We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Petit St. Vincent Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This was our 3rd visit to PSV in the last 10 years and our expectations were exceeded. Impressed by Matt who is the new GM and by the owners whose improvements (food quality, beach bar, spa) took a property that was already an A and turned it into an A+. Very happy and will continue to visit as often as I can afford.

Room Tip: Every villa is special for its own reasons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RyanEOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

The nearest thing to perfection my wife and I have ever experienced on holiday. We spent a week on honeymoon here and fell totally in love with PSV. The island itself is magical but the whole team of staff elevate the experience to a truly exceptional level. The care taken in the little things and the wonderful, relaxed, friendly but attentive service is out of this world. Food is great, cottages are fantastic and the spa was heaven. And just to top it off, a cruise with Jeff on his wooden sailing yacht, Beauty, has to be on anyone's top 10 lifetime experiences. We will be back as soon as possible.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Alastair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We returned to PSV for a third straight spring break vacation. It's been refreshing to see that our kids (now 13, 14 and 16 years old) remain infatuated within the island as they grow older.

Not much has changed since we last visited a year ago, which is a good thing. There are noticeable improvements in the landscaping - the plant life around renovated areas has matured and canopies in numerous places have developed. There are a few new, tasty menu items at the beach restaurant. Some nice new beach chairs at the beach bars from which to view the spectacular sunsets.

Service, food, rooms were excellent as always.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My wife and I first visited PSV in November of 2011 and reviewed the resort at that time. it was shortly after the new owner completed the renovation of the resort. It was fabulous then, and has somehow improved with each subsequent visit. We just returned from our 4th vacation there since 2011. We obviously love the place. From the friendly staff (who remember your names), to the fine Italian bedding, comfort is assured. The food was great on previous visits and continues to impress. We both, on this trip, had the pleasure of visiting the spa, where we enjoyed 90 minute deep tissue massages. The masseuse's seemed to really know what they were doing and the setting, tea served etc... were second to none (ask for Wadi).
On my previous visits, our cottages were always located on the beachfront- just steps to the water. This time, we were assigned to Cottage 4 located on a bluff overlooking the sea and down the beach. I initially told Matt (General Manager) that we would probably want to switch to a beachfront cottage, if available (and it was), but would check out #4 first. Once there, we loved it.... cool breezes. maximum privacy- It seems all of the cottages offer have something special to offer.....
Again, I would highly recommend PSV for a family or romantic getaway. This is a totally different and unique experience from your typical Ritz or Four Season's Resort- better and with all of the luxuries....

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carib1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have been going to PSV for several years now, and must say it is better now than ever. The grounds and cottages are kept in tip top conditions, and the staff is always at our beck and call. Any requests are fulfilled with a smile.

We stayed in cottage #6, a 2 bedroom cottage right on the beach, although all of the cottages offer amazing ocean views and the beach is never more than a hop skip and a jump away.

PSV is an ideal getaway for couples and families alike. My children especially enjoyed the hobie cat sailing lessons, snorkeling, and playing on the tennis courts. Also, the hike to the top of Marnie Hill will reward you with a spectacular view!

To our family, PSV is the gem of the Grenadines, and you will be in for a challenge to find any place quite like it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

PSV March 2014 Trip Report

Having reviewed prior fax information from 2000 and complaining our PSV stay, I thought it important to update my review for objectivity. Clearly the Sale of PSV has resulted in huge improvements, increased prices, but the value for money is much, much better. The following are updated comments:

Cottages- The cottages along the beach have all been completely renovated with new bathrooms with marble floors, glass shower screen and fixtures, outside common areas with marble floors, enlarged wood planking for additional sitting areas with new furniture, dramatically improving the quality of the cottages. Plus new air conditioning in each room if you need it. There is also a new intercom system for talking to the office etc. The single cottages are upgraded and much improved, but not to the level of the twin bed room cottages. (We moved Sarah Family from a single bedroom with connecting sitting area to a double bed room with her kids and also much higher standard of stay.... If just a couple, the single is ok, but not worth the money in my view)
Dock Area & Sports Equipment- Very much the same, cleaner look. The boats etc and snorkeling gear is good and they give you a bag to carry the gear in.
Snorkeling- Much worse than before as these coral reefs appear diseased, as with so many in the world. You need to snorkel more on the west side or go over to Tobago Cays or elsewhere. Dramatic reduction of fish as a result of smaller food supply. (I think you can’t go there for the snorkeling unless you go elsewhere in a boat which is an extra cost, which is a big negative to the way it was...
Snorkeling Trips- Didn't take one as Capt. Chester was no longer working there. They had trips combined with others for a charge....
Common Areas at the Bar & Restaurant- Much Improved. (more on this below)
Island Paths- Still rough to go up and down the hills. Paths around the island and beach are good, but could be much better and easier going up/down. They are dangerous coming down now, and once up there, there should be sitting areas or something to take it all in.
Island infrastructure buildings- A bit rough looking and need more planting to hide. More building sheds and they need to hide this more. The old desalination run of fields are gone as they invested in a desalination plant which is quiet. They have a new generator to help with the power needs.
Beaches- The beach on the east side is shrinking as the sand moves to the north, south and particularly the far western beach. You can still swim, but the good beach is at the south end of the beach strip. So when ordering rooms on the beach if you want the beach, request 10 and 11. Sarah & Matson were in 8, but hardly had any beach, but a nice sea wall was built which makes the cottage closer to the ocean, which is really nice, with more tree cover. The beaches on the west have tons of sand, and PSV have installed a bathroom at that end of the island as well as electrical plug, grill pit for cooking and seating areas, along with the normal hammock and beach chairs wide apart so you can go there and be alone, plus they deliver any food / drink etc on request. We had a dinner for just the 8 of us at the west end which was over the top wonderful. Ask and you get!!! Beaches are really much better, but not the east beach. The south beach where the boat anchor are cleaned up now and very good for kids.... Clean is the name of the game now.
Reception- Sadly Eric had died and didn't meet us. But the manager(Matt) and wife (Annie are really good from Bali) were there and got everything organized + a quick tour around the island to help get the feel, especially changes. Then they take you and get you in your cottage, show you your safe, etc, etc.
Boat to/from Union- The boat (Zeus) that came was rather old and smelly and was not very good for the swells we encountered over to PSV. I requested we get another boat to avoid the kids throwing up and we got it at no charge, with the waves larger than ever, but the boat able to smooth out the ride. I think it was called ‘Hera”.... This boat is quite nice/comfortable and updated.(Understand Zeus is headed to be sold and a much better replacement boat ordered)
Airplane to Barbados – The link from and to Union from Barbados is a rip off and costly... I think it was about $800 which I find shocking. Especially when it doesn't run on time etc. Add in all the departure taxes and there is a considerable premium to costs getting to and from.
Restaurant- 400% better and rarely offered the same thing again. Up in the main dining area, a fresh menu daily. The food was actually VERY good. Down by the Boat Dock they have built from the visitors dock and the BBQ pit a new area where they have an attractive bar, restaurant, and boutique. The food here was very good as well, plus the salads were very good, but very fresh. Fish was sensational, but if you wanted ribs, steaks etc, it was all included and very good. Wine and spirits were all extra. Never thought I could spend $2,000 on wines in a week, but we did, and they were mostly quite good.
Room Service- responsive and professional. Early breakfast or late tea was always warm and on time.
Alternative Venues for Dining- The new Boat Restaurant is a welcome addition simply because it spreads out people, removes boat people from the upstairs bar/restaurant and allows for an alternative to the main restaurant at lunch or dinner.... Great move and we never felt like they were full while there, but they were. Great improvement for an evening sunset drink on the beach and then dinner....
Personnel- They were great. Haze never had professional people. The new owner has brought in a ton of people from Bali and they run it like it is a Aman Resort. Can’t say enough on this point. The feeling is much more Far East than the ridiculous Caribbean crap.
Owner- He is paying attention and not afraid to put his thumb print on changes. They are putting in a dive center this summer for next fall. He is full of ideas and spends himself 3 months a year, but has professional managers who run the show for him.... Clearly you ask him something, and you get an answer.
Flexibility- This was terrific aspect of the new visit up and above our 7 prior trips. Ask and you get. If I wanted to go sky diving, I’m sure Matt would have found me a plane, and instructor. Want to fish, there are fishing rods now and someone to take you and show you where the fish are.
New buildings/services/improvements- Many new improvements. A new Boat Restaurant plus bar and boutique. A new Spa complex which is run very professionally and one might never leave this spot. Tennis Court has new artificial turf and very good lights now. There is extensive ground lighting under trees everyplace, paths, roads, around the houses. New planting everywhere. A nursery where the kids played “War Games” producing good things. And security now is on duty 24 hours and you see them and they actively evict boat people who come and head for the resorts beaches.... But mostly adds to security for the guests and their belongings in their cottages....
Cost for Product- The cost is high. Double what we paid before, but I will say you get much, much more for your dollar spent. It is comparable to going to the Far East by adding in ticket prices etc. Taxes, taxes adds to the room rate, and when added to the air transportation, boat (they charge now for the boat too) plus exit taxes etc it is expensive..... But the look on the kids’ faces tells us, it was worth it.
Kids- Perfect for family vacations, high end family vacations, safe, quiet and intimate. Always was perfect for kids, but the prior owner tried to attract only couples wanting seclusion. This is a paradise for kids and mom and dad, and grandparents. Something for everyone.

Will I go again? Yes. Cut out the Barbados to PSV cost and taxes and I would be there for 2 weeks each year for sure until i die, and i live in Bermuda...... .

Room Tip: Double Cottages, well you can't do any better anyplace in the world...........
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank colt_bagley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

From the moment I booked my stay with PSV, I was thrilled! Julie & Lisa in the reservations office were so attentive to every request and question that we had. From our initial inquiry to post stay, PSV ensured that all expectations were met to the standards of a 5 star resort!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petit St.Vincent
12.4 mi away
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club
13.3 mi away
The Pink Sands Club
The Pink Sands Club
#1 of 3 in Canouan
17 reviews
5.5 mi away
David's Beach Hotel
David's Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Union Island
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
No photo provided
Clifton Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Clifton
13 reviews
3.7 mi away
Palm Island Resort & Spa
Palm Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Union Island
1,395 reviews
13.3 mi away
Canouan Estate Villas & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit St. Vincent Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit St. Vincent Resort

Address: St Vincent and the Grenadines, Petit St.Vincent
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Petit St.Vincent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Petit St.Vincent
Price Range: £893 - £1,793 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Petit St. Vincent Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petit St Vincent is a luxurious private island paradise, tucked away in the Grenadine islands of the West Indies, a tropical barefoot hideaway offering guests the rare chance to unplug from the normal day to day urban technological clutch.Aside from offering opulent comforts, ultimate privacy and an understated yet attentive service, there exists a conspicuous and deliberate absence of connectivity to the outside world: no TV’s, phones or internet in the beach front villas and elevated bluff cottages, encouraging you to unwind, relax and enjoy each other’s company without any unwanted distractions. With 115 acres of natural tropical woodlands and just 22 guest cottages, seclusion is guaranteed. Each beautifully designed guest cottage is decorated in marine shades and tangled driftwood furnishings reflecting the island’s uncluttered vibe. This elegant but unpretentious boutique island resort is surrounded by clear turquoise waters, rich tropical reefs and 2 miles of stunning white-sand beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Petit St. Vincent Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit St. Vincent Hotel Petit St.Vincent
Petit Hotel St Vincent
Petit St. Vincent Resort St. Vincent And The Grenadines, Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing