We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best ...”
Review of Sunny Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunny Guesthouse
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Stayed 2 night her, amassing , amassing in all ways. Hospitably ( though very little English is spoken ) Cantonese food as the owner is from Guangdong . Simple with shared bathrooms , but clean and hot water 24 hours. Rooms are simple and good beds , clean and a place to relax. Sunrise here are stunning , as you can stand on their terrace and take photos or just enjoy it.
The guest house has rice fields next to it, and a good way to see them close up. The only problem for some can be all the stairs down, and up specially in the evening when it is getting dark, so remember a touches. You can also hire some locals to carry your luggage down and up. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Galapita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2010

Sunny Guesthouse is delightful. Definitely helpful to know a little Chinese because the owners will warm right up to you. They are from Guandong and cook fantastic Cantonese food for dinner and breakfast. Very reasonable prices for clean basic accommodations. They have a lovely balcony that looks out over the rice terraces and means that you don't have to view it from the state run area above (that charges way too much). We walked into the village, about 10 miles from the main town, passing through other villages, markets, water buffaloes, great views, and friendly children all along. Duo shu yi village is very rustic and fascinating, old homes, congenial people all around although we couldn't communicate because they spoke their native dialect. Really, a wonderful experience - best thing I've done in China.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank littlepika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2009

It is a perfect place for those want to experience the traditional villager livinghood.
and the Terrance is great and enormous!! but the villagers will charge you for taking the pic in their "place"..it hurts me, esp. they are just a group of kids. I saw how their hearts spoiled by the money and temptation. Just like other villages in China, in everywhere.

Anyway, it is a really good place for photography. But the price is a little bit higher, for the life in village.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amyip1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2009

WE stayed at Sunny guesthouse for 2 nights upon recommendation of other travelers, which we can only recommend to do as well. Though there is some extra commuting (incl. a walk in the paddies) and you need to speak Chinese it's worth the effort. The sunrise was stunning (pool position just when you hop out of your bed for the best view!) and the people welcoming and warm. The facilities are simple, practical and you have all you need.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jdl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2009

The best way to sum up Sunny Guesthouse is that it is the complete tradiational Chinese village experience in a pure undeveloped form; it is probably what you hoped, but failed, to find across the rest of China.

Sunny Guest House is a small country village B&B, located in the middle of the Duo Yi Shu Village rice fields, the picture of the rice terraces was taken from the top balcony; this region is famous for rice fields and they are everywhere and they cause innumerable "wow's".

Duo Yi Shi Village is thankfully untouched by the industrialisation and tourism race that has strangled much of the rest of China. Life there continues to revolve around harvests, markets and customary practices; in fact the village peoples' still dress, marry and work based on ethnic traditions (see thee picture of typical a typical Hany custome). The Guest house is country simple, but rest assured that they provide all the services you'd expect from a Chinese mountain village. And the prices are very modest price.

It is an old values family business, and they treat guests as welcomed visitors not transactions to be tolerated, and their home cooked food is, in my opinion, among the best I've had in China (and I lived there for 2 years).

I have to stress that services are basic; shared toilets, temperamental internet, limited heating, pigeon English but in my opinion this is all keeping with the country theme. If you want wi-fi, a grand piano in the foyer, and a western educated receptionist go anywhere else in China.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teewhy1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
Thank Carpe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 1 January 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yuanyang County hotels
0.3 mi away
Jacky's Guesthouse
Jacky's Guesthouse
#1 of 54 in Yuanyang County
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Timeless Hostel Yuanyang
Timeless Hostel Yuanyang
#2 of 54 in Yuanyang County
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Huawowo Inn
Huawowo Inn
#7 of 54 in Yuanyang County
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Havre de Paix Duoyiwan
Havre de Paix Duoyiwan
#4 of 54 in Yuanyang County
5 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hongqi Guest House
Hongqi Guest House
#6 of 54 in Yuanyang County
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belinda Backpackers Guesthouse
Belinda Backpackers Guesthouse
#10 of 54 in Yuanyang County
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Guesthouse

Address: Puogao laozhai, Duoyishu Village, Yuanyang County 662400, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Yuanyang County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Yuanyang County
Price Range: £8 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunny Guest House is the first guest house here, since 2005. This is still a poor, original and traditional village, but you can see the real true and special life, market and different minority people. You will find it is untouched by the industrialization.We are located in the middle of Village rice fields, where is the best place to see sunrise and terraces. Our guest house is country simple and environment protection, we do not want to destroy this beautiful place. At the same time we try our best to help, develop and improve the local people life until now.And recently we enlarge our place, building garden for our chicken, duck, cat and dog to live better, also for you. You see, we have a big family.We have free WIFI, heating blankets, 24 hours hot water and our restaurant.We are expecting your visit, to enjoy the beautiful place with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Sunny Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Guesthouse Hotel Yuanyang County
Sunny Guesthouse Yuanyang County, Yunnan, China

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing