We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in Serralunga d'Alba”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Antico Podere Tota Virginia
Certificate of Excellence
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Serralunga d'Alba”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a wonderful hotel with an outstanding restaurant. The staff is very helpful and accommodating. Rooms are updated with all the modern electronics and wifi. Bathrooms are beautifully appointed. Great views of the vineyards and hill towns.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    52
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
57
111
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed at Tota Virginia for 4 nights in September 2013 while on vacation. It was a wonderful experience. The service was excellent. Our room was clean and comfortable and very nicely decorated. Excellent water pressure too in the bathroom....not always the case everywhere you go. The pictures on the website are accurate and representative. The food at the restaurant was top notch. Try everything...you will be pleasantly surprised each time. The manager, Ricardo, was one of the most pleasant people we met on our entire trip. There can be no better place to stay in the region that can offer better vistas and an opportunity to stole through the vineyards. If we are ever in Piedmont again we will go back to this place. Some advice, if you're driving with a rental it's best to have GPS...we did and we found touring the area and local towns was quite easy from this location...very central in the Barolo region.
Cheers with thanks to the entire staff and kindest regards from Canada!

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
165 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed here for one night on business wine trip in the region.
We were the only visitors, it was in January.
The owner was very friendly, came to talk with us at dinner and breakfast. We felt we are certainly welcome.
Rooms are stylishly decorated with stunning views over the area, the pool and the vineyards. Nice pool in the summer, with stunning views.
Restaurant was good,again stunning views, beautiful terrace in the summer for dining and breakfast The view is one of the greatest strengths of this hotel.
Superb wine list with very wide range of Barolo! For wine lovers, best affordable.
Breakfast was good and taken care of, we even had a buffet for just two people!
A perfect hotel for a few nights in this picturesque region. But beyond that, there is not much to do here though. I would not recommend this hotel for a long vacation stay. Good value for money. Recommendable.

Room Tip: All the rooms have panoramic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belgiantravellover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirana, Albania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed overnight here the night of December 26, 2013 with two other families, and were really impressed. It's not a cheap hotel, fairly pricey in fact, but I left satisfied feeling that I got my money's worth. Here are a few highlights: first, the staff was very professional, courteous, and friendly in a sincere way. We felt very welcome. Second, the property itself is immaculate, well constructed and maintained; the rooms are large, and spotless, with exposed brick ceilings. Third, the scenery; on top of a ridge, surrounded by vineyards in front and back, rooms with balconies from which the panorama unfolds before you, the rolling hills and twisted vines inviting and enchanting. Last, the food. Dinner the night of the 26th was fantastic, refined, and elegant, yet filling, and they were great with kids. For a very reasonable price, they did up some plates of milanese with pesto pasta, leaving the kids happy and satisfied. And the breakfast the next morning was the perfect European breakfast. Delicious pastries, some cold meats for those who prefer it, along with cereal, yoghurt, juice, cookies, you name it, all of the highest quality. We'd be pleased to return at some point in the future, and sincerely hope we can! We also want to see how Chester the Dog has grown! :-)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John6757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
181 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We spent a long weekend (4 nights) together with my wife and our 1.5 yr old daughter in this hotel. First, village of Serralunga is a perfect location. Since it is not a popular name like Barolo or La Motta, it is quiet. Yet, very close to all attractions; vineyards, restaurants, Alba, Barolo, La Motta. Hotel is located right in front of vineyard; you can literally walk into it and feel the grapes, soil. In addition it is hilltop and view is amazing.
Personnel was genuinely polite, particularly Riccardo, manager, was outstanding. Having a baby with us, we had endless requests and they accommodated them all with a sincere smile. Their exquisite restaurant went out of their way to cook things out of the menu for our baby. Thanks guys! We had planned 3 nights and added one more night to it. We felt very very comfortable. They suggested vineyards, villages, restaurants. Made reservations, cancelled when necessary. Really they did it all.
Breakfast is generous, delicious, 99 % homemade goodies with high quality foods.
Neither during the reservation, nor during check in I was not asked for a credit card number, though they had a full weekend. I hardly ever come this across in the last decade.
Rooms are not particularly impressive. But it is ok. You either have a balcony or a garden in front of you, as well as a swimming pool in the main garden. Truly felt home in this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Levent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We were happy to visit Ricardo and his staff again during our vacation. All made us feel like coming home. The stunning location of this hotel, the qualities of the restaurant are already mentioned by other reviewers and we cannot agree more.
We can not recall being in a hotel before where the attention of the management and staff is of this level. And the area of Piemonte an Langhe is also one of a kind.
For sure we will plan a stay at Tota Virginia on our next vacation to Italy!

Room Tip: Rooms with a (large or small() balcony. The groundfloor rooms are relatively dark. All have superb v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaJa59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weobley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed one night at the hotel 14th September, it was a special occasion - our golden wedding anniversary after a week's cruise holiday. What a good choice! Amazing location on a countryside hilltop overlooking vineyards and rolling hills. The owner/manager could not have been more attentive, despite the fact he was also catering for a wedding reception that day. Very nice, well-appointed room with a view. Cuisine at dinner outstanding and impeccably served. Overall, brilliant!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serralunga d'Alba
2.4 mi away
Il Boscareto Resort & SPA
Il Boscareto Resort & SPA
#1 of 2 in Serralunga d'Alba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Torri - Hotel
Le Torri - Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castiglione Falletto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
3.0 mi away
Corte Gondina Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Beccaris
Hotel Villa Beccaris
#1 of 3 in Monforte d'Alba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
7.9 mi away
Castello di Guarene
Castello di Guarene
#1 of 3 in Guarene
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
5.8 mi away
Villa d'Amelia Relais
Villa d'Amelia Relais
#1 of 1 in Benevello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antico Podere Tota Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Podere Tota Virginia

Property: Antico Podere Tota Virginia
Address: Localita Baudana 69, 12050 Serralunga d'Alba, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > Serralunga d'Alba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Serralunga d'Alba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antico Podere Tota Virginia 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has thirteen bedrooms with various comforts such as air conditioning, satellite tv, big sizesafe, telephone, wifi internet connection, fridge bar, panoramic terraces, disable access and lift. Each bedroom is customized to reflect specific aspects of various wines. The restaurant can cater for up to 60 guests. Panoramic windows on two sides give diners splendid views of the rolling hills of the Barolo vineyards and are perfect for romantic summer evening dinners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Antico Podere Tota Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Podere Tota Virginia Serralunga D'Alba, Italy - Piedmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing