We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rest on November 2013”
Review of Morning Star

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Morning Star
Certificate of Excellence
Novopolotsk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A rest on November 2013”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This is very cousy place near the Ocean. There are three lagoons without big waves and you can joying nice view of the ocean, see to the Sunset. Also there is the island and serfing who like it. Friendly family of this place always to ready to do your rest good. Very tasty Sri Lanka's food. Clean rooms, conditions, fans, friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nelliz_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    45
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
22
101
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liperi, Eastern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I was there two nights and I was quite happy about this pick. Guest house was easily to find, it's just right next to the Matara road. Beach was near, altought you have to cross the road and find some path through houses and bushes.The room was quite small, there was just really big bed, night tables and closet. A/C worked fine and bathroom was quite modern. The room was really clean and fresh. Owner and his family were really lovely and welcoming, they were helpful and owner arranged whale watching trip for me. Breakfast was good, fruits were fresh and everything tasted good. I was little bit disapointed that I choosed room from seaside, because traffic noises were really loud. Also there were ants in my room, they show up when there were power outage and A/C was that why off...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karoliina90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
153 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Just spent 1 night here, the room off a living room area, was small & dark, the bed took up 70% of the space, & the AC wasn't good at all. Nowhere to sit apart from on the bed.

The guesthouse is right next to the main road, & about 200m along the road from the main Mirissa beach.

The owners were quite friendly & approachable

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaynewcastle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Morning Star is the last guest house we live in Sri Lanka, also the best one. Not only the facility, but also the host is really nice.
The host provides a four people room which is big; clean, with A/C, with Sofa/big closet and a modern comfort bathroom. The most important thing is there's also a big swimming pool and we have fun with it. The breakfast is also brilliant. They provide platter of fruit; 4 kinds of breads; butter; jam; tea/coffee; eggs; and yoga and this is also the best breakfast we have in Sri Lanka.
The host is very kind. I booked a triple room for our three girls first and when we arrived we found there are four beds in the room. Actually, our team also has a boy; he planned to find a guest house by himself. When we ask the host if he can stay here, he said yes and only charges 3 dollars for the breakfast for the guy. And our flight is in the second day evening, when we ask if we can keep the house until 9pm when usually check-out time is at noon, the host also said yes and only charge 2 dollars for extra-expense. And at that hot afternoon, we enjoy ourselves with the cool A/C and the wonderful swimming pool and then the bathroom again, so the cost is truly exceed 2 dollars for the host. And we ask him to recommend the restaurant, which turns out is a good taste and not expensive one. We ask him to order Tutu for us to go out, which turns out we cannot find anther the same cheap one when we come back. Really appreciate to him.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ji C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The first impression was, that the room was really clean. The lighting inside the room maybe a bit too dark, but creates a welcoming atmosphere and you even get a teddy bear to sleep with you. The breakfast in the morning give you the energy bust you need for your next adventure; which we started at the beach, about a minute away from this guest house. You can also grab your favorite book and read it on the balcony overseeing the huge waves. Generally speaking, kind service, perfect breakfast and clean rooms are the three keys that was excellent from our experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adachowying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Very nice place to stay in/around Mirissa; it is a family-run guesthouse where everyone is really nice and helpful; the room was spotless with direct access to a nice terrace from which you could see the beach/sea; excellent food (vegetarian curry); highly recommended!!

Room Tip: try rooms on the back; street can get a bit noisy in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eva A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Room is very clean and confortable with a balcony.
The beach is only two minutes walk. Don't forget booking a diner to taste delicious grilled fish and curd honey. The breakfast is one of the best we eat during our journey.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olivier F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.2 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 10 in Mirissa
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palm Villa
Palm Villa
#3 of 151 in Mirissa
614 reviews
0.9 mi away
Handagedara Resort
Handagedara Resort
#5 of 151 in Mirissa
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa
0.3 mi away
Peacock Villa
Peacock Villa
#2 of 185 in Mirissa
303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea World Mirissa
Sea World Mirissa
#48 of 185 in Mirissa
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morning Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morning Star

Property: Morning Star
Address: Bandaramulla, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 151 Speciality Lodging in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Morning Star 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 1 km from whale watching at Mirissa and 5 minute walk to to the mirissa beach area, Morning Star Guest House offers a spacious common living area with plush sofas, a flat-screen TV, and a seaview balcony. Complimentary Wi-Fi access is provided. Rooms are air-conditioned,hot water, and feature carved 4-poster beds and furniture. The en suite bathroom comes with hot shower facilities and WiFi in all area. The restaurant serves traditional Sri Lankan delights alongside Western and Chinese specialities and special seafood menus. Guest can head to the 24-hour front desk for assistance with luggage storage, laundry and use of safety deposit boxes and mini bar in the room. Activities such as whale watching, fishing and city tours can also be arranged. The guesthouse is 8 km from the Weligama Railway Station and 11 km from Dondra Head Lighthouse. The Snake Farm is 20 km away, while the Mattala International Airport is 82 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Morning Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing