We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Christian H
Munich, Germany

nice and pleasant

Review of Opal Resort
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Jan 2016via mobile
The place is quiet and not far away from the beach. It's clean and peaceful. The family who runs the resort is very friendly, attentive, professional and extra service oriented. We stayed there for 7 days and tried out several restaurants, but we nowhere found meals as good as in the Opal Resort.
Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.2 miles from Opal Resort
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £38
  • Official Hotel Site
0.1 miles from Opal Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Dream Palace
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.3 miles from Opal Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
  • Priceline
0.6 miles from Opal Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Main Entrance and Restaurant
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.7 miles from Opal Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £76
  • Hotels.com
1.0 miles from Opal Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £40
  • Priceline
1.1 miles from Opal Resort
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £39
  • Hotels.com
0.5 miles from Opal Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £23
  • Booking.com
0.4 miles from Opal Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £61
  • Hotels.com
1.2 miles from Opal Resort
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Mirissa
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
48
15
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
48
15
3
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Very clean and calm place near the beach. You get a lot of support you may need for sightseeing arround mirissa, ayurveda and other stuff. Ask for Sri Lankan breakfast and at least order on time dinner inhouse.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kmafr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 December 2015

Lovely family who sincerely looked after us during our 4 nights. The room is a bit tight with the large bed but as the reviews say it is clean. All the family are friendly and unobtrusive. It is definitely an advantage that Harry speaks English far better than at any other place we stayed in Sri Lanka. We understood a little more of the culture. We also went on a brilliant whale watching tour in a small boat, organised by Harry who got other guests together for a good price. Thank you Harry and family and best wishes for 2016.

Date of stay: December 2015
2  Thank IOMtravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 November 2015

On my 4th visit to Mirissa I’ve chose to stay in Opal resort. On my earlier visits I’ve stayed in three different places and compare to those this is the best place I’ve stayed. The last three places were all average and I didn’t even bother to write them a review. Opal felt like a second home to me. The management was friendly and I have no complains about the customer service. Rooms were clean and fresh covers were used on the bed. The pillows were comfortable and the bathroom was spotless. Because I am a picky person I care about all the small things. Everything shows that the Hospitality is on top of their priority list. Food was provided as I requested on time. It is essential when you pre-planned everything. The breakfast and the dinner were tasty and delightful. I love Sri Lankan cuisines (even though they are spicy). If you haven’t tried it my advice is to go mild on your first try. I stayed there for three days before I moved to the other side of the country. I can recommend anyone to stay in Opal resort because for me it worth every penny I paid.

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Uthpala W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 November 2015 via mobile

I had a great experience staying two nights at the Opal Resort. The staff were friendly and efficient. Everything is lovely, accommodation, food, their hosting. I would definetly recomend Opal Resort, Mirissa to any travellers heading to Mirissa, Sri Lanka.

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Kasun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 September 2015

I cant express enough gratitude for this guest house!!
The amazing family that runs the business is extremely friendly and gentle and took me in like a daughter. The rooms are absolutely spotless, and the food is easily one of the most delicious meals I have had in Sri Lanka. The breakfast was delicious as well as the dinner (pre-ordered and additional pay). It is a 5 minute walk to the beach and if you are wanting to sleep in a quiet environment, I recommend sleeping here rather than the beach, as there are parties almost every night.
As the family is local, they give great advice on planning your travels in Sri Lanka. Furthermore, there are yoga classes nearby at a hilltop temple, ayurvedic spas, and amazing kottu restaurants nearby that make your stay at Mirissa the most relaxing.
I do believe that it depends on when you go but I strongly advise to bring bug spray, as there are many mosquitoes in the afternoon. Also as there is no hot water, I would recommend to take showers when it is still warm outside.

Overall I really recommend this guest house, especially for those who are looking for a relaxing time in Mirissa.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Harukay2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews