We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home in Mirissa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dream Palace Family Guest House
Ranked #6 of 186 Mirissa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A home in Mirissa”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Dream Palace is a new guesthouse and you can see that! Beautiful basic bright rooms with a good fan and an excellent bed and matress. The family is very welcoming and they make it feel like a home. They have a menu with a good variety and fair prices. 2 rooms are close to the street, but I didn't mind the noise. The beach is just around the corner! If you are homesick and you want to get a nice family-feeling, this is what you need!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greet_Marcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    20
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
74
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed her for a couple of nights on our tour of sri Lanka. Family are very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable and right by the beach although not on it. Great value for money. Thanks

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The rooms are clean and comfortable and there is a spacious and bright restaurant area where I spent a peaceful morning writing postcards and watching the world go by! The family here could not be better... they are really friendly, always smiling and very helpful. I have stayed elsewhere in Mirissa, but I would now always come back here! The people are lasanai and their food is rasai!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambagahanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

When we arrived in Mirissa we had no idea where to stay but as we got off the bus we where met by the owners son who literally took us 20 meters from the bus stop to the Dream Palace.

The family here where so friendly, always smiling and helpful and the price of the room was very reasonable for the area and very good for the standard of the guest house. We booked our whale watching trip here which was cheaper than anyone else and exactly the same trip.

We stayed 3 nights here, and after spending the day on the beach we would come back to the guest house to drink Sri Lankan tea and play a local board game "Carrom" with the family. They taught us the rules and showed us how to flick the carrom men. A really great local experience that both them and us enjoyed. If you stay there challenge them to a game, but be warned they are very good!

The guesthouse was spotlessly clean, the rooms all had on suit bathrooms, the bed and pillows were comfy, with mosquito nets and even though it was a little close to the road it really wasn't loud. The walk to the beach only took 30 seconds.

We also got our laundry washed here and everything was washed so well. Even my grubby white tee shirt came out looking like new!

I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to travellers who want to have a great Sri Lankan experience and to save a bit of money.

Tim & Kiri

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rambler592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Strange experience in this guesthouse where the owners do not talk english.
it is a family business, they live in the house.
We booked 2 rooms, and at the end they had multiplied by 4 the price!!!!!

I saw the son watching naked women in his computer (he can of course do what he wants, but not at customers sight at least).

They were not very "commercial" as they didn't have any laundry service, and they didn't seem very aware and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loubna064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dream_palace-1, Owner at Dream Palace Family Guest House, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Hello,

We are sorry to hear this. However, you sent the following email to us a full 10 days before your negative comments. Your messages are rather contradicting and do not make sense. If you would like to get in contact with us to discuss the matter further then please do.

The following is the email you sent on the 29th of December 2013:

"Hello,

We are the 4 girls (French students) who stayed 3 nights at your place in Mirissa. We left this morning.
We would like to come back to Mirissa on Tuesday morning.
Our stay in your guesthouse was nice, so we would like to confirm if the 2 double rooms can be booked for 3 more nights from Tuesday.
Thanks in advance for your confirmation .

Best regards
The 4 girls ;-)"

Regards,

Dream Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this little, friendly, family-run guesthouse. The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. The beach is only 2 min walking distance. Initially, we planned to stay only one night but due to this lovely and helpful family we decided to extend our stay for another 2 nights. A big "Thank you" to the family and good luck and all the best for the future of dream palace. We hope to see you soon. Cecile and Michael

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cecile_bergmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We had originally planned to stay for 2 nights in Dec '13 but ended up staying 3. Although not directly on the beach it is just 1 minute walk away. The rooms are very clean and although only have a ceiling fan are nice and cool. The little dining are is very nice also. We also booked whale watching through them which was pretty much the cheapest in town and just the same package as all the other companies.

We really had a good time here - many thanks to the family for everything!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam_W_1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.7 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 9 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Number ONE Mirissa
Number ONE Mirissa
#16 of 186 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sira's Chalets Mirissa
Sira's Chalets Mirissa
#26 of 186 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Peacock Villa
Peacock Villa
#2 of 186 in Mirissa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ancient Tree Guesthouse
Ancient Tree Guesthouse
#13 of 186 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradise Beach Club
Paradise Beach Club
#14 of 186 in Mirissa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Palace Family Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Palace Family Guest House

Property: Dream Palace Family Guest House
Address: Udupila Junction, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dream Palace Guest House is handles by a hospitable family and located in front of the Galle Road and 25m for Mirissa Beach.This place is good to spend your holiday happily and freshly.Room floor is tiled & very clean.Offer fresh foods.withing 1,2 minutes for communication center,ATM center,restaurants,bars and all the shops in mirissa. -all ROOMS (with hot water,free WI-FI and privet bathrooms) * Deluxe double room with fan * Deluxe double room with air-conditioning -free car parking -restaurant -scooters for rent -whales & dolphins watchig organizing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Dream Palace Family Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing