We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”
Review of Eastwood Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eastwood Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eastwood
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Rude lazy staff and managers overpriced drinks and basically a waste of money
Beautiful wedding venue but unfortunately the staff let it down made us feel like we were a burden whilst family had paid a lot of money for a wedding absolutely disgraceful service and poor attitudes from staff and duty manager i wouldn't go even if it was free!,,,,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginag212014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    390
    275
    131
    78
See reviews for
120
606
16
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North East England
Level Contributor
148 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Having read some of the reviews of this hotel on Trip Advisor I was a little apprehensive about our stay but that was all blown away as soon as we arrived at the hotel. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful from the moment we arrived. We stayed in a standard room and while it was a little outdated it was exceptionally clean and comfortable (I would say it was similar to the best Premier Inn style rooms but we paid far less than the Premier Inns in the area were charging for that weekend and the overall experience was much better).
There were two weddings at the hotel on the Saturday night but we were advised on arrival that we had been given a room at the far end of the hotel where it should be quiet - and it was! We enjoyed our meal in the restaurant and breakfast was also very good. The setting of the hotel is in beautiful grounds and there is loads of safe parking available too.
We would definitely stay here again and I would give the hotel a 5 star rating for value. Standards were very high considering the price paid.
The hotel is perfectly situated for visiting places such as Chatsworth and Hardwick Hall.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnJ, General Manager at Eastwood Hall, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Diana014,
Thank you for your feed back. I am most pleased you enjoyed your stay at Eastwood Hall. I am glad that you found the staff pleasant and you room clean and comfortable. There is alot of parking in our grounds and Chastworth and Hardwick are wonderful places to visit.
Kind Regards
Glynn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I booked a room for the 13th July overnight stay with my husband. I was sent an email prior to stay asking if I wanted to upgrade. I said yes so when we arrived we were told we were upgrading we were initially booked into room 101 but the key wasnt available so they gave us room 102 for an additional £14.00. I have to say although the room was big and comfortable I couldnt see what the upgrade was. On your website the bigger rooms had settees in which I thought we would get, all we had was onecomfortable chair.

I feel that your website is a bit misleading because you see the old eastwood hall and think you are booking a room in there not the rooms offered. I look forward to your response

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnJ, General Manager at Eastwood Hall, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Debbie C,
Thank you for your recent review. The upgraded rooms have superior beds and have been refurbished with views out onto the grounds. The old house at the front of the hotel is where many of our conference rooms are and is the front of the hotel.
Kind Regards
Glynn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed last night with husband for a relaxing quiet night away from kids after a busy day shopping and seeing family. Well we were so disappointed as when we booked they neglected to mention there would be two yes two weddings taking place with evening disco going until 1am!! There is only so much beat you can listen to before going crazy! Couldn't enjoy the Hall or any of the facilities it was way too busy and noisy we were so disappointed. The internal doors bang constantly which are worse then Premier Inn and that's saying something!! The room was so hot we had to have the window open which meant more noise! We were told that our room was half way between the wedding reception and the end of the hotel which beggars belief that we weren't put at the other end of the hotel?! Why don't they ask if you're part of the wedding group and if so stick all them together at one end, we heard everyone returning to their rooms shouting laughing doors banging. We complained that night all he could do was apologise and close the internal fire doors, oh yes that's a great help thanks, we spoke with the manager in the morning and in their defence they apologised again and refunded the full amount but it was such a shame as we were so looking forward to it. So my advice is call the hotel and see if there are any wedding parties booked otherwise your romantic night away could well be ruined!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ju H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnJ, General Manager at Eastwood Hall, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Ju H,
Thank you for your recent review. I am disappointed that you did not find your stay to expectation. The hotel is a busy wedding venue and this is the peak period for these events on weekends. We do within the hotel have axseperate restaurant and games lounge in the leisure club away from the busy bar areas for guests to use.
Kind Regards
Glynn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Eastwood hotels

Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Great place that I never knew that existed practically on our doorstep.
I would go again anytime. The staff were friendly and everything was pleasant with our stay. Loved the breakfast and said bye to the cows in the field outside as we were on our way home. Lovely place.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Luke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnJ, General Manager at Eastwood Hall, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Luke H,
Thank you for your recent review. I am most pleased you enjoyed your stay. I am glad you found the staff friendly and that you loved our breakfast. We hope you visit us again in the future.
Kind Regards
Glynn Jones

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The Eastwood Hall Hotel is a good location and nice enough for the wedding crowd. However, for those of us forced to stay here because of 'work commitments' it's not really great. If there's one thing that sets a good hotel apart from a bad one these days, it is the notion of including 'all of our 21st Century Expectations" and by that I mean in the simplest of terms free WiFi in all areas. Is it beyond the Management at this group of hotels containing the word ironically 'Principal' to note that travelling Customer expectations may have changed in the last 5 years. For instance, I stayed in a small Bed & Breakfast in London @ £79 a night (Free WiFi), a tiny Studio Rental in Kensington bereft of all the trimmings.....but free and fast Wifi. The room is nice, bed is comfy, health club is great, food is outstanding, but at prices charged this should include free Wifi for the duration of your stay, especially when the bulk of rooms are to the rear of property and struggle to get data on 3g/4g. I am here for another day, have paid for Wifi (which isn't as advertised Fast, having problems streaming TV, as channel selection limited and reception poor on TV. So Eastwood Hall, get your finger out. I can understand in Russell Square Hotel not to want folks freeloading your data connection, but the 24 longhorn cattle who are the only others in the vicinity of the hotel are unlikely to be stealing bytes and megabytes of data from you. A bit of common sense and a lot more focus on Business travellers or those staying due to work commitments would be nice. For the Manager 60% out of 100% is based on no free Wifi and not any Customer Interaction with any of yours staff. It's 2014 now not 2005, the internet is all around us......and its a small price to pay for customer satisfaction.

Room Tip: Don't book if like me you expect free Wifi to do your work
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceO1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnJ, General Manager at Eastwood Hall, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear BruceO1970,

Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry to hear that you did not find the internet to expectation. We have in last few weeks upgraded our internet so speed should be alot better now and connectivity. The first hour is free, then there is a charge, this charge is very competitive to other hotels in the area and similar to what mobile network operators would charge for using their bandwidth.
Kind Regards
Glynn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My sister's wedding took place in Eastwood Hall and 300 of us would agree that it was such a momentous occasion of course for any two to become one and to add to this experience we would like to thank Eastwood Hall Hotel.
The Gardens were perfect for the Helicopter to land, the hall was situated right next to the 20 rooms we had booked for close ones.
Moreover, it is very rare to find so many attributes which tick the list for any occasion; especially Nottingham.
So I give a huge congratulations to the staff and everyone for making it 'picture perfect'.

Regards Ali

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnJ, General Manager at Eastwood Hall, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Alin A,

Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted that you enjoyed the wedding and you made the most of our grounds. I will pass your feed back to our staff they will be most pleased.
Kind Regards
Glynn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastwood
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
4.3 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
20.4 mi away
Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Derbyshire Derby
The Derbyshire Derby
#2 of 2 in South Normanton
1,536 reviews
8.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
7.4 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#5 of 49 in Nottingham
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastwood Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastwood Hall

Property: Eastwood Hall
Address: Mansfield Road, Eastwood NG16 3SS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Eastwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eastwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Eastwood Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastwood Hall, Nottingham is located just a short drive away from the historic city of Nottingham and is a leading conference venue and hotel in Nottinghamshire. Set in 26 acres of spectacular grounds Eastwood Hall combines the historic with the modern to deliver an unforgettable setting for conference and business events, weddings and short breaks. Swimming pool opening times Monday - Friday 6am - 22pm and Saturday and Sundays 7am to 8pm. Please note Children's splash times are Saturday's 3pm-5pm and Sunday's 9am-11am. Outside of these times children are not allowed to use the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Eastwood Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastwood Hall Hotel Eastwood
Eastwood Hall Hotel Nottingham
Eastwood Hall Nottinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing