We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best Guest House we met”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bon Accord Guest House
Ranked #4 of 194 Mirissa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Probably the best Guest House we booked in Sri lanka during our trip ( with Nor Lanka in Unawatuna.
We stayed 2 nights mid April 2014 and my girlfriend was so desperate we could not stay in this GH more. The room was beautiful, very clean, we felt welcome and safe thanks to our host Prasad
The experience in this guest house is nearly what we think about our trip Sri lanka : a country of happy , gentle, begnin, and careful people .
So good vibes we felt in this place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank PIWAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonaccordmirissa, Owner at Bon Accord Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you so much for your very generous review of Bon Accord Mirissa,it is very much appreciated that you took the time to post on Trip Advisor and our booking agent web site as well as this is our first season of operation.
It is our sincere personal desire to make all our guests feel welcome,comfortable and valued, yet above all to feel that we provide a safe relaxing professional atmosphere at all times where the guest is everything.

Yours sincerely
Keith Brown
Co-owner
Bon Accord Mirissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed in the budget room in April 2014. It was so hot! We was very happy at the moment who the owner propsed the AC for 5 dollar more. Really great breakfast!!!!! Not on the beach (3 minutes walk)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALaPlageYuppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonaccordmirissa, Owner at Bon Accord Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you very much for your review it is much appreciated as this is our first season operating.
We were concerned that the budget room did not have the " option " of A/C about one month ago and took the initiative to install one immediately so that in the hot season guests may have the option of A/C after check in as most visitors are unaware of how hot, and humid it can become in the south during the early and late season, more so on the beach front properties .

The room will be further upgraded somewhat for the coming season with the addition of a better mattress and different double sized bed .

Regards
Keith Brown
Co-owner
Bon Accord Mirissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

What a great little guest house Bon Accord is. Clean, charming and great hospitality. Really good value. I was made to feel very welcome. Lovely breakfast especially the curds and honey. A really nice location close to the beach and away from the noise. There are monkeys in the trees nearby and a peacock. My host, Prasad helped arrange airport transfers, a massage at Badoga spa which i also recommend and also made up my room as early as he could so that I could check in when I arrived straight from the airport. Thank you. I really recommend staying here if you're in Mirissa.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonaccordmirissa, Owner at Bon Accord Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Hi Kate
thank you for your review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Bon Accord Mirissa.
As this is our first season we value all feed back from our guests and will endeavour to not only maintain the standards we have set for ourselves but to improve where possible for the next season.

Regards
Keith Brown
Co owner Bon Accord Mirissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Was very neat and clean and new. The included breakfast was absolutely lovely! The owner was quirky but very nice. The only negative review is that the owner has 4 sausage dogs as pets at the hotel and they barked all night long. Other than that it is a nice place to stay. We did find it very hard to find the hotel upon arrival in mirissa.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jenna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonaccordmirissa, Owner at Bon Accord Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you very much for your positive feed back.
We shall ensure that the dogs are kept in their kennel at night as they normally are to prevent any disturbance to guests in the future.

Regards
Keith Brown
Co-owner
Bon Accord Mirissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel, really close to the beach. Everything is new and clean. The host Prasad is also very friendly person, always ready to help and tries to do his best and he has cute little doggies.
+ location, service, cleanliness.
- price: a/c room is 3000rs more expensive than non a/c room,(4500rs). No hot water, only "normal".

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Анастасия К
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonaccordmirissa, Owner at Bon Accord Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you very much for your kind comments about Bon Accord Mirissa.
As this is our first season all feed back is most welcome and will be acted upon at the soonest convenience.

Regards
Keith Brown
Co-owner
Bon Accord Mirissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

It's the good place to stay in Mirissa. The host of the hotel is quite nice. We felt very satisfied with their breakfast. They provide a tradistional "pan cake" and nice tea. The room is brand new and clean. Every morning, the birds wake us up. It is only 2 minutes to go beach.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lily7322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonaccordmirissa, Owner at Bon Accord Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you very much for your kind comments about Bon Accord Mirissa.

Regards
Keith Brown
Co-owner
Bon Accord Mirissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
1.1 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 11 in Mirissa
263 reviews
0.7 mi away
Peacock Villa
Peacock Villa
#1 of 194 in Mirissa
326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dream Palace Family Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mirissa Hills
Mirissa Hills
#3 of 11 in Mirissa
120 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palm Villa
Palm Villa
#2 of 178 in Mirissa
645 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maison D'Hotes Sanda Beach
Maison D'Hotes Sanda Beach
#14 of 194 in Mirissa
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bon Accord Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon Accord Guest House

Address: Gunasiri Mahimi Mawatha 144/D, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Price Range: £24 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bon Accord Mirissa is conveniently located in the heart of Mirissa village.Originaly built in 2003 by Keith Brown the owner of Bon Accord as a family home, the entire property has undergone a full refurbishment in 2013 to be reinvented as Bon Accord Mirissa Guesthouse.The A/C rooms have king size four poster beds with additional fans if A/C is not required. There is a budget room upstairs with new double size extra long four poster bed,the room has fans and for the winter season 2014 now has the option of A/C for an additional charge. The first floor rooms have balcony and ensuite bathrooms. The newly re furbished ground floor room available in December will have king size four poster bed,re furbished ensuite bathroom,optional A/C at an additional cost and all the facilities of the first floor rooms except a balcony,however the verandah is always available at the front of the house for your convenience. All rooms are now equipped with digital safes and hair driers at no extra cost. Generously sized beach towels are available for a small deposit(refundable) and daily fee. Far enough from the beach (130 mtrs)less than two minutes walk and all the restaurants plus Mirissas now famous surf point. Making it conveniently close to attend all the beach party activities then escape the noisier elements of late night holiday parties to the peace and quiet of Bon Accord Mirissa Close enough to the harbour,five minutes walk,to enjoy whale watching tours. There is a twice weekly local fruit and vegetable market early mornings which is well worth a visit and just a few minutes walk from Bon Accord Mirissa where you can find a wide variety of fresh exotic local produce. Airport transfer should be made directly with Bon Accord Mirissa for availability and price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bon Accord Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing