We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in mirissa!!”
Review of Our World

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Our World
Ranked #11 of 194 Mirissa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Our world is The place to be in mirissa! Romms are really cheap, the view is the best you can have and people are so nice!!! I loved that !!! Coconuts are really good!
Thank you for all!!! And I hope i'll can see you another time!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sara40465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

Very nice people, special place. You get the feeling that the people running the place really care and are not there only for the money. We forgot to pay them one of the times we had coconuts there and they did not say anything. When we returned a half hour later they smiled and said they knew we would come back to pay... You can also see the sea level reached in the Tsunami. Bottom line - when in Mirissa beach drop by them and check them out.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank TheLivnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I spent 2012 news year's at my world in a lodge in front of the beach. Althought its quite simple, the price is tottally worth of it. The place is managed by a family that makes you feel like you are part of it. Very nice, loving and trusthfull people. Absolutly reccomended for backpacers on a low budget travelling around Sri Lanka!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarianaGuti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at Our world for two weeks in August 2013. Great value, great simple yet comfortable rooms. Staff was a lovely family that truly care about their guests. If you are looking for a comfortable, clean and affordable place to stay when in Mirissa Beach, then look no further.

Mr. Kirk ( USA )

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirk G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Our trip in Sri lanka was really nice thanks to Jagath and his family.
"Our world" is more than just a hotel on the beautiful beach of Mirissa, It was such a great human experience.
King coconuts to drink in the morning, wonderful sunset to see, excellent food to eat from their kitchen...
This is the cheapest place to stay and enjoy in Mirissa.
I would recommend that place to every people who travel in sri lanka.
If you like to stay on the beach or in the back side (more quiet), if you want to meet great people, go there!
Eco friendly, cool and calm, Our world is the best place to stay in Mirissa.
Thanks again to Jagath and family.

Room Tip: The jungle side is more quiet and the beach side is easier to meet people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floechloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I have a great experience during my stay with Our World in late September. Eco-friendly accommodations in Sri Lanka are still uncommon and our World is one of such simple places that make people feel home. The family, who run both guest houses and a grocery store, are extremely friendly and offer excellent service and food.

I also have special thanks to the manager, Jagath, for sending my blackberry forgotten on the dining table to Galle in person, which means tremendous to me.

Look forward to revisiting Sri Lanka in some time and stay in the particularly charming beach rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuo X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stayed before christmas, already in 2012 , for 5 nights and days - because I also got this recommendation from an other traveller - and indeed it was exactly what I was looking for. Great budget Guest house. Not direct on, but close to the beach, very good value, clean, very helpful and very friendly family. The food they prepare if you like is excellent. Next time I come to Mirissa for shure I will arrange to stay there again. Thanks, Hettigee for your hospitality! Also as I'm writing that late I still keep you in very good memory.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Manherrmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.6 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 11 in Mirissa
259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peacock Villa
Peacock Villa
#1 of 194 in Mirissa
322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dream Palace Family Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ancient Tree Guesthouse
Ancient Tree Guesthouse
#15 of 194 in Mirissa
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palm Villa
Palm Villa
#3 of 168 in Mirissa
639 reviews
0.4 mi away
Number ONE Mirissa
Number ONE Mirissa
#13 of 194 in Mirissa
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Our World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Our World

Address: Galle Road | Merinchigoda, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Price Range: £10 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Our World 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Im sorry to say recently we change our email address due to some one hacked. The Our World Guest houses are a friendly, family owned, secure environment in Mirissa, our aim is to delight our visitors. We have 8 rooms in all, 4 inland and 4 beach front. Inland, we have four double rooms with shower, fan and of course mosquito nets, also Internet WiFi is available. The Our World Guesthouse is two minutes away from the beach in the jungle, beside a small river. There is also a little shop which belongs to our family on the way to the beach. You can get all your daily needs there, but even in our house we run our own restaurant as well.! By request we can arrange whale watching trips, order you a `Tuk-Tuk` or rent push bikes. To get to Our World Guest house land side, first, you come to Mirissa and find the Udupila bridge. Turn towards the land near the little rotte shop and come along the little canal. After 20 metres at the fork you will see on the left hand side our sign board or you can inquire about us from the our family shop. It is situated at the sea side of the A2 road from Colombo, you will see 150km post and our little sigh boards hanging. The beach front hostel is called, [Our World Backpackers Eco Friendly Home and is situated beside the shop. " As we are not giving a commision to any one. Youmust tell the driver clearly that you want to come to us. No commission means cheaper room for you. We are giving very reasonable rates to backpackers who are visiting us. We are running a little library in both places, thanks to the visiters giving their additional books, so any one can exchange their finished books. But they are not for sale. Refill-relief- repeat we maintain a "" filtered water bottle refilling station"' at the beach side place to minimise a usage of plastic. Use filterd 20 liter big bottle and re - fill it to small bottles which brings by customers for very reasonable price. Ourworld wi-fi cafe recently we open a little cafe, at the place of on the beach eco friendly place where our back packes home situated. Promoting a sri lanka favourite rotte and fresh juices, lassy , milk shakes and salads (veg/fruit), curd and trical break first. Normally we open from 7. Am early in the morning to facilitate the people who get up early from their hotels and run thru 7 pm.Very fresh fruits from our fathers shop and very reasonable price with the assistanec of exprience chief we served natures most refreshing drinks called "'king coconut'' for very reasonable pirce to facilitate to have a memorable enjoyment last month we added another two family villas to our room collection one is occupied for three people each in side bath room and shower we are planing to open varity of rice dishes with next season biging with comming december 2014. We are happy to welcome you and look forward to hearing from u ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Our World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing