We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bygone era”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Visalam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Visalam
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kanadukathan
Certificate of Excellence
Belgique
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bygone era”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Imagine a beautiful house in which all the charm of art deco period has remained. Luxurious by the media used for its construction: White marble from Italy, black from Belgium, glass lanterns in Belgian Val St Lambert, teak wood from Burma.....but more than that for this Chettinad mansion cleverly converted into a 7 rooms hotel, is managed by a very helpful manager and his staff all extremely and naturally kind and ready to assist you whenever necessary and make you feel at home away from home. Worth mentioning is the refusal of a housekeeper to be tipped as there was, did she say a Tips box at the reception! This gives you the "Spirit" of that House !
Located in a very interesting area, would strongly recommend it. Enjoyed our three nights spent there.

Room Tip: I cannot compare but would recommend one at the back. Ours was I think 108
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ethnos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    31
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
42
118
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
69 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

I go along with most reviewers: lovely restored building. Smart rooms. Remember to bring beer with you (they will provide ice in a bucket). "Jiji" (manager) was very helpful. We had car and driver on our TN tour, but wish we had taken up the offer of one of the hotel staff as a local guide : there are so many little villages , its tricky to find these old mansions without local knowledge. (the brief morning village "tour" by bullock cart is a bit cheesy , but just go with the flow...)
Like others we found the "cobra/key" farrago on check-in a pain.
I must say we were underwhelmed by the food. Breakfast is pretty frugal and not exactly a leisurely experience. At dinner, the chef clearly likes to be "clever" , but creates rather weird concoctions. Rather amateurish to be frank (and not cheap). Again we were annoyed by a smoker . They really should ban it. We find the whole CGH "environmental" thing a bit irritating...just an excuse for mean minded petty things? Still , overall well worth a nights stay..

Room Tip: upper floor , some rooms have private balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alann6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here mid January this year and could not have been more delighted with every aspect of the hotel. The staff were delightful and attentive, the room very comfortable, the garden and pool beautiful, the building a beautifully renovated Chettinad mansion, the food excellent and a very interesting cookery demonstration from chef, Ramu was hugely informative about the area which is fascinating and the wifi worked fine for us. If you can't manage without a drink or super speed wifi then maybe India is not for you but if you want a really relaxing, comfortable and interesting stay I highly recommend this wonderful hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
149 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

CGHearth justly pride themselves on their green credentials and their commitment to the environment.

At Visalam this includes a policy of having no television, and no refrigerator in the room. Since the government of Tamil Nadu refused liquor license permits for hotels of fewer than 21 beds, the hotel now has no alcohol. It may be just a little austere for the guest looking for a few modern comforts along with nursing their ecological beliefs. It helps if you are aware of the facts before arriving. We had been mistakenly informed by our agents that wine and beer was available at meals. Alas no more.

As with all CGHearth properties the building has been sensitively and stylishly restored.

It is a beautiful property set in a small garden of flowering trees and shrubs and the sunbirds flocked to the shrubs outside our door. The region is famous for the traditional floor tiles produced in village workshops. The floor tiles in the foyer of Visalam are old traditional tiles of exquisite quality.

It is popular with American, French and English small tour groups.

Our room on the ground floor was spacious and airy. With a dressing room and bathroom we were well accommodated. The beds were very comfortable. The door opened onto a little terrace and garden that was a quiet and a pleasant place in which to sit.

The gardens continue to an excellent pool in an enclosed area. There’s a small bar and loungers.

The locally produced fine Chettinad cotton provides towels for the bathroom. They are thin sheets which are superb for hand towels but are not really adequate to dry a tall adult and ends up as a wet rag. We mentioned it to the manager who had them replaced on the second day of our stay.

The guest relations manager, Ramu, is a great asset to the hotel. As a local man from a Chettinad family he knows the history and geography of the area intimately. He has excellent English and great communication skills. We thought his guided tours on two days were as good as any we have ever had during our many years of travelling in India. We were privileged to be invited to his home, a traditional mansion of sixty-four rooms.

The village is a wonderful place in which to wander. There is much to see and local people are friendly and welcoming.

On our arrival at Visalam, as we mounted the stairs to the entrance of the hotel, a young woman standing on the top steps sprinkled us with water from what Catholics will know as an aspergillam. A bit of a surprise, but there you go. We accepted the traditional -looking scarves and began the check in.

We were invited to sit down on a low settee. We handed in our passports and voucher for the usual reception formalities. The young lady who stood in front of us delivered her welcome speech unrelentingly. It was all material that could and should have been given in a leaflet or on a single sheet of A4. The history of the hotel might more usefully be printed from the website. We felt rather like school children being instructed. The fact that we were sitting and she standing over us didn’t help. We didn’t enjoy it after our tiring day, we wanted to check in, get to our rooms and wash up. The introduction was unrelenting.
The climax came when she asked us, “Do you like surprises?”
We answered, “It depends” and “Not especially.”
She ignored the response and produced a wooden box.
“Here I have a live cobra. Put your hands on the front of my box.
Go on, it is a real cobra and I want you both to place your hands on the box here.”
Reluctantly and unenthusiastically we did so.
“Are you ready? Remember it is a live cobra.”
We looked at her.
“I am going to open it up. Keep your hands where they are…”
She teased a little longer and then opened the box.
It contained a large room key.

The fault was not with the receptionist, it is with whoever designed such an unappealing fey ritual, more suited to eight year old children than to the level of tourism to which the property aspires. She then gave us a tour of the property before freeing us to go to our room. We found it to be an unpromising start to our stay.

We hope the management will reconsider this unwelcome welcome routine.

Our first dinner at Visalam was a disappointment. We were rather taken aback at when, after waiting for fifty minutes for our fish grill, and after it arrived, a diner at a nearby table lit up, and we ate our meal accompanied by cigarette smoke. The reaction of the staff was to bring an ash-tray. It must have been difficult for them to challenge assertive Europeans, but some small no smoking signs in the dining area might have clarified the position. The hotel says it is a non-smoking property, and where is it more important than in the dining area during meals service? The food itself at our first dinner was frankly indifferent.

Though there was a considerable amount of cupboard space in the room there was no place where one could hang things. The space provided, with cut-out coat-hangers, was not deep enough to hang a shirt or a jacket. The manager said he would remove shelves under the rail and make a full-length wardrobe from the armoire.

These may be considered as trivial comments and we must add emphatically that when we drew the general manager’s attention to them he apologized profusely and immediately rectified those things that could be easily changed.

By the second day the situation was transformed. We changed from being unhappy guests to enjoying our stay.

We had the service and the charm that the many reports in TripAdvisor describe so enthusiastically. In fact we might have been in a different hotel. We had an excellent dinner with fresh and perfectly cooked seafood. The courses were all interesting, carefully prepared and it was all thoroughly delightful.

Wi-Fi in Visalam is free and reliable. It is peaceful and quiet.

We would recommend Visalem as a memorable place to stay and the region is certainly full of interest and unforgettable places.

On top of its game Visalam is superb.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boulbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

The premises are undeniably nice, but the hotel is located on a road with the usual honking beeping Tamil Nadu traffic and near a railway line. A room at the back is essential. The hotel is hugely overpriced for what is only 3 star, twice the price of much better hotels we stayed in during our tour of TN. The internet didn't work either in my room or the public parts and I had to sit on the floor outside another room to cadge off their signal. The rooms have no TV or minibar. The hotel is dry, as in no alcohol, not even beer with dinner. The food is good but again, very overpriced. The waiters are always saying "sorry, we don't have...." White bread, rolls, croissants, bacon, tonic water etc". I felt thoroughly ripped off, especially having been to two other hotels of this same group, which are much, much better.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jsummer18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Okay, definitely not cheap by Indian standards and to be honest there isn't much to do in Kanadukathan.... BUT, this place is heaven! The hotel is a former mansion and is run like clockwork by a team that gives you the impression you're their only guest. The food is divine, seriously, and if you have the time you can go for the open kitchen experience to see how these amazing flavours are achieved.
The rooms are stunning, the bathroom was beautifully finished and the whole experience had a luxurious yet totally unpretentious feel.
There is a fab swimming pool as well, and, in keeping with the strong ethical and environmentally conscious ethos of the company that owns it, the pool has a biological cleaning system that uses no chemicals.
Very highly recommended for a pampered and extremely relaxed break from the hustle of the bigger Tamil Nadu cities.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Carlo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
184 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Luxury in a classic mansion. Beautifully and carefully restored. The staff were attentive and always had a smile. We arrived very late to a warm welcome. The rooms are well appointed and a pleasant surprise. The food was delicious and the dining setting quite nice. The grounds are well maintained. The manager personally greeted us and shared information regarding the history of the property. Upon departure, the staff lined up and waved goodbye.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank waterfall9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kanadukathan
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Sathyam
#1 of 1 in Pudukkottai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
4.4 mi away
Chidambara Vilas Chettinad
Chidambara Vilas Chettinad
#1 of 4 in Pudukkottai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chettinadu Mansion
Chettinadu Mansion
#2 of 2 in Kanadukathan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chettinadu Court
Chettinadu Court
#2 of 5 in Karaikudi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
2.7 mi away
Saratha Vilas
Saratha Vilas
#1 of 1 in Kothamangalam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
6.1 mi away
Nachi Residency
Nachi Residency
#2 of 14 in Karaikudi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Visalam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Visalam

Property: Visalam
Address: Kanadukathan L F Road, Kanadukathan 630103, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanadukathan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kanadukathan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Visalam 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visalam ( A CGH Earth Experience) is where you would want to go to experience a unique Tamil culture. Located in Kanadukathan village in chettinad, Visalam has many a stories to tell of the heritage, culture, food and people of this interesting tamil community, the chettiars. Stay at Visalam for that journey back in time and for that warm tamil hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Visalam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Visalam Hotel Kanadukathan
Visalam Kanadukathan, India - Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing