We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice time”
Review of Chettinadu Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chettinadu Mansion
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kanadukathan
Certificate of Excellence
Le Mans, France
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very nice time”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

During our visit in Kanadukathan we had lunch at the Chettinadu Mansion.
We had a great welcome and were directed to the different mansions to be visited in the village.
Then we had a tour of the Chettinadu Mansion and enjoyed a great typical lunch there.
The kids loved eating on banana leaves. The food was excellent and not too spicy for our european mouths! Staff was very kind.
A great break! We look forward to coming back and stay for a night!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Cécile C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANUP000, AGM- BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT at Chettinadu Mansion, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for enjoying our services.

We earnestly look forward to providing all our guest with best our services at all times.

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    75
    26
    14
    12
See reviews for
49
83
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geel, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We have been in Chettinadu Mension april 2013 for 2 nights.Had a reservation for room with terras,but when we arrived they told us that te room was not free,and we got a room at the back side(dark)in this room the aircon did not work,so they shoved us an other room at the back side,,,this aircon did not work,,so,,miracle! at once the room with terras was free!!!( at this moment we where only 2 couples in the Mansion)on the picturs you see on internet!!!,a nice clean terras,,with nice seats and table,,ours was dirty,and we had 2 schabby plastic chairs,theese where dirty and old,no table.everywhere schit from birds.The only thing,I could STAY on the terras early morning looking down to the street.We visited the village,and also did a horse car ride,and visited some privat mansions,verry interesting.After our trip,,,now a nice dip in the swimming pool!! No swimming pool at the Mansion,but 1 blok away,we had to ask 2times on the way before we found the swimming pool,.Swimmingpool is a big word,a small (3.5-4m max)verry smal pool behind 4hight wals.No cabin for changing closes,,only the massage room for changing,and after the dip,,,the shower did not work,the lady gave us a bucket with water.The food in the Mansion was ok,and the waiters friendly.We where verry disapointed,about the room,the bathroom,(verry,verry basic)Don't trust the pictures on internet.

Room Tip: Ask a room street side!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolly04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANUP000, AGM- Business Development at Chettinadu Mansion, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Sir,

Sorry to read that you could not enjoy your stay.

We have taken note on your concerns as we would like to make sure that everything is kept in place and to prove that Chettinad Mansion is the best.

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Staying in this family run, over 100 years old mansion "hotel" was quite an unusual experience for us. We found the building interesting and unlike anything we had seen before. The decor in our room was intriguing to say the least. Very detailed paintwork in yellows and browns. The room was gloomy because the windows needed to be shuttered at all times to keep out the heat - no glass, only bars. The bathroom was accessed via a "dressing room", then up some steep stairs which was a little tiresome after a while and it was extremely hot! The air conditioner in the bedroom was effective, but very noisy. The massive courtyard and balconies looked great, but were too hot for us to enjoy. The food on our first day was not memorable, but the second day, after we had convinced them that we enjoyed spicy food was great. The staff were friendly, keen to please and helpful with regard to local places of interest. We enjoyed our visit, but think one day would have been enough to explore the village which is like a living museum. So many huge, ancient mansions, many of which are empty, way out in the middle of no where. Amazing!
Not a lot to do here apart from explore the village by bullock cart and tour a couple of other mansions, visit nearby Karaikudi and check out the antique shops and restaurants, also huge rock fort and temple 10kms away.
Not sure about value for money as it was booked by our tour company.

Room Tip: Check the A/C noise. Some may find the stairs difficult because they are steep and narrow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toppies_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANUP000, AGM- Business Development at Chettinadu Mansion, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for staying at Chettinad.

As rightly mentioned everything is so historical.

Our sincere request is to share your good experiences with your near and dear ones.

Warm Regards

Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This is a wonderful family run "merchants" hotel. Excellent staff, clean rooms fantastic situation and fine local food. We stayed one night and wished it had been longer can really recommend for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: All rooms in the main building are excellent. No alcohol allowed though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilmslow_People
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANUP000, AGM- Business Development at Chettinadu Mansion, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Chettinadu Mansion.

As rightly said Chettinadu Mansion take us back in time and also we look forward to showcase such experiences to all our guest choosing Chettinad as their destination

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Changanacherry, India
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

This 40,000 sq ft 'family home' in a quaint little village named Kanadukathan is a gem. The living mansion offers u a glimpse into this remarkable people 'Chettiars' or 'Nagarthars' who built during their hey days not one or one hundred but 11,000 such mansions.
The rooms are painted slightly garishly, tastefully furnished. No pool in the mansion but they have a pool just across the road. There is no menu as such but the food which is authentic Chettinadu food is just great. When we left they packed some snacks for us too without asking.
The patriarch Mr. Chandramouli regaled us with many stories and his son Muthu is the brain behind the beautiful and informative video and booklet on Chettinadu.
Do not miss the bullock cart ride through the clean and serene village roads.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lintoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANUP000, AGM- Business Development at Chettinadu Mansion, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for highlighting what Chettinad is all about

We really appreciate your overall feedbacks about the property and at the same time we are looking forward for you support at all times.

Thanks and Warm Regards


Anup Balan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Extremely unhappy and disappointed. The property lacks professionalism. For the high tariffs they charge we expected better attention and quality of service. Very nice traditional heritage property but the food and beverage team requires lot of training in terms of taste of food and service. I had high expectations in terms of chettinad cuisine and food, the staff definitely require some form of training. The rooms are very claustrophobic and the bathrooms have plastic buckets , plastic towel racks,plastic shower curtains the whole decor needs improvisation. Not luxury but simple neat attention to detail is missing.

A traditional heritage experience is completely spoilt thanks to inefficient staff. The towels are really rough and have a bad chemical smell. Really chettinad was the highlight of my Tamil Nadhu trip but I guess the wrong choice of property completely spoilt it for me and my family. Absolutely no value for me.

The management needs to look into this and improvise on the food and their services. Also the bathrooms need some attention , they can place simple brass buckets and mugs which are easily available in local towns. Bath and bed linen has to be upgraded and maintained better. The restaurant ambience, cutlery , crockery , tablecloths , food presentation each and every aspect needs to be improvised.
Staff uniforms or some grooming standards have to be adopted. Very mediocre property . Will not recommend it to anyone or come back ever to stay.

The massage rooms are terrible. No ambience or maintenance . The therapists are really good but the rooms are so bad. Management really needs to work on this. Why do you even offer these type of services if basic cleanliness can't be taken care of.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sitara_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANUP000, AGM- Business Development at Chettinadu Mansion, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Sir,

Please accept our sincere apologies as you could not enjoy the Chettinad experience.

We have taken note on your concerns as every detail mentioned has be thoroughly read and understood.

We assure all our valued travel partners as necessary action will be taken to provide the best of the services at all times.

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

As others have noted, and their reviews make classic reading, chettinadu mansion divides opinions.

It is a slightly down at heel palace lost in a beautiful town. Comfortable, yes. Rooms clean, a/c, comfortable beds, terrace (although pretty intolerable in the heat), very friendly welcome, good (but not outstanding) food. Luxury, no. No tv, no safe, no swipe cards, no on site pool.

Herein lies its charm. Only the bare bones have been changed to permit its use as a hotel. The result is a delightfully quirky, almost ethereal, taste of yesteryear such as can only be found in India. The rise and fall of the chettiyars is truly palpable.

I stayed at the Bangala the night before but Chettinadu mansion was an infinitely more interesting experience. 100% recommended.

A note to the management: please ignore all requests to sanitise this hotel - it is absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Almcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANUP000, AGM- Business Development at Chettinadu Mansion, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Sir,

It gives us immense pleasure to read through your staying experience in Chettinadu Mansion.

We hope you can share your everlasting memories with all your dear and near ones.

Warm Regards

Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kanadukathan
0.3 mi away
Visalam
Visalam
#1 of 2 in Kanadukathan
230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sathyam
Hotel Sathyam
#1 of 1 in Pudukkottai
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Rameswaram
Hyatt Place Rameswaram
#3 of 19 in Rameswaram
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Bluebell Residency
Bluebell Residency
#3 of 5 in Karaikudi
5 reviews
4.3 mi away
Chidambara Vilas Chettinad
Chidambara Vilas Chettinad
#1 of 4 in Pudukkottai
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chettinadu Court
Chettinadu Court
#2 of 5 in Karaikudi
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chettinadu Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chettinadu Mansion

Property: Chettinadu Mansion
Address: 11 S A R M House Ar Street | behind Raja's Palace, Kanadukathan 630103, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Sivaganga District > Kanadukathan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kanadukathan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chettinadu Mansion 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Chettinadu Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chettinadu Mansion Hotel Kanadukathan
Chettinadu Mansion Kanadukathan, India - Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing