We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Out of this world- Amazing”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool deck
Rooftop Infinity pool... The Beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Pool deck
Rooftop Infinity pool...
The Beach
The Beach
Pool
Pool Deck
Jacuzzi...
Poolside
Pool Lounger
gym
Grand Stair...
Catering...
Kitchen
Bedroom...
Bedrooms
Bathrooms
Lounge
Dining
TV and Games Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Mirissa, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chinese (Simplified) first
English first
German first
Any
English first
sg12318
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Out of this world- Amazing”
Reviewed 14 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We have recently returned from a week's stay at Villa Nisala and can highly recommend the property. It's beachside location offers wonderful ocean views.The design of the villa is stunning ,with spacious, beautifully appointed rooms, all of which allow for comfort and privacy. We are a family of 6 adults and a 7 month old baby ( not yet mobile) and it suited us perfectly.
The staff were delightful and nothing was too much trouble, their service was impeccable. We are extremely happy to have chosen Villa Nisala for our holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Simply amazing - you won't want to leave!”
Reviewed 29 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

It would be hard to top Nisala Villa in Sri Lanka - the villa, setting and view, as well as the staff are all amazing. We had debated whether to stay here or Amanwella, and we could not have been more pleased in selecting Nisala Villa! We arrived at Nisala Villa on the heels of a week long stay at the Four Seasons in the Maldives - Nisala was equally luxurious!

Jill, the owner in Hong Kong and also the villa architect, was beyond helpful in planning our stay and her local insights were invaluable in finalizing our itinerary.

There are 6 villas on the property, with the placement and design ensuring privacy. The villas are located up a private winding road that adjoins private temple lands, beyond a gated entry manned by security. I just can't say enough about the villa itself. It is gorgeous, set up from the beach, overlooking the Indian Ocean. The view, sound of the surf and the ocean breezes soothe the soul. You can easily sleep 8-10 and never feel crowded. Each bedroom has its own bath and the living spaces, including outdoors are luxurious and spacious. It was just my husband and I traveling, and we are already plotting our return with close friends.

The staff is top notch. Jerome, the butler provided personalized service and ensured we were welcome and cared for. He confirmed all our local plans the evening before to ensure we were well cared for outside the villa as well. He was assisted by Tharonga who also ensured a fabulous stay, and who provided special touches and a bit of humor along the way.

We enjoyed the best meals we had in Sri Lanka, courtesy of their fabulous cook Ramya. We had breakfast and dinners at the villa, where all you need to do is put in a menu request, with dinners having a nominal charge. We requested local cuisine and were not disappointed. I would return to Nisala Villa just to shadow Ramya in the kitchen - it was that good! I believe the housekeeper, Dharshani, also had a hand in our fine dining, while she also ensured the villa was immaculately kept.

Jill arranged car and driver during our stay. We have really appreciated Wasantha as a driver and felt safe in his hands amidst the craziness of Sri Lankan roads, from our pick up in Galle to our drop off in Colombo. Wasantha went out of his way on multiple occasions to ensure we were taken care of - even helping us shop for a hopper pan and ingredients, then arranging to trade the new pan with the villa's seasoned pan so I could make perfect hoppers at home from the get go. Jerome and Ramya even wrote out the recipe for the hoppers and seeni sambal for me - I can't wait to make these!

While we were thousands of miles from Seattle, we could not have been made to feel more at home. We stayed 3 nights and only wished we had more time here. Just go - you won't be disappointed and you won't want to leave.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey81H...
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“You will never want to leave!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I fear this experience will tarnish others for a long time to come simply because it was so relaxing and enjoyable. The villa has everything you need plus more and provided such a tranquil and relaxing environment that it was hard to leave.

I traveled with friends for the Easter break on my second trip to Sri Lanka and can't recommend this place highly enough. The view from the bedrooms and the bath tub was amazing! We spent hours in the infinity pool overlooking the ocean and in the shade of the palm trees. The rooms were spacious, clean and had options for whatever kind of party you are traveling with. I particularly enjoyed the outdoor chill out areas by the pool with comfortable loungers, cushions, day beds and floating chairs. We went down to the private beach and battled the waves, then cooled off in the rock pools which were more sheltered.

I can honestly say I wasn't hungry for the entire week as the food was so good! Staff didn't mind sharing recipes and were so attentive the entire time. My favourite was the rottu and dahl. Everyone was so friendly and helpful yet unobtrusive.

From the moment you stand at the top of the steps overlooking the ocean you feel relaxed. We can't wait to return next year! Thank you Jill, Jerome and everyone who helped make us feel extremely welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How truly relaxing it was and perhaps the view from the bathtub
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberley...
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Perfect Escape!!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I couldn't say enough fabulous things about this place...

I traveled here in a party of five (but we were joined by a family of four towards the end of our stay). The rooms were spacious and clean with fantastic bathroom spaces (I especially loved the tub and outdoor shower!) and there was plenty of space throughout the house for us to hang out in, the 'movie room', the indoor lounge area, outdoor lounge area, sunbeds and the dining terrace.

We spent most of our time relaxing by the infinity pool or at the beach below (strong swimmers only! But the sand is soft and lovely!) -- it was such a luxury to have the beach pretty much to ourselves! We even watched turtles in the waves by the rock pool!

The staff at the villa kept us well looked after and incredibly well-fed with a variety of Sri Lankan and western dishes (mostly Sri Lankan of course, absolutely delicious. Request the egg hoppers for breakfast, or the rotta for lunch!!) There were plenty of options for activities to do in and around the area (they have compiled a whole booklet of activities and contacts!!) and transport was easily arranged but we ended up doing very little apart from relaxing! I did take a day out to have a surf lesson on nearby Weligama beach, go out for dinner on Mirissa Beach and a morning out with Ramya to go to the fish market to buy the freshest tuna I have ever seen!

We arrived as five frazzled and tired souls and left recharged and rejuvenated. It was very hard to leave!! We are already planning our return trip next year!

Tremendous thanks to Jill and all the staff at Nisala -- it couldn't have been easier or better!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything!! The beach, the pool, the food, the sheets (!), the outdoor shower, the service... and how relaxed I felt the entire time I was there!
Liked least: Leaving!! :'(
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogdan A
Brasov, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We love this location”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We just returned from Sri Lanka and we spent a wonderful time in that beautiful location.
Everything was amazing, the villa looks 10x better than in pictures, it was very clean, the food was excellent, we really enjoyed the barbeque on the beach which was well prepared and the staff was really polite and helpful. The villa's manager showed us properly his managing skills and he organized great trips for us. These are some good reasons that we would like to go back there for.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The food
Liked least: Nothing to say
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fernap201...
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding villa with an amazing view”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We have spent a week during our Christmas holidays in Nisala Villa and we had a very pleasant time, thanks to the amazing architecture of the villa and the beautiful beach.
As you can see from the pictures of the villa, it really seems very very nice...but once you get there, you'll find out it's even more beautiful and cosy than you could imagine.
The beach it's wonderful, with no tourists and white sand.
The inifinity pool well reflects the attention at details that the owner had when constructing this complex. There's also a Jacuzzi and a gym well equipped. So nice also the Tv room and the dining area. The staff was very nice to us and I only think they should need a little more training to better understand hosts' needs. At the end, anyway, they were all nice and helpful.
The villa is very close to Mirissa beach, so if you want to have some evenings out, this is the best place to stay. ..peaceful feelings when at home, and a little more fun when in Mirissa beach!If you're planning to visit south Sri Lanka, this is the best place to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything!!!
Liked least: they should put a larger fridge near the dining area
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bec P
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
“Pure luxury!”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

I cannot recommend this villa highly enough. We stayed there over Christmas with a group of ten adults and the house was perfect for us. The staff were very helpful and even arranged a seafood barbecue on the private beach one day, which included a bonfire and fireworks. The pool and view are magnificent and you will not want to leave the house once you have checked in. Absolutely faultless!

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing