We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not amazing... our skis were stolen!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hameau des Eaux d'Orelle
Northampton
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not amazing... our skis were stolen!”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We arrived after driving all the way through orelle village to find it was not actually in orelle village! We had to ask for directions! If you head for the ski lift, it is just above to the right. You can get a bus which takes you down to the lift but it is normally very full of people at peak times! We drove the 3 minutes down there everyday and parked for free.
Our apartment was very nice. Basic, but perfect for what we needed. A bed, sofa, kitchen with full facilities, bath and shower, toilet etc.
The lockers proved to be ok until the morning we were leaving and my boyfriends skis were missing from the locker! They had been stolen and the reception weren't very helpful as it was a Sunday and the police could not come down etc etc so we had to leave and travel to the next village to the police station which was not open, so then we travelled to another police station where they spoke no English so we made a full enquiry with our franglais!
I would not book again because:
Ski storage is not safe
Location has no après ski
No restaurants nearby
The spa is way too expensive

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank willowclose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    30
    20
    19
    15
See reviews for
52
25
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

It is not clear when you book that the spa costs extra. There is no Après-ski. The resort is far away from all the excitement in Val Thorens. You have to make a booking to eat in the restaurant although there are hardly any diners. The restaurant smelled of stale cigarettes, the staff could not speak any English and the food was not great. It is almost impossible to make use of the free wifi. On departure they charged us an additional €70 for cleaning the room although we were not advised of this upon booking.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 545MichelleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Orelle hotels

Belgrade, Serbia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

To my opinion, good hotel or resort is the one you would like to visit again. This is definitely not the place I will visit again. I love VAL THORENS and will go again, but I will not stay here.
The rooms are OK, were not really clean when we arrived, there was 9 of us in two rooms. Wi fi is barely working....the staff is not really helpful.... The pool is ok, but was close 6 out of 7 days of our stay, because of lifeguard illness.
For me it was a hassle going down and up to the Telecabine, despite we used our car, not a bus..... Would recommend this place only for someone who has a low budget, but if you are planing to spend 500 EUR for your ski vacation you will find an extra 100 and accommodate yourself in Val Thorens or Les Menuires.......

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Symbad1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

So you want to go to Val Thorens, but didn't book something MONTHS in advance?

Don't even think about booking this place if you haven't rented a car! (We had a car, and I shudder to think of what it would be like for the car-less)

The location of this property is actually pretty good. It's but a quick shuttle ride (5 minutes or so) away from the cable car that takes you to the lifts at Orelle. Once there, it's a quick ride up and over to Val Thorens.

Additionally, the buildings themselves are fairly new, and decently furnished. No problems at all with the beds, and they even have dishwashers (though no conventional ovens).

There is free wifi in the office/lobby area, and depending upon your equipment, it MAY be reachable from your room. Additionally there is a decent, if expensive, mini-supermarket in the main building.

The staff is indifferent to say the least, but more importantly the rooms have virtually no sound insulation so you are 100% guaranteed to hear the people above, to the sides, and EVEN below you. Forget about getting a good night's sleep if your neighbors like to party. Also, our first room was near a stairwell, and we could literally hear every step (up or down) as well as the closing of the doors. I suppose if you drink heavily, you might sleep okay!

Worse yet, when we (after 5 days) were moved to another room, they applied a 75 Euro charge for a "cleaning fee," Keep in mind that 75 Euros is nearly the daily room rate of 88 Euros (at the time that we stayed there). Basically, this was just a "take advantage" fee!

Overall, although the place has some potential, it's not worth the hassle (or extra charges).

Avoid!

Room Tip: If you book this hotel (and I would not recommend it) make sure you get a room on a top floor that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAatWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Always a little trepidatious when booking holiday accomodation that is 'cheap' however this apartment complex did not significantly disappoint. A big (significant) plus is that it is literally just off a main road - no travelling for two hours up winding alpine roads.

On arrival reception was busy but the wait for service was not long. A little concerning to hear people in front complaining of dirty apartments etc but this was not our experience.

On entering the apartment it was clean and more spacious than expected however do not take this to mean it was large - more of the size one expects in French resorts - more on this later.

There was a separate toilet and bathroom. The bathroom had a bath and shower, although the shower was not attached to the wall and therefore required careful use or you flooded the floor. Of note, the water is hot in the mornings and very early evenings only. If you want a bath or shower after 7pm you will only get luke warm water. Towels (and bed linen) are provided.

The kitchen was well equipped, big refridgerator with small freezer compartment, microwave, coffee machine, electric hob and dishwasher. No convential oven however. Cultery, utensils, plates, glasses, mugs, all supplied and were in good condition. The main living area contained a small dining table with 6 chairs, although you would struggle to fit 6 people around the table - of note one of the chairs was a folding chair which was quite useful however on returning after skiing one day this had disappeared. After a thorough search failed to locate it this was reported to reception who admitted that a staff member had been into the apartment to retrieve it - less than impressed with this action as no note was left nor were we informed that someone would be taking the chair - a thorough check of valuables, money, passports etc did not reveal anything missing however the intrusion was unwelcome.

The living area also contained a double sofa bed which we did not need to test - however if you did need to use it, i.e. have 6 people in the apartment with clothes etc it would have been VERY crowded.So normal rules apply, if you are 4 book an appartment for 6; if you are 6 book an apartment for 8 or you will be living completely on top of each other.

The main (separate) double bedroom was literally just big enough for the bed. Put the bed in the wrong place and you could not shut the door. There was a very small chest of draws in the bedroom but clothes storage was very limited - resorted to leaving most clothes in a bag and leaving it out on the balcony.

The bunk bed alcove was a good feature although the beds made a horrendous creaking sound when either occupant moved - no danger of collapse but a bit of maintenance would assist a peaceful nights sleep. Defects on arrival reported to reception included, a spot light detached from the wall in the bunk bed alcove and the tv/dvd player refusing to play dvds. TV channels were, as normal, only French - when will the French learn that if they attract an international audience then they would do themselves a favour by at least having BBC World as an accessible TV channel? There was a small stereo system although this was not used.

The apartment had a usable balcony, albeit overlooking the road. This provided useful storage space for cold drinks etc.

The complex has a decent spa/swimming pool and a two adult/two children pass cost 32 euros. Children under 16 are not allowed to use the spa/sauna or jacuzzi and are only allowed in the pool between certain times. The normal rules regarding the wearing of 'budgie-smugglers' did not seem to apply with board shorts much in evidence. The sauna was very large.

The complex also has a restuarent but we did not need to use this. There is a small shop selling basic items but at usual French alps prices. 6kms back down the road to Saint Micheal there is a Carrefour supermarket with a good range of products.

There was not, or we did not find any, ski lockers - giving you the choice of taking them through the apartment and leaving them on the balcony or storing them in the car overnight.

Outside car parking is in marked bays at the front of the complex (free) or you can pay 40 euros extra for the week and park inside. If you do not wish to use the free bus you can drive down to the ski lift where there is ample free parking. Be aware that due to the lifts easy access from a main road, the car parks get busy at weekends due to 'day skiers' - but in the week they were relatively quiet.

It is possible to check out very early on the day you leave, but be aware of 70 euro cleaning fee if you do not leave your apartment spotless.

The principle attraction of this complex is accessibility to the 3 valleys ski area. A shuttle bus runs every 15 mins or so from the front of the complex down to the Orelle Telecabine lift. This 15minute 6-9 person 'bubble' lift takes you to the Maurienne valley, the '4th valley' of the 3 valleys area. There are two chair lifts at the top, one which takes you over the mountain and gives access to Val Thorens and from there the rest of the vast ski area. Staying on the Orelle side you have a small number of blue and red runs which are long and the width of the M25. Once into the 3 valleys area, with the correct lift pass, you can access Meribel, Courchevel etc, i.e. a vast ski area. The area is described as an intermediates paradise and this is true - mainly blue and red runs which are wide and long. Very efficient and speedy lift systems with queues only at peak times. The off-piste potential is also vast for those that enjoy it.

A special mention for Orelle 3000 sports - the ski shop at the base of the Orelle lift. In this area there is a small cafe, a lift pass station and the hire shop. We had emailed the shop before leaving the UK to enquire about reserving skis and were told that this was not necessary. This proved to be the case as the shop carried a good selection of skis, boots and poles etc. Service was quick and efficient.

As for Orelle itself there is nothing else, if you want nightlife of any description this is not the place to visit.

Overall, good value with good access to the three valleys at excellent price. No nightlife at all - sleep and ski only. Orelle 3000 sport very good hire shop.

Room Tip: Building 1 is on the roadside but as the only traffic is to the residence itself traffic noise was n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adjt66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

A February Half Term self catered ski holiday.

We stayed for a week with 2 adults and three teenagers, on a self drive self catered basis. We were very disappointed as the reality contrasted with the web site expectation was very different, and whilst we had a warm clean apartment, it was a long way short of the description.
Namely:
Free Wifi – In reality, in the foyer of reception only, with 5 twin sofas, no tables, guests sitting on the floor with their lap tops in the evenings, and a maximum of 20 (slow) connections to service 400 to 500 guests.
Swimming pool and Sauna – poorly maintained, no hot showers working and a charge of €10 per person per visit, €50 for a family to have a swim, or enjoy the facility per day...
Free Shuttle Bus to lift station – That trebles/quadruples the “standing spaces” and packs you in like cattle for the ½ mile run to the Gondola.
Apartment Sleeps 6 – and if you are unlucky enough to get a 3rd floor one has very limited space due to the eaves of the roof, not mentioned at all in the web site. The first bunk bedroom is in fact the entrance hallway to the apartment, so the two girl teenagers had no privacy and very limited storage space as they had the entrance door at one end of the bed, and the door into the open plan lounge at the other.
The one bedroom had only 1 meter of depth that was at head height, with the heads of the beds tucked into the eaves, and therefore no cupboard or hanging space at all. The final bed is a Z bed sofa, and as this is in the open plan area, lacks any privacy, and has no storage space again. The design is poor, Not even one coat hook for a jacket, and rooms with limited space and no privacy
Value for money ? Well at 1,200 it was not expensive, but we had friends staying self catered ski-in ski-out in Mottaret for 300 Euros less for 5 people and in the same week – Half term week, so we can't say it was a bargain, and therefore live with shortcomings.
Management Attitude – Appalling, the manager is never available (always in a meeting) did not call back when left with a phone number, and was politely emailed with some of our concerns, which whilst reception did acknowledge receiving the email, was never responded to.

Overall we felt cheated and treated impersonally, with no regard to our concerns. They had our money and that was that .... very disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank simon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This review is also posted on the Cela, Orelle link, although this is the correct name for the apartment complex

Don't let some of the other reviews deter you. This complex is now being run by a new management company. This complex is a French apartment complex - don't expect huge American style accommodation but, for the french Alps, is reasonably sized. There isn't much to do in Orelle itself- having a car adds some flexibility, such as going out to eat in the evenings, heading for a supermarket, or trying other nearby ski resorts such as Valloire, Valfrejus, Les Sybelles and Corbier (among others). The village does have a ski hire shop which itself is well priced and service was good.

The complex has a shuttle bus running every 15 minutes to take you to the nearby gondola that takes 15 mins to get to the skiing. Another 10 mins and you are at 3200m looking into Val Thorens. The skiing was absolutely fantastic in Feb 2012 and it's worth getting the Val Thorens / Les Menuires ski pass.

The complex has a small grocery store which has all the basics. It isn't cheap, but then where is in the french Alps these days. It also has a bar, restaurant, swimming pool and spa, and a laundry room. Currently, the swimming pool isn't available for kids (except between 10am -12 noon) which isn't very handy, but I understand the new management is looking to change this going forward. Staff on reception and in the bar/restaurant were friendly and helpful, but it does make sense to try to book a table in advance and the restaurant doesn't upon until 7.30pm (again typical of many french restaurants).

The rooms aren't huge but are in good condition (the complex was built in 2007), are very warm and have decent amenities. We were able to cook most days but doesn't have a conventional oven but does have a hob, microwave/grill, fridge, dishwasher, toaster, kettle and coffee machine. Plenty of hot water and storage space.

Overall, this is a good, reasonably lost cost way to enjoy the vast expanses of Val Thorens and the Three Valleys. If you're after lots of nightlife, then don;t go here. but if you ski hard all day, like a meal, a beer and then your sleep, then this is a good option for you.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank leeandjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orelle
3.2 mi away
Residence Les Hauts de Valmeinier
12.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Saint Jean de Maurienne
Ibis Budget Saint Jean de Maurie...
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Marie-de-Cuines
226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#1 of 2 in Saint Michel de Maurienne
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle
Hotel L'Aigle
#4 of 13 in Valmeinier
186 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel St-Georges
Hotel St-Georges
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jean-de-Maurienne
143 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Bar Lancheton
Hotel Restaurant Bar Lancheton
#1 of 1 in Saint-Julien-Mont-Denis
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hameau des Eaux d'Orelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hameau des Eaux d'Orelle

Property: Hameau des Eaux d'Orelle
Address: Orelle, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Orelle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Orelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hameau des Eaux d'Orelle 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hameau des Eaux d'Orelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing