We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to standard expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glen Eden Beach Resort
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not up to standard expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We area couple in our 60's and stayed there for 5 days recently. We had booked by phone 3 months earlier specifically asking for a unit with minimum stairs (aware that they are 2 storey units). We were offered a unit near the pool, with parking right at the front door. When we arrived, we were told the office closes at midday Sunday and they'd had to wait open for us (news to us as we had flown from Melb and went straight to Glen Eden) and we were put into another unit with the desk person having "no knowledge" of the unit actually booked. We had to haul our cases up 2 flights of stairs just to get to our front door and it was evident that this unit at least had been very poorly maintained and cleaned. Loose door handles, cold water only in some handbasins and generally not up to 4 star standard. Very disappointing and sadly we will stay elsewhere next time on Sunshine Coast.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere but if you can't find anywhere else, insist on a room near the pool - room 25 is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robbie2448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port1962, Manager at Glen Eden Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Hi Robbie,

I'm sorry your stay was not what you expected and that there was a lack of communication in our office and you were put in the wrong unit, but obviously from your email you were moved to another one, we were unaware of the problems with the water in the unit and have had the hot water system looked at, we could only find one loose door handle which as been fixed. The cleaning I'm sorry if it wasn't properly done, as we use contract cleaners and unfortunately they are sometimes good and other times terrible. This does not excuse the bad cleaning of the unit and we apolgise for this. Re Sunday every confirmation sent to guests explains our opening and closing times I'm sorry if you did not receive this or did not notice that. Once again I'm glad that we could move you too another unit and that was more to your expectation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    21
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
41
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed at this accommodation for 5 days at the end of March. A warm and friendly greeting was received from Nikki with information about the resort and the Noosa area. Unfortunately when we arrived it was at the time of the heavy rains, and the apartment we were placed into had a few issues, which was beyond everyone's control. This was efficiently resolved by Phil and Nikki the next morning and we were moved to another apartment.
Both apartments were spacious, on two levels, clean, kitchen fully equipped, comfortable furnishings, bedding acceptable, and undercover parking. The pool area is a great place for families, and through the reserve ( a minutes walk ) is the beachfront. The grounds are well kept, and the buildings, where it has been mentioned are a few decades old, still blend into the surroundings.
A kilometre walk on the beach north to Marcus Beach, and a walk of about 3 kilometres south to Peregian Beach and township, which we did a couple of times. A ten minute drive to Noosa, and a five minute drive to Coolum makes the resort a perfect quiet base.
Beachfront, well equipped and spacious apartment, we had a relaxing and enjoyable 5 days. A big thank you to Phil and Nikki for your assistance, and look forward to arranging another stay later in the year.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dazify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port1962, Manager at Glen Eden Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
hi Dazify,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and glad that we could help with moving you during the heavy rains to another townhouse, that was a pretty major downpour of rain and we had a couple of units that coudnt cope with the water, thankfully these have been fixed, very tricky trying to find the exact area were water was coming in. Even with the heavy rain glad you found time to explore the area and had a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Lake, Queensland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights 25 & 26 April & had a very enjoyable time. Didn't necessarily want to lay on the beach but being able to relax & hear it was wonderful. We spent time in the pool & spa relaxing & got our well deserved R&R.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilDV8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port1962, Manager at Glen Eden Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Hi Lildv8

Glad your two day break was relaxing and you enjoyed the stay around the pool and had a nice relaxing time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

My husband and I along with our 6 month old baby stayed here for a couple of nights, 16th and 17th March for our wedding anniversary. Initially we were very disappointed as we had paid more for an apartment which didn't meet our expectations at all. (This had nothing to do with cleanliness and more to do with location and apartment design in general). Thankfully the managers were extremely accommodating (on their day off!) and we were moved to an apartment which met our needs with a 6 month old baby which we were very grateful for. We had a fantastic stay. The pool at the resort is lovely and is a great place to just chill. The apartments are very spacious and clean. The beach is beautiful and perfect for long walks. We will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: If you are happy to pay for a more expensive apartment because you after something in particular - i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnitaKop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port1962, Manager at Glen Eden Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Hi Anita,

Thank you for your review ,I'm gald we could help you out and change units, also glad that you enjoyed your stay at Glen Eden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Located three minutes' walk from the beach, Glen Eden is a great place for families with young children interested mostly in sun, sand and swimming. The townhouses, while not new, are neat, well-kept and clean, and the appliances all work. Ice creams and rental DVDs are available at reception for those after-sun down times, and for older kids the Games Room offers air hockey, ping-pong and a pool table. The poolside BBQ area is neat and clean, and great place for parents to kick back while the kids swim. All this only minutes from the attractions of Noosa (plenty of tour brochures and other information is available from Reception). Reasonably priced, too. (Final note: if you have small kids you won't want to swim at the adjacent Marcus Beach due to often-dangerous surf conditions but they can, of course, play in the sand. If you want to get in the surf with small children, Noosa's main beach is the place to go.)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port1962, Manager at Glen Eden Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Kor m,

Firstly the beach out the front is still Peregian not Marcus, but its hard to tell with the sign for Marcus just up the road. Yes the beach is 16km long and v=can get some pretty stiff currents and big waves especially if the wind ect is up, Luckily the area out the front is patrolled during the holiday period. Glad the Adults and kids enjoyed the pool area and the games room which just had all the games updated. All the units are individually owned and a % are a bit more modern inside. The property is over 30 years old now and most units have had 2 or 3 changeovers done to them, a few need updating kitchens and bathrooms, but still they are all still a great size and clean and tidy and have everything you need. Thanks for the comments and hope to see you back here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Münchenbuchsee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We (couple with 2 kids, 4y and 6y) stayed for 6 nights in the Glen Eden Resort. We had a great time. Great townhouse with lots of space and privacy. If you would like to have privacy, don't book a house on the pool. We had number 28. A good choice. The beach is just few meters away. Wonderful beach with big waves but lifeguard on duty. The kids loved to play there. However, current is very strong. The management is very friendly and helpful.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pascal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port1962, Manager at Glen Eden Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Hi Pascal s,

Thank you for the comments and advice re the beach, yes it can get quite a current going, the area luckily out the front of the resort is patrolled during all school holiday periods and on weekends during the summer period. As noted by other guests if you want to overlook the pool then be prepared for the holidaying kids playing in there. Were glad you enjoyed the unit you were in and had a great time at the resort and on the beach. The best way to get the unit's guest prefer is to book direct and hopefully they haven't already been taken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcester
Level Contributor
111 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Spotlessly clean, big, comfortable with all amenities- that was our one-bedroomed townhouse.Car parked right outside the unit. The kitchen was well-equipped and everything worked - though we did have a bit of a tussle with the kettle. A starter-pack of essentials was provided - a good touch - and more could be had from the mini-shop at reception. Excellent dishwasher, washing machine and dryer provided along with iron and ironing board. Separate downstairs toilet.Big lounge with dining table, settee and TV leading on to a private patio overlooking the pool No shortage of loungers when we were there . Nice BBQ area and a five-minute walk directly on to the beach. Bathroom and separate toilet upstairs and a big walk-in clothes closet in the bedroom. Another balcony overlooking the pool with loungers for sunbathing. Peregian Beach village a five minute drive away has all the shops you could possibly want and two or three restaurants although we found them a bit pretentious and overpriced. Good supermarket just a ten-minute drive away and the more upmarket resort of Noosa a 15-minute drive in the opposite direction. Our only criticisms are personal and have more to do with our age than any shortcomings in the resort. Firstly there was no-one to help take our heavy bags (we were on an extended trip) up to the bedroom although we managed to pressgang a guest? hotel worker? into helping. And the bedroom needed proper blinds to keep out the daylight. The flimsy curtains were pretty enough but the room was full of daylight by 4 a.m. and we are used to sleeping in the dark! Otherwise a perfect and relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobandAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port1962, Manager at Glen Eden Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Hi Bob & Anne,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Glen Eden which sounds like it was during the Xmas holiday period, were glad you enjoyed your stay and the new updated Pool area and the unit you stayed in was to your liking. In regards to the bags were glad one of our staff helped you, I'm pretty sure I know which unit you stayed in and will have a look at the curtains and advise the owner that they need updating, once again thank you for staying and glad you enjoyed your time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peregian Beach
5.4 mi away
The Sebel Noosa
The Sebel Noosa
#7 of 10 in Noosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
5.3 mi away
Noosa Sun Motel & Holiday Apartments
4.4 mi away
RACV Noosa Resort
RACV Noosa Resort
#2 of 10 in Noosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Peppers Noosa Resort and Villas
0.1 mi away
The Retreat Beach Houses Peregian Beach
5.4 mi away
Sofitel Noosa Pacific Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Eden Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Eden Beach Resort

Property: Glen Eden Beach Resort
Address: Glen Eden 388 David Low Way, Peregian Beach, Noosa, Queensland 4573, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa > Peregian Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Peregian Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen Eden Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glen Eden's is peacefully situated behind the dunes at Peregian Beach. Whether you are a family looking for great value holiday accommodation, or a couple wanting a quiet weekend away from it all. Were only 2 km from Peregian Village, 2 minute drive,or for the healthy a 20 minute walk along the beach.Glen Eden consists of 1,2 & 3 bedroom spacious townhouses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glen Eden Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing