We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not return”

Little Tuna Sushi Cafe
Ranked #15 of 135 Restaurants in Mirissa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$6
Description: Cosy and colorful Sushi Restaurant in a big garden on the river in Mirissa. Relax in our hammocks, enjoy our homemade cheesecake and muffins and of course our delicious Sushi. We are right by the river, you can access us over our bridge, or from the road, right beside Dewmini Roti Shop. We also have one comfortable room for rent. Stay with us at Little Tuna and never be far away from your favorite food :)
Restaurant details
Description: Cosy and colorful Sushi Restaurant in a big garden on the river in Mirissa. Relax in our hammocks, enjoy our homemade cheesecake and muffins and of course our delicious Sushi. We are right by the river, you can access us over our bridge, or from the road, right beside Dewmini Roti Shop. We also have one comfortable room for rent. Stay with us at Little Tuna and never be far away from your favorite food :)
Reviewed 12 November 2018 via mobile

Just left the restaurant.

Didn’t think it was worth the time and money.

Total bill of LKR 3K for one person, excluding Tuk tuk of 700.

Ordered tuna sashimi, teriyaki prawns and ebi avacado roll.

The sashimi and prawns were fresh indeed. The roll was cut too big a piece. Very difficult for a lady to eat.

The service was good though.

There are many Sri Lankan cowboys in the restaurant and that didn’t make me feel safe as a solo traveller unless you are looking for some excitements.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Crystal2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little T, Owner at Little Tuna Sushi Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2018

Thanks a lot Crystal2807 for your honest comment and review. We do really appreciate writing down your feeling about us.
If you in generally do not feel super comfortable with restaurants which are runned from lokals you should better go restaurants which are from foreigners.
Little Tuna is a restaurant from young lokals who are all well opened and generous to every visitor and we would have been happy if you would have been also open and directly and have spoke to us with your uncomfortably. We sure we would have showed you with the opposite.
We do think that the price for a big plat with a even bigger portion was quite fair.
By the way the tuk tuk is not in our business

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2018 via mobile

Good quality sushi fresh caught from mirissa area. Mainly tuna prawn and crab as that is what is mainly caught locally. Great vibes and friendly staff. Good place to come and chill

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank cjsingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

It is a very nice location. It's a bit hidden but because of that extremely relaxing.
The sushi was great and completely fresh with local ingredients.
If you love sushi, this is the place to go in Mirissa!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank maltewoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018 via mobile

I‘ ve Been There several times With friends and i absolutly recommend „ Little Tuna“ for the following reasons :

-the Sushi is Reality good amd Fresh.
And what I really want to comment is That they decided To use only local Fish .
This is very advanced, eco Friendly and Supports the local Fishermen! Thumbs up

-It is a beautiful quiet Place , with a Huge Garden , you can either sit like the traditionell way on the Floor or be separated with Friends in usual hight , hidden in the Garden or at the bar area. Or have a rest in the Hammock

- Sushi is simply a Great variety if you once or twice want to eat something different the Curry or cottu..

-the Price is valued

-the Personal is very nice and helping
I got Good tips From Them for my trip

Go There

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Naima J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018 via mobile

The place and the food is so good. I realy like it. I can just reccomend that place. And the sushirolls are always fresh and delicious.
And the price is right too.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank yeldaswelty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Tuna Sushi Cafe also viewed

Mirissa, Southern Province
Mirissa, Southern Province
 
Mirissa, Southern Province
Mirissa, Southern Province
 
Mirissa, Southern Province
Mirissa, Southern Province
 

Been to Little Tuna Sushi Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing