We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keeping up the standards!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Mirador de Guadal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I returned to El Mirador de Guadal a year after I visited them for the last time and wondered if the high standards, once put in place, were still there. And I was not let down. It looks like the owner is really investing his money in keeping everything to the highest standards and he is further improving services and activities. He told me he expanded his number of horses to 5, to accommodate guests who like to go horseback riding. He also invested in a small sail boat and told me that the yet boats, operated by Philipe have now gone to 4, allowing for real adventure trips over the Leon River and more quiet ones over lake Bertrand, both going to the glaciers. The owner has expanded and improved activities that guests can do on their own, without guide, such as beautiful hikes to the waterfalls, the forgotten mine and the petrified sea shells.

While we were there we enjoyed two great "asados" (barbecues) with a large variety of fish, meat and chicken, complemented with fresh salads and tomatoes, all picked 10 minutes before being served from their own green house.

Lodging itself at El Mirador de Guadal is the real catch, because all rooms have an unlimited and private view at the lake and the mountains. Watching the sun rise over these snow-capped mountains and the blue lake early in the morning right from your bed provides an exceptional experience. I have never seen this anywhere else. Spectacular sunsets with amazingly red skies can also be enjoyed from your room, or from the restaurant while enjoying a drink.

As we stayed here at the beginning of autumn, the area was slowly turning from green to yellowish and reddish, which is spectacular. It makes driving around in the area quite an experience in itself.

The place itself is really not bread and breakfast but a full boutique hotel where you will receive privacy, comfort, good food and drinks, great views and – above all – warm and personalized attention from the owner. Keep going in this way, El Mirador de Guadal, and I will come back next year.

Room Tip: If you are with two, try to get the middle cabin. The best spot in my opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LowieSantiago_Chile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

That lovely couple that runs the lodge made us have the coziest moments of the trip thought carretera austral! Wonderful food, stunning views. A cold dive into the lake is worthwhile in the summer! Just don't miss breakfast time because it s delicious!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Aline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

After a 5 hour drive what we experienced on arrival made the long drive all worthwhile. Stefan & Carolina looked after us immaculately. It is just the most wonderful place, our view out over the lake was to die for. Our cabin was clean & very comfortable. The woodburning stove was an added bonus. Stefan was very helpful with advice on where to go and what to see. Delicious food, great service. What more can we say? A memorable stay, thank you.

Room Tip: All cabins have a great view out over the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dippersmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed 3 nights in a cabin with a stunning view on Lago General Carrera and the mountains. A very nice, spacious and stylish cabin with a veranda to relax on, a wood stove, a watercooker with coffee and tea. You have a lot of privacy here.
The owner, Stefan, is Dutch and speaks Dutch, German, English and Spanish. He gives a lot of advice about things to do in the surrounding area. But just relaxing on the veranda of your cabin or at the beach of the lake is an option too. Stefan and his wife Carolina do everything to make you feel at home. Dinner is very good. We also had a BBQ.
The accomodation combined with the view made this the best accomodation we stayed in during our trip in Patagonia. We can recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

When we arrived at El Mirador de Guadal we were welcomed by the owner Stefan with coffee and cookies. How relaxing! We were lucky to stay here for 3 whole days so we could relax for one day on the spacious veranda of our cabin with a magnificent view of Lago Carreras en snow on the highest mountains of Patagonia. Pure luxury with a bedroom en suite, sitting area with a comfort couch, kitchenette, coffeemaker with coffee and tea and a jar with cookies. The meals in the restaurant are great and inexpensive and where in Chili can you eat poffertjes (a traditional Dutch treat, resembling small, fluffy pancakes) with dulce de leche icecream and chocolate for dessert?
Stefan tries to make everybody feel at home and he and his staff really succeed in this effort. Always willing to help to make your stay as pleasant as possible. On his advice we had a nice daytour to the Confluencia and a valley with a lot of guanacos and on the next day we also made a tour on a jetboat to Lago Leones (with a beautiful glacier) with his neighbour Philippe.
5 star accommodation in a 5 star area! Unfortunately we had to leave this magnificent place after a few beautiful days...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

driving to 'el mirador de Guadal' is on its own an amazing experience. than arriving in this beautiful and friendly atmosphere makes the well-being immense. friendly and forthcoming service, comfortable and stylish cabana's, stunning scenery. wonderful!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steven o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Me and my boyfriend booked 2 nights here while travelling along the Carretera Austral and wished we had booked for longer. The cabañas have a stunning view of the lake Lago General Carrera and the mountains. It´s peaceful, yet close enough to do daytrips to the marble caves, Cochrane, Chacabuco Valley, among others.
The service was amazing. We arrived late in the evening (later than we were planning to) when they were starting to close the restaurant, but they managed to cook something for us. Similarly, the day we were leaving, we had to leave at 6:30 in the morning (when breakfast service was not ready yet), so the owner, Steffen, kindly offered to get us some breakfast boxes ready for that day. He also gave us excellent tips on things to do during our stay there. He and his sons were extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful. By far the best place we stayed in the Carretera Austral. Apart from the place being really stunning, the quality of service made a huge difference! We promised we would go back again...for longer. I can only recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macarofe77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Guadal
0.3 mi away
Terra Luna
Terra Luna
#1 of 1 in Puerto Guadal
197 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mallin Colorado Ecolodge
Mallin Colorado Ecolodge
#2 of 4 in Puerto Guadal
60 reviews
15.6 mi away
Patagonia Acres Fishing Lodge
Patagonia Acres Fishing Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mallin Grande
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Parador Austral Lodge
Parador Austral Lodge
#1 of 1 in Puerto El Miten
15 reviews
5.6 mi away
Bahia Catalina
Bahia Catalina
#4 of 4 in Puerto Guadal
2 reviews
14.6 mi away
Cabanas Valle Exploradores
Cabanas Valle Exploradores
#3 of 5 in Puerto Rio Tranquilo
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mirador de Guadal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mirador de Guadal

Address: KM 2, Camino Hacia Chile Chico | Lake General Carrera, Puerto Guadal, Chile
Region: Chile > Aisen Region > Puerto Guadal
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Guadal
Price Range: £98 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Mirador de Guadal 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to its privileged location, personalized service and spacious rooms, El Mirador de Guadal is the ideal lodge for you to discover the southern part of the Carretera Austral. Situated on the southern border of Lake General Carrera all our rooms have a unique view of the turquoise waters of the lake and the glaciers of the Northern Ice Field. Famous natural resources like The Marble Caves, The Exploradores Valley and The Patagonia National Park in the Chacabuco Valley are all about an hour drive away. Being a small lodge we take pride in offering personalized attention, making your stay with us unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Mirador de Guadal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mirador De Guadal Chile/Puerto Guadal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing