We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have just returned from my...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Petit St. Vincent Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I have just returned from my first visit to PSV in about ten years. The cottages have been updated and a beach bar and spa added but the essence of the place remains the same.

The food is better. The dinner menus are varied and imaginative and the execution, superb. Lunch at the beach bar is a welcome innovation. Breakfast is very good with the single exception of the croissants which are heavier than in the past. On the other hand, the the pastry basket is more varied.

The cottages now have a mini-bar/refrigerator and a Nespresso machine (to compliment the still-excellent room service.)

There was a large box of Neuhaus chocolates, champagne and a jar of home made cookies in each of our cottages to welcome us -- in addition to pina coladas as we stepped ashore from Captain Maurice's boat. And there was a bagged lunch when we left.

I came with my family which included a well behaved 2 1/2 year-old. That might have been a problem but it was not. And my grandson had a ball. He loved it: the beach, the birds, the hiking trails, the hammocks, the swimming and boating, and the food. He is eager to go back and so are we all.

The staff at PSV were, as ever, marvelously helpful and friendly. The grounds are well-tended. The food, as noted above, is delicious. And the cottages are extremely comfortable. (They have even gotten rid of the bumpy stone floors in the showers.) And the A/C in the bedroom was welcome if not really necessary.

A word about price: PSV is not cheap. But it was far more reasonable than the somewhat comparable Guana Island. The pampering, privacy and space that PSV provides are unmatched in my experience and well worth the price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FI_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2013

My wife and I have just left PSV following a wonderful 2 week stay, we were keen to see how the island looked now that it has a new owner
when we heard that the island had been newly purchased and had undergone a renovation we were worried that the island had been radically changed upsetting the unique characteristics that have encouraged us back regularly over 10 years,
We should not have worried the island looks great
the new owner a Texan oil magnate, has invested heavily and the new management team are doing an good job
the island I am surprised to say actually runs and looks the better than we have seen it in all of our visits.
We were very happy with the look of our cottage
Having a king bed instead of two smaller beds was a relief and the removal of the noisy window shutters a blessing we could actually get through the entire night without being woken up by the clacking
the food at PSV has always been erratic however this trip we could not fault any of the meals, the chef is using more modern dishes compared to the older heavy cream based varieties that were the norm in the past years, a very balanced menu of fish and meat and all were cooked very well
The new beach restaurant was a nice addition my wife ate lobster nearly every day from the fresh pool they have
The service is very attentive but not over the top a very professional balance
All in all, if the new owner keeps the island and the managers carry on doing what ever they are doing we will continue to return as often as our bank account will allow
Well done

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Our first visit to PSV was more than twenty years ago on honeymoon. We went back for our anniversary ten years ago and we returned with our teenage children (now 19 and 17) for a week over New Year 2013. The island is as beautiful as ever and the hard work of the gardeners maintains the balance between the natural beauty of the beaches and the native plants and the opportunity for the guests in the twenty two cottages to enjoy their own favourite private spot. We like the hammocks on the quieter West End and the views over Conch Bay.
The investment from the new owners in the island infrastructure means that everything works well and the cottages have been updated to offer luxury accommodation with a tasteful and relaxed caribbean style. Our cottage was on the Atlantic side with cooling trade winds and a great sunrise every morning.The food is very good now with choices for breakfast brought to your room, buffet lunches or your choice of lunch brought to you at your beach hammock and a mix of local produce and interesting dishes for dinner. There is also the choice of dining at the new beach bar which was popular with visiting yachts over the holiday period. Service is friendly and personal. From the first day we had a drink at the bar our names and favourite drinks were remembered by the team.
Guests at PSV can choose if they want to relax every day in a hammock or enjoy some activities. We played tennis on the well maintained court and one of the highlights was sailing on the 42 foot Windward Islands yacht "Beauty" built by Jeff Stevens. Jeff has been at PSV for many years and is a great host on board. Relaxed, charming and incredibly knowledgeable about the islands and sailing in these waters. A day snorkelling at Tobago Cays or a trip to the many other beautiful bays is not to be missed. Barbecued prawns for lunch! The new spa is very good too.
PSV is a beautiful island, with your own special private space. The cottages are in great locations on the island and and the central bar and restaurant have views across the secluded anchorage. All with a very helpful and friendly team to look after you. We will be back again soon!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Just returned from a one week visit and thought I would add to all the reviews things that were missing or incomplete. Arriving: Very well handled and smooth using Mustique Air to get you quickly out of Barbados to Union Island then meeting you at the airport there and putting you on the boat for a 15 minute ride to PSV. I worried about getting soaked or windblown getting to PSV but you ride inside the large motor yacht so wearing a raincoat is not necessary. Once you arrive at the island, you are met by Matt, the manager, who gives you a brief overview of the island and takes you to your cottage. All of the cottages are great but each has a slightly different advantage or setting. (More in room selection area) Clothing: You don't need much. Men - deck shoes, water shoes, and walking shoes. For dinners in main dining: One pair of long slacks like khakis or nice shorts plus a few collared shirts. Women - flat shoes only. Sun dresses or skirts with several different tops. Very rarely cool enough for sweater but a very light one could be handy after a rain storm at night. Breakfast and lunches: your bathing suit and T-shirt coverup. Swimming: bathing suit and water shoes because some of the beaches have rocky entrances until you get out to the sand. Walking: good walking shoes because the walk up to the top of the "mountain" is very rocky. A sun hat is helpful. You don't need to bring masks and fins as the ones they loan you are in very good condition. Toiletries: They have good shampoo, conditioner, lotion, and soap. You need sunscreen, shaving lotion, and toothpaste. Cottages have ipad docking speaker so bring your reggae mix to liven up your place.
Activities: All you want or don't want. Great library if you run out of books plus all sorts of board games and puzzles you can check out. Sailing to the Tabago Cays is a must but the rest of your time can be spent withing 200 yards of your cottage.
Food: Excellent, especially if you like lobster and fish. Your meals can be served to you anywhere on the island. Eating a whole lobster at lunch by Goaties Bar is fantastic. Wine,beer, and liquor: Good selection. Staff: Every one of them is friendly and helpful. They make you feel like family. This place reminded me of renting a villa on St. Barts but not needing a car to drive to dinner!
If you want to get off the grid in the caribbean in a luxurious way, this is it. You really feel relaxed after only 24 hours here and leaving is hard! If you are someone who needs a lot of activitly on vacation, this might not be for you. If you like reading a book in a hammock next to a beautiful emerald sea, raising a flag to have a grilled lobster and Corona delivered - then this is your ideal vacation island - regardless of the price.

Room Tip: First of all, you can't ask for cottage "#". They say they "try" to get a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jud C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We spent Christmas in one of the 20 or so individual stylish cottages that are dotted around this beautiful Caribbean island. This island is not for everyone however, it is a romantic secluded retreat where it is possible not to see a sole all week if you wish. Lots of water sports are included such as sailing, kayaks, snorkeling etc. or if you want go further a field, trips to Tobago Cays or sea fishing is available for a fee. There is no pool at the resort, but the sea is so inviting and safe you probably wouldn't use it. We only stayed four nights, but have memories that will last for a long time, including a lovely Christmas Eve drinks party hosted by the friendly American owner of the island who was a excellent host!

Some of the best bits for us:

(1) The hidden secluded hammocks and lunch tables on West Beach where the waiters would deliver a tasty lunch.

(2) Our cottage no. 17 had it's own private beach and hammock. Great for the kids first thing in the morning, or to watch the sun going down at the end of the day.

(3) You can have any meal, any menu delivered to your room with no try charge. We had an excellent breakfast every morning delivered to the cottage, and some evening meals where you can choose from the daily A la Carte menu or the all day dining menu. Perfect for feeding tired children that don't fancy the dining experience.

(4) The fresh lobster at the beach bar/restaurant.

(5) Matt and his lovely wife who run the resort looked after us with great care and attention. The hotel is very efficient and nothing too much trouble. Thank you both!

Room Tip: Research the rooms before you book. They are individual and have different locations on the island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SunLuvinCriminals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Not easy to get there, but once you do...wow.

We went to PSV for our honeymoon and was amazing. The ultimate in seclusion, privacy, and disconnection from the outside world, which was exactly what we were looking for. I will say that this place is not for everyone, as evidenced by some of the couples we met who seemed very restless, but it was perfect for us.

All of the service was excellent, as was our cottage, especially the (semi) private beach. Food was good, did not really partake in the bar. Beaches and water were amazing. Highlight recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bonk00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

With our first visit to PSV, we weren’t sure what to expect. Now that we’ve been there, we can’t wait to go back. The remote location really gives you “get away” feeling that you just can’t get at a typical resort. We felt like we were definitely experiencing a vacation that we had never had in the caribbean. The staff treated us like we were family and the service was amazing. We loved the fact that we could dine in our room or join the rest of the guests at the restaurant. The food was great and if lobster was on our mind, it was fun to pick just the right one right out of the lobster tank. The cottage was perfectly furnished and having a private beach was just over the top. The beach bar was the perfect place to have evening cocktails and the views all over the island were breathtaking. We hiked across the island an snorkeled some incredible reefs. We just can’t wait to go back! It truly is a piece of paradise!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shelly703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petit St.Vincent
12.4 mi away
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club
5.5 mi away
David's Beach Hotel
David's Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Union Island
40 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Pink Sands Club
The Pink Sands Club
#1 of 3 in Canouan
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
No photo provided
Clifton Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Clifton
12 reviews
3.7 mi away
Palm Island Resort & Spa
Palm Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Union Island
1,382 reviews
13.3 mi away
Canouan Estate Villas & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit St. Vincent Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit St. Vincent Resort

Address: St Vincent and the Grenadines, Petit St.Vincent
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Petit St.Vincent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Petit St.Vincent
Price Range: £712 - £1,456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Petit St. Vincent Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petit St Vincent is a luxurious private island paradise, tucked away in the Grenadine islands of the West Indies, a tropical barefoot hideaway offering guests the rare chance to unplug from the normal day to day urban technological clutch.Aside from offering opulent comforts, ultimate privacy and an understated yet attentive service, there exists a conspicuous and deliberate absence of connectivity to the outside world: no TV’s, phones or internet in the beach front villas and elevated bluff cottages, encouraging you to unwind, relax and enjoy each other’s company without any unwanted distractions. With 115 acres of natural tropical woodlands and just 22 guest cottages, seclusion is guaranteed. Each beautifully designed guest cottage is decorated in marine shades and tangled driftwood furnishings reflecting the island’s uncluttered vibe. This elegant but unpretentious boutique island resort is surrounded by clear turquoise waters, rich tropical reefs and 2 miles of stunning white-sand beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Petit St. Vincent Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit St. Vincent Hotel Petit St.Vincent
Petit Hotel St Vincent
Petit St. Vincent Resort St. Vincent And The Grenadines, Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing