We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place!”
Review of Shehan Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shehan Guest House
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Mirissa
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lovely place!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

It was my best place I stayed in while travelling around Sri Lanka. Great location, close to the beach (and road) but quiet enough as well, nice and friendly family, great food (fresh and healthy, without bad stuff) and not expensive. But sure I did some bargaining,). The room was just perfect for me and I could even see the sea from there. I can only recommend, when back in Sri Lanka I will stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanCyrus_Prague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    19
    7
    5
    6
See reviews for
9
35
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

very welcoming family,lovely food (much better than what u can get on the beach and cheaper too),room is alright,we stayed on the ground floor so there was a bit of noise in the morning but otherwise we couldnt complain about anything,its just a few metres from the beach,definitely recommend it

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank izzkka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I have mixed feelings about this place! All in all it is good, there are however a few minor drawbacks.

The place looks simple, but lovely. Big shady mango tree, white washed walls, dark wood. And it is run by a friendly family.

The son is super friendly and very helpful. The mothers home cooking is good, (not all of it, the weird banana pancake thing was a little...weird & very sugary for my taste, but I heard others liking it. The fruitsalad comes with a sugar coating too. Better off having the platter. )The rice & curry though is to DIE for. You can have several small dishes varying from chicken curry, banana curry, jackfruit curry to the incredible eggplant curry, bean curry etc etc. I think her curry dishes are endless and are simply....mouth watering.

The rooms: Clean & simple. More than adequate for the price.

Location: It's near the prettiest of beaches. Walking distance, so totally great! Downside:
You can hear the beachparties from Shehan. They're not daily. But did still keep me awake on 1 occasion until roughly 4 am and on another it woke me up briefly. Fair play; I am a light sleeper & use earplugs but the bass was hard to block out. We were on the 1st floor, corner room, not much between us & the party except distance. I'm thinking rooms on the ground floor or around the corner might have less noise.

They rent out scooters which is great for getting around. You need one to get to an ATM for example. The nearest is 10km.

The only real service they offer which is NOT up to scratch and actually effected us was their shuttle service. Which basically isn't a shuttle service at all. We stated what time we wanted to leave to Colombo, but left almost an hour later because their driver (another relative) was late because he had to pick his kids up from school! Great father-but less great business man!! They also had no idea how to get to our next destination even though we gave the address prior to departure. We managed to get lost several times and basically arrived so late at our next destination that we couldn't enjoy our last afternoon of the holiday. If their shuttle service improves, (or you avoid taking it) and you are not a real light sleeper, I would still totally recommend this nice little place.

Room Tip: Try the rooms on ground floor for less mosquitos. The top floor have large open spaces under the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IamFrangipani2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Петрозаводск, Россия
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. Fair price, basic room, clean bed, 2 minute walk to the beach. Owners are very nice and helping people. The food was tasty and affordable. You can rent a bike there also. We staid there for 4 night and definitely can recommend this place to others. Enjoy!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Renksss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

When we arrived, we do not believe all the reviews that you will feel at home. However, after few days with mama and her kitchen, we do not want to leave.
Hotel is not far from the beach. It is in quiet location but close to everything. The rooms were simple and clean and the terrace was cleaned every day.
Breakfast was good. Tuna and pinneapple curry was mouthwatering, best curry we have in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katchik2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Our room was nice, the family are lovely, friendly, fun people, the atmosphere is relaxed and the food is probably the best we had in our whole of Sri Lanka! We did the cookery class which is available too with Pushpa and enjoyed learning how to make lots of surprisingly simple curries. And it's really close to the beach. Good value and definitely recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemonella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We expected good things on the basis of other reviews and their own website at http://shehanguest.com/. We were severely disappointed!. We booked to stay 2 nights in an air-conditioned room with en-suite facilities. Their website quotes "With 8 rooms, this property contains all the amenities and services you would expect from a 3-star hotel."
Admittedly, we received a friendly welcome with drink & cake but on our first view of our proposed accommodation my eyes met my wife's and I knew we were thinking the same thing. The room & bathroom were disgusting. These seemed extremely low backpacker standard and not worth the LKR4000/night being asked. We did not stay and found a good alternative nearby.
This place is misclassified within the "Hotels in Mirissa" section (& is currently top of five). It should be in "Mirissa Speciality Lodging" or "Bed and breakfast Mirissa" and would be well down in the rankings

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Scubascubydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mirissa
0.0 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 11 in Mirissa
244 reviews
0.0 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 32 in Unawatuna
814 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mandara Resort
Mandara Resort
#4 of 11 in Mirissa
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Peacock Villa
Peacock Villa
#1 of 191 in Mirissa
315 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mirissa Hills
Mirissa Hills
#3 of 11 in Mirissa
113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Beach Club
Paradise Beach Club
#14 of 191 in Mirissa
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shehan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shehan Guest House

Property: Shehan Guest House
Address: 368B Merenchigoda | Udupila, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shehan Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 8 rooms including 2 air conditioned rooms. All rooms are comfortably equipped and have en-suite (shower and toilet) facilities. Wi-Fi connection is available in the bedrooms as it is in the ground floor dining room.We have a separate restaurant area with Wi-Fi facility. It’s just less than 100m to the beach from the guest house. And a garden area with hammocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Shehan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing