We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Away from the rush of everyday life”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cedars Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedars Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zeballos
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Away from the rush of everyday life”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Zeballos in an interesting village which is reached by travelling 42 kms along an unpaved road.
Once there it is a pleasant small village with friendly people.
Cedars Inn has a good location near the river. Greeted by owner Christina, the rooms are clean and tidy and breakfast and dinner is served. The food is good and the service friendly.
If you fancy somewhere off the beaten track in beautiful scenery this could be for you.
Free Wifi is available.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RomanbyRamblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    13
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
5
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-on-Avon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

After 40km of dirt road, you`re pleased there somewhere to stay in this former gold rush town that could be out of a western movie. Because we had booked a boat trip we received a free upgrade to the better rooms, which were en suite, comfortable and spacious. Propietess Christina is also the Chef and serves up very good evening meals. Breakfast and dinner very keenly priced and packed lunches available on request. Homely and friendly, and worth a visit to go and see the Sea Otters

Room Tip: Pay the extra for oe of the better rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myke369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level Contributor
127 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 days while working on the new school project.
The room was very basic but clean and comfortable. The owners are very friendly and make you feel at home.
They had Free WIFI which was a bonus as I could pick up my email and Skype.
Would highly recommend.

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dflyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Our first trip to Zeballos, and we had the best time. Low key, easy going, no hard sell on any front. The Inn was full of character and history. That is sometimes code for run down, but our rooms were clean and spacious and the staff made us feel perfectly at home. Breakfast and lunch ready to go so the fishermen can be out by 6:30 - no problem. Food was simple but excellent and again, service was so personal. Certainly didn't hurt to have the best fishing experience ever as well (thanks to Dennis at Pacific Wild Charters.) And as North Island 'logging' roads go, this one was in pretty good shape. We will back!

Room Tip: Rooms on the side (we had #8) had a kitchenette and patio access for relaxing w a beverage after a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

At the end of a very long bumpy non metalled road, in small fishing village. The owners are trying to attract additional visitors for looking at wildlife, instead of just fisherman. What they have is a most marvellous chef, who produces wonderful meals with fresh ingredients. However, the rooms were not particularly good quality and very old fashioned. I was down a level, with a lovely view looking over the garden, but the room and small shower en-suite felt damp, which indicated maybe it hadn't had a lot of use, but it should have been at its best at the end of a very long hot dry summer. Luckily I always carry spare batteries, which I used in the TV remote control. It was impossible to use the old TV without the remote. After our very pleasant meal, the owner was the worse for wear drinking with the fishing people, so I adjourned to bed.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reba1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2010

My stay at the Inn was very pleasant. The friendliness of the staff and the delicious food served at the Blue Heron were the highlights. It is difficult to find staff when booking in or checking out, but if you are not in a hurry this should not be a problem. Breakfast is served with a smile from 5:30am and dinner service goes until everyone is fed.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maz_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We had a wonderful experience at Cedars Inn &Zeballos Expeditions. The owners and staff were incredible. The fishing was the best fishing trip we have ever had. It's a little hidden treasure. We plan to return next year.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bvomacka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zeballos
38.3 mi away
Gold River Chalet
Gold River Chalet
#1 of 1 in Gold River
47 reviews
57.7 mi away
Quarterdeck Inn & Marina Resort
0.4 mi away
Reel Obsession Sport Fishing Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Rugged Point Lodge
Rugged Point Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kyuquot
30 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Cedars Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedars Inn

Property: Cedars Inn
Address: 203 Pandora Ave, Zeballos, British Columbia V0P 2A0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Zeballos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zeballos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedars Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable rooms and cottages in historic Zeballos hotel. Kitchen units available. Quiet & clean. Pet-friendly cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cedars Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing