We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An extremely hospitable family.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ExtremeHost Guest House
Ranked #30 of 186 Mirissa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“An extremely hospitable family.”
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We have just had a fantastic stay at Extreme Host. The family are incredibly warm and friendly and aim to please. That will happily organise local transport and a very good Whale watching trip. Their is a bus stop at the junction so very easy to get to. It's not on the beach side of the main road but less than five minutes from the sandy bay. The room was spacious and clean. The outside sitting area was very welcome and the restaurant next door does excellent Sri Lankan food. Extremely satisfied!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    24
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
14
54
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

spent 3nights in this small guest house, all things are wonderful. spacious room with ac fan, hot water, strong wifi, comfortable beds, wonderful hosts....5mins walk to the beach..... a little bit noisy in the day time because the tuktuks pass by, but its no big deal since all go quiet at night...... highly recommened!
非常好的民宿,房间干净宽敞,有空调扇和电扇,床也很舒适,很友善的主人。离海滩5分钟步行距离,安静而便捷。白天的时候因为门前有tuktuk经过,可能有点吵,不过问题不大,晚上还是很安静的。非常推荐!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emily_GZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Lovely small guest house, only 5 mins from the beach. Really nice family, they look after you so well. The rooms are a good size and they have included everything that you need for your comfort. We would definitely stay here again when we come back to Mirissa.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

With only two rooms you'll be lucky if you can stay but it's clean, friendly and convenient to get to.
I stayed there two nights with no problems, the family that run the place are super nice and made me a very refreshing papaya drink when I arrived - just what I needed after a long bus ride! The rooms are nice, though a bit dark. The wifi strength and reliability was impeccable, my room had it's own router. There was A/C in the room along with a generously-sized bed and mosquito net. It's incredibly close to the beach without suffering from noise from the raging club music. People have said that there was noise from the road but I slept like a baby.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Small family run guesthouse which is clean & relatively cheap but very close to the road. Blaring horns from 6am so don't stay here if you want a sleep in! Breakfast was simple but nothing fancy. Room very clean but a bit dark.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MsPaulina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here a couple of nights and really enjoyed our stay. The guesthouse has only two rooms so it s very quiet, which we found a plus. The family that owns the place is really friendly and helpful! Breakfast was everyday a bit different and delicious. We can also recommend dinner here, especially the rice and curry ( one of the best we had in sri lanka). The rooms were spacious, clean and we even had a pc in our room:) your stay here will not disappoint!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RosanneV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We had an enjoyable stay here the family are very nice hosts and made us very welcome. If you come here don't expect 5 star accommodation, the rooms are basic but clean with hot water and fan. The walk to the beach is only a few minutes and there are plenty of eating option close by.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Talsker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.2 mi away
Ancient Tree Guesthouse
Ancient Tree Guesthouse
#13 of 186 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.6 mi away
The White House
The White House
#25 of 186 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.2 mi away
I and I Rest
I and I Rest
#27 of 186 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banana Garden Guesthouse
Banana Garden Guesthouse
#21 of 186 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riverside Cabanas
Riverside Cabanas
#11 of 147 in Mirissa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Our World
Our World
#12 of 186 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ExtremeHost Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ExtremeHost Guest House

Property: ExtremeHost Guest House
Address: 373 / A / 1 Udupila | Udupila, Mirissa 91000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — ExtremeHost Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extreme Host Guesthouse ideally situated a short distance away from the Beautiful Mirissa Beach. Pubs, restaurants, and Shops are stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your ExtremeHost Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing