We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hospitality and nature”
Review of Casa dos Matos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa dos Matos
Ranked #4 of 4 Alvados B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 July 2009

We had the pleasure of staying 2 weeks with Gita and Rui and enjoyed the hotel, the hikes and the cooking at casa dos matos. If you want to combine luxury, nature and culture this is the place for you! Annelie en Marijn Westerink

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank librarianUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2008

We recently spent five nights at Casa dos Matos (couple with 2 kids aged 6 and 8). This small hotel is a modern restoration which blends in harmoniously with the surrounding village, and which provided our base from a trip to explore a region of outstanding natural beauty.

We rented a car at Lisbon Airport and it took us about 1½ hour’s drive to reach Casa dos Matos in the small villlage of Alvados in the Serra de Aires e Candeeiros Natural Park.

There are eight lovely bedrooms with TV, private bathroom, and a sofa with extra bed. We stayed in a charming room (called "Earth Room") elegantly furnished in minimalist style with a huge panoramic tub and a lovely little terrace.

The atmoshphere is very relaxed, homely and close to nature. We highly recommend this place!

Rita and Rui were our welcoming and enthusiastic hosts, and they had taken great care to ensure that we would will feel at home!

We had dinner at Casa dos Matos most nights - Rita's cooking is absolutely delicious. Rita prepares tasty meals using fresh local ingredients!


Outdoor facilities include a garden with swimming pool, badminton, terrace and bicyles free of charge.

Overall Casa dos Matos exceeded our expectations and we can not recommend it enough!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank smourao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank BushBeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Faites confiance au manager !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marc_Chantal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank FilipaPim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Joachim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alvados
9.8 mi away
Hotel Casa do Outeiro
Hotel Casa do Outeiro
#1 of 4 in Batalha
367 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Batalha
Hotel Villa Batalha
#3 of 4 in Batalha
404 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cooking and Nature - Emotional Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Retiro Da Avo Lidia
Retiro Da Avo Lidia
#1 of 7 in Porto de Mos
49 reviews
6.2 mi away
Quinta Rio Alcaide
Quinta Rio Alcaide
#1 of 2 in Porto de Mos
24 reviews
2.9 mi away
Flor da Serra - Casa de Campo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa dos Matos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa dos Matos

Address: Rua Dom Fuas Roupinho, Alvados 2480-032, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Alvados
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Alvados
Price Range: £67 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa dos Matos 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the green valley of Alvados, surrounded by the imposing limestone massifs, Casa dos Matos is a modern restoration which blends in harmoniously with the surrounding village, and which provides a base from which to explore a region of outstanding natural beauty.Situated in the villlage of Alvados in the Serra de Aires e Candeeiros Natural Park, about 1 hour drive north of Lisbon, and close to the coast at Nazaré. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa dos Matos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing