We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,491)
Filter reviews
1,491 results
Traveller rating
384
490
337
168
112
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
384
490
337
168
112
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure facilitiesdh lawrencebottle of proseccolovely groundswowcher dealbar pricesleisure clubsuperior roomcourse evening mealconference venuesteam room and jacuzzilarge hotelboth morningstwo night stayrestaurant staffbuffet breakfastweekend break
Filter
Updating list...
1,056 - 1,061 of 1,491 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My partner and I stayed at the hotel for a weekend in May. The hotel was very clean and the facilities were excellent. Room was a nice size and clean with all the amenities you expect from a 4 star hotel. We were less impressed with the open plan bar area as on both evenings there was a wedding reception which seemed to take up the whole area and was difficult getting served at the bar. The surrounding area of Eastwood has very little to do and therefore you will have to travel elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnJ, General Manager at Eastwood Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Mark L,

Thankyou for your recent review. I am pleased that your room was to expectation and you found our facilities . The bar can get busy on weekends however we do have the lounge area in the leisure club that guests can use to take a drink to a quiter area.
Kind Regards
Glynn Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel as a couple and were in one of the superior rooms. The hotel was in a good location, situated in lovely grounds, but also not too far away from the city. The room was very nice, with a sofa as well as a bed, although not quite at the standard we would have expected from a superior room. The room was very clean, although it was a bit tired looking eg bathroom. The bed was pretty comfortable and a good size, although the pillows were a little old and flat and could have been a bit plumper, as this combination didn’t lead to the best night’s sleep. Also, the TV in the room didn’t have the best picture/reception and the channels weren’t in the right order, so it could be time for a retune! In terms of the bathroom, although, on the one hand, it was fairly small, on the plus side the shower was very powerful.

The hotel seems to be a very popular venue for conferences and weddings. There were functions on when we stayed and, although the noise from the functions themselves wasn’t too bad, unfortunately there was quite a bit of noise from the function’s guests quite late into the night – including children running around. This did disturb our sleep as the room’s walls and door were quite thin. We did mention this to the hotel management and they acknowledged that this is a problem. We felt that when the hotel knows there’s an event on they should, at the very least, notify the other guests as soon as possible after the booking has been made and should try to accommodate them in rooms which are further away from those of the guests staying for the event. We didn’t realise there was an event on at the hotel until we checked in and, at that point, we were told that the hotel was fully booked and so our room couldn’t be changed, even though we were assured that we wouldn’t be too near the main source of the noise.

Overall, this hotel is probably better for conferences and functions rather than for a romantic retreat and the standard is probably that of a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NlondonLem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnJ, General Manager at Eastwood Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear NlondonLem,

Thank you for your feed back, I am pleased that you found the grounds lovely nad the hotel in a good location. We do get busy with functions and events and do try to plan which rooms we put guests into. Our superior rooms are near the front of house of the hotel. I am sorry that we could not move your room as stated we were full on that day.
Kind Regards
Glynn Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We booked this Hotel through Easybreaks and got a very good deal .The Hotel itself is in a great location with very large grounds although we did not need or use it has good business meeting rooms, good parking facilities & the bedrooms are clean & functional and you do have the option of upgrading to a larger room which we did.The food is of a good standard and when we visited the hotel had a number of large group and this do not affect the quality of the dinner served or breakfast. The grounds are lovely. The staff are really friendly and helpful.both in the hotel and also in the swimming pool.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fredStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnJ, General Manager at Eastwood Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear FredStockport,

Thank you for your recent review, I am most pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff friendly and the food good. We do have lovely grounds with the established trees and lawns and I always recommend people to take the oportunity to take a walk in them.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This Hotel is a great business meeting venue with good size meeting rooms, good parking facilities & the bedrooms are clean & functional.
The food is of a good standard and when I visited I was part of a large group & this do not affect the quality of the dinner served.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelfanatic07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnJ, General Manager at Eastwood Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Travelfanatic07,

Thank you for your feed back. I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent conference with us and the food. We do have a range of meetings rooms for small and large conferences set in our 26 acres of grounds.
Kind Regards
Glynn Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Anybody booking this hotel based upon the pictures on the hotel website is in for a shock. This is a 3-star property with rooms to match. Think low quality "Premier Inn" type of room rather than the plush appointed grandeur suggested online!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank BJH1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnJ, General Manager at Eastwood Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Bjh2011,

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed that you did not find your room to expectation. All photography on our website is from the hotel, the front building of our hotel is an old listed building which has been extended to add bedrooms, restaurant and leisure club.
Kind Regards
Glynn Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews