We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really what I expected or wanted”
Review of Morning Star

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Morning Star
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Just spent 1 night here, the room off a living room area, was small & dark, the bed took up 70% of the space, & the AC wasn't good at all. Nowhere to sit apart from on the bed.

The guesthouse is right next to the main road, & about 200m along the road from the main Mirissa beach.

The owners were quite friendly & approachable

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaynewcastle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

Morning Star is the last guest house we live in Sri Lanka, also the best one. Not only the facility, but also the host is really nice.
The host provides a four people room which is big; clean, with A/C, with Sofa/big closet and a modern comfort bathroom. The most important thing is there's also a big swimming pool and we have fun with it. The breakfast is also brilliant. They provide platter of fruit; 4 kinds of breads; butter; jam; tea/coffee; eggs; and yoga and this is also the best breakfast we have in Sri Lanka.
The host is very kind. I booked a triple room for our three girls first and when we arrived we found there are four beds in the room. Actually, our team also has a boy; he planned to find a guest house by himself. When we ask the host if he can stay here, he said yes and only charges 3 dollars for the breakfast for the guy. And our flight is in the second day evening, when we ask if we can keep the house until 9pm when usually check-out time is at noon, the host also said yes and only charge 2 dollars for extra-expense. And at that hot afternoon, we enjoy ourselves with the cool A/C and the wonderful swimming pool and then the bathroom again, so the cost is truly exceed 2 dollars for the host. And we ask him to recommend the restaurant, which turns out is a good taste and not expensive one. We ask him to order Tutu for us to go out, which turns out we cannot find anther the same cheap one when we come back. Really appreciate to him.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ji C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The first impression was, that the room was really clean. The lighting inside the room maybe a bit too dark, but creates a welcoming atmosphere and you even get a teddy bear to sleep with you. The breakfast in the morning give you the energy bust you need for your next adventure; which we started at the beach, about a minute away from this guest house. You can also grab your favorite book and read it on the balcony overseeing the huge waves. Generally speaking, kind service, perfect breakfast and clean rooms are the three keys that was excellent from our experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adachowying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Very nice place to stay in/around Mirissa; it is a family-run guesthouse where everyone is really nice and helpful; the room was spotless with direct access to a nice terrace from which you could see the beach/sea; excellent food (vegetarian curry); highly recommended!!

Room Tip: try rooms on the back; street can get a bit noisy in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eva A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Room is very clean and confortable with a balcony.
The beach is only two minutes walk. Don't forget booking a diner to taste delicious grilled fish and curd honey. The breakfast is one of the best we eat during our journey.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olivier F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Very nice place to stay, the family is very nice and take a good care for the guests.
It feel like home.
They respect the privacy of the guests and help with everything you need.
Highly recommended. You'll enjoy your stay here.

Room Tip: If you love quite ask for the interior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yogamirissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Having spent a few nights in a much more expensive hotel in Unawatuna, we arrived at Mirissa unsure of what to expect from Morning Star as the room was only costing us about $50 per night. We got the loveliest welcome, the room was spotlessly clean and had excellent air-conditioning as well as a very comfortable net and a mosquito net (even though there were hardly any mosquitoes). The nicest surprise was finding out that a little walk across the road, through a gate and along a short path landed us on the most stunning, secluded beach with very calm water, perfect for swimming. We ended up adding 3 nights to our stay as we felt so relaxed at Morning Star. The family could not have been more welcoming and helpful and the food was excellent for breakfast.

Also, as an aside, the father of the family arranges tours and drivers. We booked a 5 day trip with him to Ella, Kandy and back to Colombo. He arranged excellent, affordable accommodation for us with breakfast and dinner included, as well as a great driver at a really excellent price. Worth enquiring about as a follow-on when you leave Mirissa. I would confidently recommend this guesthouse to any type of traveller and also the tours run by the guesthouse, everything was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Auroraborealice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.2 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 11 in Mirissa
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palm Villa
Palm Villa
#2 of 178 in Mirissa
645 reviews
0.8 mi away
Number ONE Mirissa
Number ONE Mirissa
#11 of 194 in Mirissa
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa
0.9 mi away
Handagedara Resort
Handagedara Resort
#7 of 178 in Mirissa
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea World Mirissa
Sea World Mirissa
#47 of 194 in Mirissa
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morning Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morning Star

Address: Bandaramulla, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 178 Speciality Lodging in Mirissa
Price Range: £40 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Morning Star 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 1 km from whale watching at Mirissa and 5 minute walk to to the mirissa beach area, Morning Star Guest House offers a spacious common living area with plush sofas, a flat-screen TV, and a seaview balcony. Complimentary Wi-Fi access is provided. Rooms are air-conditioned,hot water, and feature carved 4-poster beds and furniture. The en suite bathroom comes with hot shower facilities and WiFi in all area. The restaurant serves traditional Sri Lankan delights alongside Western and Chinese specialities and special seafood menus. Guest can head to the 24-hour front desk for assistance with luggage storage, laundry and use of safety deposit boxes and mini bar in the room. Activities such as whale watching, fishing and city tours can also be arranged. The guesthouse is 8 km from the Weligama Railway Station and 11 km from Dondra Head Lighthouse. The Snake Farm is 20 km away, while the Mattala International Airport is 82 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Morning Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing