We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three very enjoyable days”
Review of Cedar Spring Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Advance Mills
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cedar Spring Inn
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Cedar Springs Inn & Spa ,little hard to find but well worth it.
I am now spoiled , after spending three days at the Inn with my wife. This was my first time staying at a b&b and Wow ,what a beautiful place. We stayed in the oriental room ,it was by far one of the nicest rooms I've stayed in. It came with a large bath room with more than enough towels , Plus a super large deck with a hammock , table & chairs ,and two more chairs to sit in and enjoy the view .Also the room comes with a mini refrigerator already filled with water and soft drinks. A nice touch is the chocolates and next day weather forecast placed in room every evening. The Inn also has a large heated pool ,sauna ,and steam room and a few acres to take a walk on. You can even schedule a massage . But my favorite thing about the Inn was the breakfasts . You have to experience them to understand how good they are. Judith and Charles all I can say is FIVE stars for you. One more thing would like to thank Charles for suggesting an alternative route to take home it worked out great.

Room Tip: We were in the Oriental room, would highly recommend this room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hobbo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for Cedar Spring Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

This was our first experience at a bed-n-breakfast and we couldn't have picked a more picture perfect location. The Innkeepers Judy and Charles McBee were wonderful. The morning breakfast would rival any 5 star hotel!

Don't hesitate to add this beautiful Inn to your list!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the house!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LOVE-2-TRVL-4-FUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Wonderful two nights here at this modern bed and breakfast..no creaky floors, no thin walls, no tiny bathroom. We love doing b&b's but are often disappointed by the antiquated accommodations. This is a beautiful, large b&b with comfortable rooms, gorgeous bathrooms, and lots of great amenities.

We loved the hearty, delicious morning breakfasts on the porch overlooking the mountains. Each party had their own table (I'm more of an introvert and don't like having to sit with others for breakfast at a b&b). There was fresh baked quick bread, fruit, and a choice of four breakfast entrees (unusual for a b&b). All of it was scrumptious.

We loved the afternoon complementary wine offerings- always a nice touch.

We loved the attention to detail that the innkeepers have. Things like a well-stocked mini-fridge with a wide assortment of complementary, upscale beverages. Complementary snacks were always available in the lower-level game room. Pool towels, lounge chairs, a heated pool(so nice!), turn-down service complete with chocolates and the next day's weather forecast. I could go on!

And the innkeepers themselves were delightful. There's a fine line between innkeepers that are too overbearing and those who are hard to find when you need them. These folks were so helpful with dinner recommendations and activity suggestions but also left the house and grounds for us to enjoy for ourselves. That is just our style.

It's a very relaxing, delightful environment. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We chose the English Library room which is on the lower level with a walk out patio to the pool. It...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie14vball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at Cedar Springs Inn. Judy and Charles are delightful hosts. We felt very welcomed. We stayed in the “Orient Expressed” room, which was spacious and included a lovely bath. However, I think all the rooms are well appointed. We had a tour of the grounds from Judy and she filled us in on how to use the sauna and steam room. On their suggestion list of things to do was a trail ride at Oakland Heights Farm which we took our first morning there. This was after a sumptuous breakfast. All very freshly made to order selections served al fresco. The views from the porch are breath taking and the butterfly bushes were all aflutter! We had a pleasant hike around through the forested grounds. We enjoyed a swim in the pool and a trip to the steam room. The in room refrigerator was stocked with beverages and there were snacks available. Also in the room were nice robes, sandals, lots of fluffy towels, shampoos, etc. On “our” deck were a table, chairs, and a hammock. We highly recommend this charming get away!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeGe2223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My wife and I and 2 other couples stayed at Cedar Springs for 2 nights on a weekend into VA wine country. The accomodations were fantastic. The breakfasts were gourmet and sitting on the patio and by the pool were very relaxing. The beds were super comfortable and rooms were very nice. All in all we enjoyed the hospitality, and the relaxed sophisticiated vibe of the Inn and the innkeepers. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdtess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Cedar Spring is gorgeous and the breakfasts are wonderful. There are several rules to be mindful of. You are not allowed to have any visitors while you are staying there. The grounds and rooms are for the enjoyment of paying guests only. If you rearrange furniture to gather together more comfortably to visit on the porch, or by the pool, this bothers Charles and Judy. They prefer everything to be left exactly in place. There is a stilted atmosphere. Judy commented to me about how much work running the inn is and about how she had to live there. All in all, I was left with the feeling that they didn't really enjoy being innkeepers. In spite of this, because the inn is so lovely and the setting is so beautiful, I had a nice stay.

Room Tip: All are lovely
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nau2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

To dmnickel who wrote a recent positive review: consider yourself lucky, you must have been
There with your husband. I recently stayed at the Inn with 5 professional women and we are
unanimous regarding our negative experience. The owners were not friendly and the interaction
Was basically limited to collecting our money as soon as we walked in the door and a lengthy
lecture about the rules. But don't worry- if you forget there are rule books in the rooms for your
perusal. Furthermore,we observed Judy and Charles interacting with the couples while making
us feel like unwelcome intruders. The Inn is certainly beautiful and well maintained,and breakfast
was fabulous. However, in good conscience I could not recommend this B and B because I
believe that making ANYONE uncomfortable in your home is the ultimate in bad manners
and poor taste.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cheryll363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Advance Mills
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville
5.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesv...
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,379 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
530 reviews
12.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Mont...
#24 of 35 in Charlottesville
400 reviews
8.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Spring Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Spring Inn

Address: 1871 Frays Mill Road, Advance Mills, VA 22968
Region: United States > Virginia > Advance Mills
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Advance Mills
Price Range: £126 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic mountain views, luxury and gracious hospitality await you. Five spacious guest rooms offer a selection of comforts: beautifully appointed King beds, private baths with soaking or jetted tubs, romantic fireplaces, private patios, private entrances. Spacious common areas feature massive fireplaces with abundant decks and patios. A country retreat on thirty-six acres of meadows and woodlands, river and stream. Unique for the special amenities of pool, spa, sauna, steam room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedar Spring Hotel Advance Mills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing