We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Petit St Vincent”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Petit St. Vincent Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Petit St Vincent”
Reviewed 7 February 2007

Petit St Vincent (PSV) is a beautiful island tucked away in the South Caribbean. It is in the winward islands so a great breeze always blows through.

PSV is a very upscale destination and is well appointed. There is a system of flag poles for each bungalow that signals if you want service or want to be left alone. A red flag means "do not disturb" and a green flag means you have left a message in the little message center at the base of the flag pole requesting "something". That something could be drinks, food, etc.

The island is beautiful with tons of trails to walk. The beaches are gourgeous. The food is above average, but you are a captive audience and there are not other options if you do not like the menu.

You can take day trips on local ferries to Grenada, Carriacou or take a sailboat charter to the local Cays for snorkeling, scuba, etc.

The island is pricey. $940 per night for double occupancy during the busy season. So make sure you are ready to stay in one place for awhile before bookng.

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    38
    17
    8
    6
See reviews for
40
209
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2007

One of the highlights of our first visit to PSV in November 2005 was our day sail on the schooner, Jambalaya. We had a wonderful day, sailing and snorkeling at Tobago Cays. Beautiful scenery, lobster lunch on the boat, and the delightful crew convinced us we had to do this again. We returned in December 2006 for a longer cruise. We were met at the St. Vincent airport by Captain Jeff and quickly wisked away to moonlit solitude and champagne aboard the Jambalaya. We cruised for four days with Captain Jeff and First Mate Tim visiting quaint island villages and secluded coves. The scenery was great, but the hospitality of the crew made our time on board truly memorable. We ended our trip at PSV; and although we love the island, we were sad to see our time on the boat end. We are now anxiously awaiting our return to Jambalya during Christmas 2007,

  • Liked — privacy
  • Disliked — insects
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2007

After a great holiday at Amanyara in the Turks and Caicos in November, PSV was a few steps down on the resort ranking ladder. Okay, I made the mistake of booking last minute for the New Years Holiday, so my family was placed the 2 most undesireable cottages on the island, #16 and 17. Both cottages did not have a view of the ocean, so at $2600/night, we felt it was a little steep for the quality of product. The wind noise at night was so loud at times that I thought the roof was going to fly across to Petit Martinique. Perhaps a tiered rate structure is appropriate for the less desireable cottages on the island? To be fair, management makes it clear when you make a reservation that they cannot guarantee you will be assigned a particular cottage, but my advice is to get them to guarantee you will NOT be assigned #16 or 17.

The staff at PSV, excluding the front office, is wonderful. They are understaffed occasionally at meals, but we were not in any hurry. Order breakfast to your room if you want to get an early start to the day. The staff and guest soccer games at 5 pm were good entertainment and the highlight of the trip for our boys. The snorkeling trip to Tobago Cays on the speedboat was good fun. Early morning hikes on the trails and roads around and to the top of the island were a great way to start the day.

There were some aspects of PSV that just don't put it in the 5 star category, however. We were passed several times on the roads by the resident owners riding on their ATV's, but it was odd they never stopped to talk or inquire about our stay. Their office staff was disorganized, at best. There were problems when the staff arranged scuba diving for us. One day we sat on the dock for 45 minutes waiting for the dive boat. The office staff failed to forward the message that the dives had been cancelled. On another day, a message was delivered to us late and we missed an opportunity to dive. The independent dive outfitter is a nice fellow, but he did not check our C-cards, and that always makes me nervous, particularly when taking teenagers diving. The diving was average, with limited visibility. The strong sewer smell at the tennis court was interesting and I declined to retrieve balls hit over the fence into the "mud." Okay, I admit I'm not a great player. The PSV beaches are average for the Caribbean, but below the waterline is coral, not sand. Internet access would be a helpful option, but the old timer repeat guests will have a fit if it is installed (you don't have to check e-mail if you don't want to).

Given a choice, I would go back to Amanyara or even Peter Island many times before coming back to PSV. PSV is nice, but not great.

Stayed January 2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2007

It is a year to the day today, that we left for our late honeymoon to PSV. The memories of our stay remain as clear today as the day we arrived.
We loved our private boat ride to the island through a tropical shower, the people we met especially the staff, the beaches which were as perfect as you had hoped, the food, the walks, our cottage, the list goes on.
Anyway, with the weather finally getting colder here in the North East we have these memories to see us through.
Let the seclusion smother you, you won't find many places where it can, in such a perfect way.
We were sad , very sad to leave.

  • Liked — Secluded
  • Disliked — Nothing, they were wonderful.
  • Stayed January 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2007

I was lucky enough to come across a brief description of this resort entitled "Seclusion", while searching ---.com for the perfect honeymoon spot for my wife and I. The resort delivered exactly what we were looking for. Complete and total seclusion/relaxation with exceptional service.

If you're looking for a place with a lot of "bells and whistles", do not book here. You will be treated, however, to unbelievable caribbean scenery, outstanding food, and an unforgettable time. Although they've been doing this for years for many guests, we were always made to feel special.

If you can get a cottage on the south side of the island, I would highly recommend #17 or #18. There is a lot of privacy on this side of the island. Make sure to bring your bug spray if you're going in the summer months...I didn't have so much of a problem but my wife is a bug magnet! The strong breeze coming off the water makes up for the lack of air conditioning during the night but be prepared for a little warmth at night. It's all part of the island charm!

The food was fantastic and we were able to try a number of things that we'd never had (or even heard of) before. We made great friends with some of the wait staff and the bartenders. All are extremely friendly and always willing to share stories.

Make sure to take a hike to the top of Marni Hill and, for the athletic types, take out one of the Ocean Kayaks and paddle around the island (How often can you say you kayaked around an entire island!??).

We had a lot of fun visiting with the island labradors who were at our porch every morning to greet us. We are dog people and loved having the visitors and getting to play 'fetch' with them on our beach.

We will definitely travel back here as soon as we have the opportunity!

  • Liked — The seclusion. Wonderful not to hear a TV or a phone ringing!
  • Disliked — My wife would probably say the bugs.
  • Tips/Secrets — Must bring: Bug Spray, Water shoes, Sunscreen (not the kind of place you want to have a sunburn!)
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2007

Perfect! secluded bliss, great food, great staff; do nothing or island hop. I recommend a day sail on the Jamblaya to Tabago Cay.

  • Liked — Rustic charm but very well done.
  • Disliked — No outdoor bath tub to cloud gaze.
  • Tips/Secrets — sunscreen
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2006

Just returned from a pre Christmas holiday to PSV and after reading previous reviews and carrying out research, we found the place to be just what we were expecting. It is an isolated retreat "Robinson Crusoe" style. What you are paying for here is the personal service rather than manicured grounds and sophisticated facilities. The cottages were spacious, private and comfortable. The lack of air conditioning wasn't too pronounced, as there were always quite strong breezes (we were in a beach front cottage at the base of the rather aptly named Windy Hill). Rechargeable torches were provided and these were necessary as there was not much lighting once outside of the cottages. Even if you book a lift up to the restaurant for dinner, a torch is still advisable as the private path to some cottages can be very dark. If you want to walk to the restaurant, sensible shoes are a must as we found the paths were not always swept and could be quite muddy and not suitable for high heels!!
We found that the flag system worked well, provided you remembered to fill out your request forms in plenty of time; loads of fun if you are organized! If you forget or if there are any problems, it is difficult to remedy since there are no phones! We did enjoy the early morning coffee and breakfast being brought to us on the beach each day and drinks at sundown.
Most days we went to the restaurant for lunch and ate from the buffet, which was adequate. The weekly beach BBQ was great. We also went to the restaurant for our evening meals, which was pleasant. My only gripe was that there was not very much variation for vegetarians. There was only one option on the menu and this happened to be pasta every day. One day I asked if I could have a different sauce as I didn't fancy roast garlic but it seemed that this could not be catered for.
The staff were very accommodating and quickly learnt which rooms we were staying in, so that our meals and drinks could be charged directly to our bill. We never had to sign for anything or received a slip, so hoped that they had remembered the room numbers correctly. When we received our bill at the end of the stay it was very difficult to check as the bill was not itemized. Also the nightly rate had been quoted to us in US$ and the bill was presented to us in local currency.
Evenings are a quiet affair, or they were until a young baseball- capped crowd turned up, who appeared to be friends of the new managers. Then a raucous booze fest lasting several days of our stay developed. Apart from them, we never hear another soul and that's how it should be!

  • Liked — Early morning coffee and being brought breakfast on the beach
  • Disliked — paths and patio area weren't swept / cleaned
  • Tips/Secrets — Take plenty of books and a snorkel
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petit St.Vincent
12.4 mi away
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club
5.5 mi away
David's Beach Hotel
David's Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Union Island
40 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Pink Sands Club
The Pink Sands Club
#1 of 3 in Canouan
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Palm Island Resort & Spa
Palm Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Union Island
1,372 reviews
13.3 mi away
Canouan Estate Villas & Residences
6.3 mi away
The Mermaid Beach Hotel
The Mermaid Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hillsborough
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Petit St. Vincent Resort

Property: Petit St. Vincent Resort
Address: St Vincent and the Grenadines, Petit St.Vincent
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Petit St.Vincent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Petit St.Vincent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Petit St. Vincent Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petit St Vincent is a luxurious private island paradise, tucked away in the Grenadine islands of the West Indies, a tropical barefoot hideaway offering guests the rare chance to unplug from the normal day to day urban technological clutch.Aside from offering opulent comforts, ultimate privacy and an understated yet attentive service, there exists a conspicuous and deliberate absence of connectivity to the outside world: no TV’s, phones or internet in the beach front villas and elevated bluff cottages, encouraging you to unwind, relax and enjoy each other’s company without any unwanted distractions. With 115 acres of natural tropical woodlands and just 22 guest cottages, seclusion is guaranteed. Each beautifully designed guest cottage is decorated in marine shades and tangled driftwood furnishings reflecting the island’s uncluttered vibe. This elegant but unpretentious boutique island resort is surrounded by clear turquoise waters, rich tropical reefs and 2 miles of stunning white-sand beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Petit St. Vincent Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit St. Vincent Hotel Petit St.Vincent
Petit Hotel St Vincent
Petit St. Vincent Resort St. Vincent And The Grenadines, Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing