone.
Now onto the incredible food....hands down the best home cooking I had in all of Sri Lanka!! The breakfast always came with a large plate of fresh cut fruit (only guesthouse to cut the fruit and give such a great selection), and the toast was always warm, which is usually not the case at any other guesthouse or restaurant. The dinners were spectacular every night no matter what was served, there was always a great selection and plenty of food to fill you up! The flavors in their dishes were diverse and different, not your typical rice and curry everywhere else with the same coconut base flavor, what Praneeth and his wife cook up is simply the best food you will have in Mirissa or anywhere else in Sri Lanka, I wouldn't stay or eat anywhere else in Mirissa!!

Whether you're going to Mirissa for a day or a week, book a room at Praneeth's guesthouse by emailing or calling him, but do it early cause it books up fast and for great reasons! You can find his contact info on www.lankaholidays.com.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room if available, they have the best veranda/balcony. But honestly, you'll be l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank josephine k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    18
    5
    3
    6
See reviews for
12
52
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

After a hectic tour, this was the perfect antidote. We stayed in one of the front rooms with a balcony and sea view. The room was basic, with a quiet fan which kept us cool during the night. We soon got used to the cold shower. The whole set-up is relaxing. The garden is full of palm trees providing shade. There is a leaf-covered shelter to sit in by the beach and a hammock. Through the garden gate and you are on the beach. Its small with soft golden sand. The sea is of course warm and suitable for swimming and snorkelling - I borrowed a mask from Praneeth. Early each morning the locals set off fishing in their small catamarans and I often helped to pull them up the beach on their return about 9am. Praneeth and his wife are great cooks. Meal times are very relaxed - he comes and tells you when food is ready. We ate there each evening for 6 days and every meal was different - we chose the meat - chicken, prawns, fish, and each was accompanied by giant bowls of fried rice and an amazing selection of vegetables in small bowls. We were introduced to several new vegetables such as ochra and manioc. Breakfasts were delicious, including a big bowl of fresh fruit. We loved our time there.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2014

When we emailed Praneeth about availability he gave a very honest reply saying it was small, basic, no hot water and no air con. We knew what to expect and were not dissapointed, It's close enough to the centre of mirissa but also just enough out of the way. Praneeth and his wife are very friendly and helpful, food is as good you will get in Mirissa and if we go back it will be the only place we would stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mylesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed five nights in January 2014 paying 4.000 rupees/night for a sea view double room. The guest house is right on the beach (a small and calm one!), serves up amazing food with fresh fish and a wide variety of curries. Breakfast (included) is great, too. Praneeth and his wife are lovely and very helpful. Rooms are basic but clean and functional. I would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lars M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

This guest house is THE place to stay in Mirissa. Great hosts, simple but clean rooms, amazing home cooked food(!) and a very relaxed atmosphere far away from the awfull reggae-disco circus on the main beach strip. We loved this guest house, situated on an almost secluded beach in the eastern part of town, and will not hesitate to go back! Amen.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PoulMadsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My girlfriend and some friends and I stayed here in November 2013 and really liked it. It's just around the bay from Mirissa (about 15 mins walk) on its own little beach, so you can get away from the crowds that are on the main beach. The rooms are simple, but you'd be silly to spend much time in them anyway, and Praneeth cooks up a mean meal (he's also a super nice guy, and looks a bit like a cross between Big Pun and the Notorious B.I.G).

Stay here if you're looking to for something a bit out of the way, but still with easy access to all of the tourist stuff on the main beach. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Try to get the upstairs front room - it has a great sea breeze!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The guesthouse is about 15 mins walk along the beachside to Mirissa main beach.
Praneeth and his wife are extremely pleasant and kind and will help you in anyway they can, Praneeth with any organisation of travel or trips, local information and they are the best cooks ever. Breakfast was HUGE including pancakes, amazing omelettes, lots of fruit and toast /jam etc.
We ate there every evening as the food was very very reasonable and totally delicious. We finally found the Sri Lankan Curry and Rice. Something different every evening :)
The place is basic but totally clean and well looked after, The beds are massive. We slept 3 up (my daughter is 6) in the beds with no problem. They also have Mosquito nets.
There is snorkelling just outside in the Bay and of course one can go and play in the bigger waves in Mirissa with a short walk, or just chill in the sand just in front of the guest house.
Its a lovely quiet place, we were only going to stay for 2 nights but stayed for 5 ..til we Had to go home!
They do not serve food during the day though you can get drinks. There are a couple of little shops across the road for snacks. We didnt find it a bad thing to have to get off our butts and walk somewhere as we ate so well!

Room Tip: Thereare 3 rooms with a sea view. There are nly 5 or 6 roms in total so book early and specify if po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.0 mi away
Sunray Resort Mirissa
Sunray Resort Mirissa
#39 of 187 in Mirissa
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palm Villa
Palm Villa
#3 of 158 in Mirissa
619 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison D'Hotes Sanda Beach
Maison D'Hotes Sanda Beach
#11 of 187 in Mirissa
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sun Style Mirissa
Sun Style Mirissa
#10 of 158 in Mirissa
34 reviews
0.6 mi away
Guest House Flora & Fauna
Guest House Flora & Fauna
#22 of 187 in Mirissa
101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summer Breeze Guest House
Summer Breeze Guest House
#26 of 158 in Mirissa
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Praneeth Guest House, Mirissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praneeth Guest House, Mirissa

Property: Praneeth Guest House, Mirissa
Address: Bandaramulla, Mirissa, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple family run guesthouse with 5 rooms directly on the beach. We also serve fresh home cooked Sri Lankan food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Praneeth Guest House, Mirissa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing