We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back in time”
Review of Visalam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Visalam
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kanadukathan
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
1 review
“Back in time”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I am still thinking about this place 6 months after our trip to India. It was definitely the highlite of our trip. As an architect I may overvalue the accomodations, but everything was wonderfully constructed and restored. I felt a little funny having staff waiting on us as though we are royalty. But the food and pool are outstanding. The room we stayed in was huge with beautiful lights and lovely floor tile. We woke up to coffee in the game room and returned to our room to stretch out for yoga. Dinner was really unlike anything I have ever eaten. I have never previously tasted such distinct flavors in each bite of food. George, the cook, was extremely pleasant and fun in our cooking demonstration. The management and staff was very concerned about ever comment or concern that we had. The tile shop trip was also amazing (again I am an architect).

Rob Kelly

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    32
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
42
120
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

You MUST MUST stay at this gorgeous, intimate, eco friendly hotel where the rooms are cool, beautifully decorated and the pool is inviting.The tour of Chettinad given by the guest relations guy Ramu was one of the most interesting we had in all of India. Chettinad has an amazing history and the palatial homes we visited were quite jaw- dropping. Jeje, the Manager stops to chat with you at every opportunity and ensures that not only you get a beautiful welcome, but cookies and a staff wave goodbye.My only regret is that I did not request more spice in my dinner meal as I found it bland for an area known for its fiery cuisine.If you are in South India, ensure you stay here, as you will not be disappointed. WOW!

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious, beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirike123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yverdon-les-Bains, Switzerland
Level Contributor
182 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

a fairly recent palace, renovated with taste, beautiful furniture in nice big rooms. A lovely garden with a swimming pool. A professional management and staff helpful and smiling. Almost Heaven. Only downside the restaurant, good but with a very limited choice while the chettinad cuisine is one of the most varied choice of India

Room Tip: 1st floor has private balcon not ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank domdom69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed in a standard (Double) Room 201 February 8 and 9th. A wonderful,relaxing experience. Note: no television, no booze. The recently renovated house and grounds are beautiful. We found the red tiled room big and a good shower in the bathroom. A warm, familial staff were ever busy cleaning or preparing for meals. CGH Earth needs to make a much better attempt with its web-site. More pictures and greater honesty with regards to the amenities would mitigate disappointments For example, set mealtimes, drinks, tv, wi-fi availability. Overall, a very enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: 201 was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffreyP647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We had a two night stay in this charming converted Art Deco Mansion.It is wonderful, the gardens and pool area were great and the staff especially Je-Je the manager.Our room was excellent, huge with a separate bathroom Nd dressing room. Our criticism would be the food, we were very disappointed with the selection and also the execution and as there is no alternative we think it should be much better than it was.Notwithstanding that a very enjoyable stay

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank b80bb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
old windsor
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

After seeing the many 5 star reviews I felt confident that we would enjoy or stay here. We have travelled all over India and stayed in a variety of accommodation from the Oberoi in Calcutta, The Taj hotels, heritage hotels similar to Visalam, small hotels, guest houses and homestays. We had decided to stay at Visalam after 3 weeks travelling in Tamil Nadu hoping for a bit of luxury before we returned home.
There are many positive points
* the building is very attractive and well preserved.
*the rooms are large, comfortable and attractive....the T towel type towels not great but as most other guests did, you can use the pool towels.
*the pool is a good size, organically treated in a lovely setting.
*the village is wonderful , we used hotel bikes to cycle around each day...there is plenty to see and it is a friendly very interesting place.

the problems were
* the breakfast setting is grubby as are the pots of jam....breakfast is very basic, we stayed in a guest house in Pondicherry the week before where the breakfast was a feast with 4 generous portions each of fresh tropical fruit,curd, fresh juice, good bread, good jam, eggs, dosas all for a fifth of the cost of Visalam.
* the food for lunch and dinner was okay but a bit bland and not as good as many cafes and cheap hotels.
*this hotel is alcohol free, the first night they had two cans of tonic available and then ran out. They were unable to get any more for the next two nights. The excuse was that they were isolated. One day we took a local bus to the next town, a 15 minute journey, everything was available here
*Most of of the staff are delightful but some of the front of house staff are a bit ineffectual.

these complaints may sound petty but at £140 a night you would expect more.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milksop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgique
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Imagine a beautiful house in which all the charm of art deco period has remained. Luxurious by the media used for its construction: White marble from Italy, black from Belgium, glass lanterns in Belgian Val St Lambert, teak wood from Burma.....but more than that for this Chettinad mansion cleverly converted into a 7 rooms hotel, is managed by a very helpful manager and his staff all extremely and naturally kind and ready to assist you whenever necessary and make you feel at home away from home. Worth mentioning is the refusal of a housekeeper to be tipped as there was, did she say a Tips box at the reception! This gives you the "Spirit" of that House !
Located in a very interesting area, would strongly recommend it. Enjoyed our three nights spent there.

Room Tip: I cannot compare but would recommend one at the back. Ours was I think 108
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ethnos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kanadukathan
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Sathyam
#1 of 1 in Pudukkottai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
4.4 mi away
Chidambara Vilas Chettinad
Chidambara Vilas Chettinad
#1 of 4 in Pudukkottai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chettinadu Mansion
Chettinadu Mansion
#2 of 2 in Kanadukathan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chettinadu Court
Chettinadu Court
#2 of 5 in Karaikudi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
2.7 mi away
Saratha Vilas
Saratha Vilas
#1 of 1 in Kothamangalam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
6.1 mi away
Nachi Residency
Nachi Residency
#2 of 15 in Karaikudi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Visalam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Visalam

Property: Visalam
Address: Kanadukathan L F Road, Kanadukathan 630103, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Sivaganga District > Kanadukathan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kanadukathan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Visalam 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visalam ( A CGH Earth Experience) is where you would want to go to experience a unique Tamil culture. Located in Kanadukathan village in chettinad, Visalam has many a stories to tell of the heritage, culture, food and people of this interesting tamil community, the chettiars. Stay at Visalam for that journey back in time and for that warm tamil hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Visalam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Visalam Hotel Kanadukathan
Visalam Kanadukathan, India - Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing