We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family run guest house in beautiful garden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Peacock Wings Guest House
Ranked #20 of 164 Speciality Lodging in Mirissa
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, mainly to go whale watching, but loved the relaxed setting of this guest house. We stayed in one of the spacious and clean bungalows. It had its own terrace set in a beautiful garden. Our hostess was amazing. Despite us not having the breakfast (due to wanting to save money) she still brought us tea in the morning. She also organised for us to go on a whale watching boat with a tuk tuk to pick us up, and was so helpful in finding out onward travel options for us. A very relaxed stay....and we saw a blue whale!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Peacock Wings Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

On the outskirts of Mirissa so the party scene doesn't keep you awake all night if you want to sleep. Very close to a private beach and the main beach as well as the surf break. Breakfast is large and a good value. Hosts are lovely, friendly and attentive. Rooms are spacious with a garden area in front.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sewardwatertaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, it was a great choice!
Very relaxing with clean rooms and very nice and friendly owners. The beach is a 10 minute walk away which is fine. The little cove opposite is very nice to swim in. The price was fantastic and there isn't much noise from the road. A lovely stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JayNZ85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Peacock Wings for 4 nights in December and I have to say that it was by far the best B & B for value, quality, cleanliness and the owner was very helpful during our 3 weeks stay in Sri Lanka.

When we arrived, we were served with cold drinks by the owner. She is very helpful and made sure that our stay was comfortable.

Our room was super clean, bed was comfortable and I liked the fact that we were served breakfast in our little cosy private area outside our bedroom looking onto the garden.

We requested tea to be served during the evenings and she was really happy to do this. Breakfasts are great and on the last day we had to leave very early and she packed our breakfast with toast and fresh fruits.

I did not mind that the shower was cold and that it is away from the main beach area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MisledinBXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The peacock wing guesthouse is a clean and high value place. The rooms are located about 1 km from the main beach, but with one nice beach just across the street. The rooms are clean and breakfast is served at the room (toast, omelette, fruit, juice and a pot of tea). Overall a nice place and a good room for your money in what has been both me and my friends favorite town this far in our Sri Lankan travel.

// Martin from Sweden

Room Tip: We lived in the new set of three rooms. All the rooms seems identical as they are located in the sam...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights and and enjoyed our stay. The service was good overall and friendly. Upon arrival, my girlfriend and I were greeted and was offered a drink which was enjoyed. Our room was clean and can't complain about the beds. There was a dirty! hanger that seemed out of place. One thing i'm split about is that they had some natural open windows built into the room. Which offered a nice breeze in the room, but also allowed bugs and geckoes into the room. The location of the rooms are located in a quiet spot with a nice garden in front. Breakfast was also delivered to the room which added to make our stay relaxing. We ended up walking about 15 minutes to the main beach.

On an unfortunate note, the room only offer cold water showers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MBMatt1147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

In Jan '13 Peacock Wings was a brand new set of three rooms which we found to be clean & comfortable and at a good price compared to other places in Mirissa. A tasty egg & fruit breakfast was provided each morning as in most places. Unfortunately the showers were cold, but the location was very private with outdoor seating looking over a little garden.

It is just across the road from the smaller bays to the East of the main Mirissa Beach, so you can swim there or walk for a few minutes to the main beach & restaurants. It is set behind the house of the owners so is slightly less noisy than some places but if you have a problem with road noise then you will not get a good sleep anywhere in Sri Lanka !

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank treebenfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.9 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 11 in Mirissa
251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peacock Villa
Peacock Villa
#1 of 191 in Mirissa
319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dream Palace Family Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Palm Villa
Palm Villa
#3 of 164 in Mirissa
635 reviews
0.3 mi away
Handagedara Resort
Handagedara Resort
#7 of 164 in Mirissa
192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sira's Chalets Mirissa
Sira's Chalets Mirissa
#22 of 191 in Mirissa
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peacock Wings Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peacock Wings Guest House

Address: Matara Road, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 164 Speciality Lodging in Mirissa
Price Range: £10 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Peacock Wings Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Peacock Wings Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing