We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 18:00
Save
Review Highlights
Brilliant!

We went out one morning from Mirissa on the lovely catamaran Jade. We couldn't avoid all the other... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
476David
,
London, United Kingdom
Truly an amazing experience

From the moment we boarded we were blown away by the catamaran and the crew. It was a 6 night... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
GeorgieeeC
,
Clovelly, Australia
via mobile
Read all 63 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Mirissa
from US$71.00
More Info
from US$855.34
More Info
from US$6.25
More Info
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
56
3
0
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
3
0
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snake island lovely swim paddle boarding lovely catamaran looked dangerous breakfast and lunch whale watching an amazing experience see whales excellent trip hour trip pod of dolphins marine life blue whale jade anchored lanka
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 29 February 2016

First days of January 2016 we, a family of four, made a private boat trip with Sail Lanka Charter on the "Jade", their latest and newest catamaran. We went for what they offer as the "Giant Loop". It includes the following : you arrive early in the morning, at around 6.30 h, coffee & tea are waiting for you and you set off for the sea, it takes 1 to 1 and 1/2 hour to arrive at the area where you can spot the whales, 3 full hot breakfast courses were served in the mean time, later on we continued sailing to nice spot and bay near the coast where you could swim, relax, enjoy the sun, paddle etc..... At around 13.00 h pm a full 4 course lunch was served and at about 2 pm we arrived again at Mirissa harbour from where we left. You can choose to go and see the whales on the average (what I would call) bus-boats who will take you to the spot and try to return as quickly as possible. You will pay an average of 50 US dollar each person and will be out 2 till 3 hours at the most. Taking a private boat trip will cost you a bit more but as soon as you are 4 or more, it's worthwile making it and you will enjoy a fantastic experience ! The captain, a sailor and the cook were all very polite, friendly, helpfull and very caring about everybodies and our kids safety. Never sailed on a catamaran before and have to say that it's a unique experience ! We all enjoyed a wonderful day, never to forget. Food was freshly prepared under our eyes ! All amenities available on board as well as a fully stocked bar ! Communication with them before and during the trip were excellent.

Date of experience: January 2016
1  Thank bart903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2016

I surprised the huzz with an overnight trip on Jade - it was the best. We got a speedboat to the catamaran then went for a little sail, had a sunset swim in weligama bay, ate a delicious dinner onboard and had a few drinks. Great night's sleep, with good quality bedding. Woke up early to go whale watching and felt like deadset celebrities out on the ocean amidst all the other whale-watching boats (the majority of who are completely bonkers and should be banned from going anywhere near a whale). The captains were very respectful of the whales which I appreciated. On the way back to mirissa bay we were accosted by hundreds of dolphins who seemed to love the boat and swam and played right up close with us for about half an hour - brilliant. We got back to mirissa bay and had a go on the paddle board before having a delicious lunch and disembarking. I can not recommend this experience enough. We were also lucky enough to have the boat to ourselves, if you can manage to book a cabin but get the whole boat you will love it even more. This is a must do. Do it. Do it.

Date of experience: February 2016
3  Thank vivalalanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeroen M, Manager at Sail Lanka Charter, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2016

Hi!

we really appreciate your review! Very nicely written and very much in detail :)

It is great to read how much you enjoyed the trip. While the whales are impressive animals, we also love the sights of the dolphins playing with the waves and the boat. You were lucky to have such a big pod playing for half an hour!

Thank you so much for your thoughts. Thank you. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016 via mobile

we had an amazing time on the pearl! The experience cannot be described by the pictures on the website. It's definitely one of the most beautiful yachts in mirissa. The food could have been better though.

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank Pavi137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2015

This was definitely a win on my sri lanka holiday! Will be back and will sail again, I absolutely loved it!

Date of experience: February 2015
Thank Karel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeroen M, Manager at Sail Lanka Charter, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2016

Thanks for joining our catamaran ride after your sailing training on the Minibees Karel Jan!! Looking forward to your next visit: maybe an overnight cruise on our newest boat Jade?

See you soon,

Jeroen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2015

We went to Sri Sail in December last year a few days before Christmas. It is run by Belgians who are very well trained and experienced in sailing. The place is located at the very end of the harbour.

About 16 of us went and we took 2 boats. The total was LKR 16,650 for both boats which are known as Minibee. We were on the boats from 10am to 1pm which was 3 hours of sailing and well worth it. We didn't feel the time pass and it works up a good appetite.

Getting out of the harbour was a slow process, but once we were out at sea and the sails set up the boat moved really fast and the wind was strong. The boat will tilt dangerously but this is perfectly normal in sailing. But probably good if people with squeamish stomachs not go since they won't be able to handle it. But in my opinion, the tilting made the sailing even more fun. Thankfully we didn't have anyone in our group like that. During sailing the experienced Pieter explained to us everything about sailing and allowed us to navigate the boat and handle the sails. Sailing is done purely on the force of the wind, so there is a lot of maneuvering of the sails and rudder and coordination from all of us. Even for beginners like us, this was fun and challenging, and we were well guided by Pieter and helped by the young boy who was learning sailing from him. Near the end of sailing you can jump out of the boat and cling on the trailing rope while the boat is moving. Do not let go because although you might think you can swim up and catch up to the boat, it's moving way faster than you realize.

Wear sunscreen and go in comfortable clothes because it's very hot out at sea and don't forget your swim suit as well. Sunglasses are a must because the glare is very strong on the water. There are no facilities near by to change, so wear your swim suit and clothes before you get there, since the harbour mainly facilitates the fishermen and not recreational activities. This part of Mirissa is very much a local's area and not touristy place, so treat it as such.

Date of experience: December 2014
1  Thank Sin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews